Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Direct Action gets results; E.ON Shelves Kingsnorth

Quote Originally Posted by fiannafailure View Post
    Direct action is great craic and thats it.
    [SIZE="5"]participating with those of us already having the time of our lives[/SIZE]

Says it all really.
    Im not sure what your point is exactly FF. Ar you trying to make out that direct action does not achieve results. Or, whether your saying that direct action is great craic, while also a strategy for achieving results...

can you please clarify more clearly. ta, dunk
    [SIZE="2"]What we are seeing emerging is the largest movement the world has ever seen; the[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"]There was something formless and perfect
    before the universe was born.
    It is serene. Empty.
    Solitary. Unchanging.
    Infinite. Eternally present.
    It is the mother of the universe.
    For lack of a better name,
    I call it the
    .[/SIZE]

Quote Originally Posted by dunk View Post
    Im not sure what your point is exactly FF. Ar you trying to make out that direct action does not achieve results. Or, whether your saying that direct action is great craic, while also a strategy for achieving results...

can you please clarify more clearly. ta, dunk
    I said it more clearly already, here it is again.

I disagree, the main reason this station has been delayed is to wait for the CCS technology, on which its medium and longterm economic future relies, to actually exist and be commercially proven.
    In essence it has been delayed by EU carbon directives.

I spoke to a forestry expert recently, who was quite adamant that the damage done to the forest from direct action protesters at Glen of the Downs was a lot bigger than any damage caused by the road.
    By all means have your craic, but stop claiming credit for the hard work of others who by and large are not having the craic yet achieving things.
    Regards, Pat Gill

By all means have your craic, but stop claiming credit for the hard work of others who by and large are not having the craic yet achieving things.
    Direct action complements their work, rather than competing with it. Its goal is to create such a crisis and foster such a tension as to demand a response. Without direct action, public pressure to force governments to change often does not happen.
    "But do 'climategate' revelations justify the sceptics’ claims that this is “the final nail in the coffin” of global warming theory? Not at all. They damage the credibility of three or four scientists. They raise questions about the integrity of one or perhaps two out of several hundred lines of evidence."

Sorry to disapoint ye, but further good news of the DIRECT ACTION ACHIEVING RESULTS...

We are armed.... only with PEER-REVIEWED SCIENCE

The target of UK climate camp 2007 was the proposed expansion of Heathrow airport with a third runway, but what news have I just recieved from the lists...

Campaigners claim victory on third runway at Heathrow (streatham guardian)

Campaigners protesting against a third runway at Heathrow Airport have declared victory after the airport’s owners announced it would not submit a planning application before the general election.
    Reports from our actions at Heathrow were communicated on indymedia at; Climate Camp, heathrow

FF, the lovely thing about all this direct action stuff, campaigns and other general activity outside of the traditional mold of "politics" ( that being the old cold game of party politics.... ) is that a very organic movement forms and morphs in different ways as according to needs and abilities. Paul Hawken explains it quite well, as pointed out by Hurin, all these different bits support each other, we are trying to win over other sides (again as often happens in old politics) we do what we can, when we can, as best we can. And that normally means being creative and inventive gives us the upper hand.

Heres a earlier report from 9 July 2008 in the lead up to todays great news;

Small victory as Heathrow’s 3rd runway plans are delayed

Climate Emergency - No Third Runway - Greenpeace

Even with this win, the job is far from done, its all work in progress, fair play to those who last night were still fighting the fight for our collective survival...

Greenpeace protesters spend night on parliament roof

"Now is the time to start putting policies in place to make sure we are on the right trajectory to peak our emissions and bring them down. But instead we have a government that is prepared to lock us into high carbon projects like the third runway at Heathrow."
    As stated; [SIZE="5"]WE ARE WINNING[/SIZE]

climate camp 07 @ heathrow - riot squad literally come face to face with climate change activists

climate camp 07 @ heathrow ; the kids are revolting
    [SIZE="2"]What we are seeing emerging is the largest movement the world has ever seen; the[/SIZE]

[SIZE="1"]There was something formless and perfect
    before the universe was born.
    It is serene. Empty.
    Solitary. Unchanging.
    Infinite. Eternally present.
    It is the mother of the universe.
    For lack of a better name,
    I call it the
    .[/SIZE]

Dunk

The signwriters from the movement could do with a little experience, "the kids are revolting" can be read in several ways, I am not a politician nor am I involved in politics, my own contribution is to merely help with the real work of developing real cost effective alternatives to older technologies and my problem with the movement is that their craic gets in the way. learn to listen occasionally and you may actually become useful in a real sense.
    Regards, Pat Gill

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12