Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: EU climate plan raises 'serious issues' for Ireland

As an act of protest I am going to become an environmental foe... starting from now I am going to boil full kettles of water, leave the hall light on when I go to bed, put empty milk cartons in the regular waste bin and just to be really bold light the coal fire an hour earlier every evening!!! (These dam eco warriors think they are so smart, well just wait til they meet my wrath of carbon emission doom!)

But in all fairness, how thick are people not to realise we need to stop driving our fat over weight kids 5 minutes up the fecking road to school. Turns my fecking stomach to see these smug gits unload all their sh.itty bottles and cardboard at the recycling banks and then hop back into their 10 litre SUV’s. “Ooooh we’re so great, we’re doing our bit for the environment” meh meh meh!!!! FU>CKING ARSEHOLES!!!

They all need the P’O Neill treatment if you ask me!
    So when are these so called intellectuals going to make their mind up???

Quote Originally Posted by riven
    Even if you forget the climate issue (we are in an unusual period of the earths history with 2 polar caps)
    Mind you, I do like this kind of statement. Yes, this is an "unusual" period of the earth's history in having two ice caps - and also in us being here. The current climate has been stable for at least the last 10,000 years - so major climate changes (such as losing the ice caps!) are not in any sense normal for humanity. Our entire agriculture is based on the historically normal climate.
    Never let the best be the enemy of the good.

Quote Originally Posted by Armchair Activist
    As an act of protest I am going to become an environmental foe... starting from now I am going to boil full kettles of water, leave the hall light on when I go to bed, put empty milk cartons in the regular waste bin and just to be really bold light the coal fire an hour earlier every evening!!! (These dam eco warriors think they are so smart, well just wait til they meet my wrath of carbon emission doom!)
    Yeah, I love that attitude. It's like "hey, you see those guys pissing on my garden? Yeah? Hey, I'm gonna show 'em! I'm gonna piss on my own garden! Yeah! How you like that, huh? Yeah, soon I'm gonna have a big puddle of piss where I used to have a garden...yeah, that'll show 'em. Yeah."

Some folks just ain't ready for standing upright, I reckon. The air's too thin for their brains, or something.

Quote Originally Posted by ibis
    Quote Originally Posted by Armchair Activist
    Yeah, I love that attitude. It's like "hey, you see those guys pissing on my garden? Yeah? Hey, I'm gonna show 'em! I'm gonna piss on my own garden! Yeah! How you like that, huh? Yeah, soon I'm gonna have a big puddle of piss where I used to have a garden...yeah, that'll show 'em. Yeah."

Some folks just ain't ready for standing upright, I reckon. The air's too thin for their brains, or something.
    Family Guy? freaking love it!
    So when are these so called intellectuals going to make their mind up???

[quote=Armchair Activist]
    Quote Originally Posted by ibis
    Quote Originally Posted by "Armchair Activist":ye22hcm4

Family Guy? freaking love it! [/quote:ye22hcm4]

Family Guy?? (No TV for 28 years now...)

Quote Originally Posted by riven
    1 Less waste. In steel manufacturing, 20% of your plant energy could go into remediation of wastes. So dont produce that waste and save 20%
    Why don't they do this already ? (and why does the EU need to tell them to do it?)

2. Sustainability. In 20 years, Germany may not be a water stable country. they currently have a medium stress on water supply. The only way for them to combat this is to act green and reduce their water usage,
    Why do they need the EU to tell them to do that ? If it such a good idea, Germany wouldn't need to be told.

3. Less raw materials are used. Applying green principles would be very useful in oil. Looking at the production process, (distillation trains), 10% of usuable product (refined oil/petrol, organics etc) is lost in the train and never recovered. 10% of the total oil is a lot. Further, there is no saying what efficiencies are like in 3 world countries.
    As prices of raw materials rise, inefficient plants would go out of business.

How much would saving that last 10% cost (or you really sure it would actually be a net win?)

So forget climate and still there are many resaons to cut emissions.
    However, only climate requires international co-operation. If you don't have climate change, then you can just let individual countries handle it.

Wow, the start of this thread is a bit of a climate change sceptics frotage section. Do it by PM lads, if u please.

I'd agree with the other posters (even armchair) that change is necesary, but even if it wasn't needed, I'd still be in favour of it - a more efficient economy which uses less resources and is less materialistic could only be a good thing. And no one will miss the fecking SUVs on the roads :/

Most interesting from the article yesterday (and interesting that DS, Champa, etc left it out) was this:
    Quote Originally Posted by Irish Times
    But the commission argues that taking no action could increase costs to 5-20 per cent of GDP by 2020 because of climate change and higher oil and gas prices. The union will also benefit from being less reliant on oil and gas imports and should save up to €50 billion in fossil fuel costs.
    and this, which really made me choke on my weetabix:
    Quote Originally Posted by Irish Times
    Minister for Finance Brian Cowen, who was in Brussels yesterday at an EU finance ministers' meeting, said it was important that the commission proposal on climate change was a fair and transparent outcome for all states. He admitted it was a "very challenging agenda".

"It is not simply about certain tax issues or proposals, it is about a change of lifestyle by all citizens. A contribution must be made by everyone in terms of our lifestyle quite apart from what government can achieve," said Mr Cowen, who insisted that there were no divisions between Fianna Fáil and the Greens on the EU proposals.
    Brian Cowen and sustainability. Ye what now??!
    "Politics is not the art of the possible. It consists of choosing between the disastrous and the unpalatable."
    John Galbraith
    Economic Left/Right:-8.38
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian:-6.97

Quote Originally Posted by Eddiepops
    Wow, the start of this thread is a bit of a climate change sceptics frotage section. Do it by PM lads, if u please.
    Wtf?, people with different opinions should shut the f*ck up and let you lot get on with your one-sided debate!? .
    "The Council of Ministers will have far more power over the budgets of the member states than the federal government in the United States has over the budget of Texas"
    Jean-Claude Trichet.

Quote Originally Posted by Champa
    Quote Originally Posted by Eddiepops
    Wtf?, people with different opinions should shut the f*ck up and let you lot get on with your one-sided debate!? .
    Nah, you're entitled of course to swap ignorance with each other. It ain't pretty, though, and people are entirely entitled to say that too.

And Ibis/EP: don't even think of clamping down on the flat earth debate, or the "evolution is lies!" thread either.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast