Page 76 of 76 FirstFirst ... 2666747576

Thread: Dublin Central

In case anybody needs confirmation!

FF-PD policy to blame for economic ills, claims report - Irish, Business - Independent.ie

FF-PD policy to blame for economic ills, claims report

By Siobhan Creaton

Thursday February 24 2011

A new report blames the 2002 Bertie Ahern Fianna Fail/Progressive Democrat government for causing most of the damage to the Irish economy and criticises the Department of Finance for failing to stop wide-ranging tax breaks that fuelled the property boom.

The review of the Department of Finance by Canadian expert Rob Wright singles out the policies in those parties' 2002 election manifestos as contributing significantly to the 2008 property market crash, the Irish Independent has learned.

Mr Wright also criticises Department of Finance officials for not carrying out any economic or budgetary analysis of the proposed tax cuts and the huge public spending programme the FF/PD government was planning.

He blames the impact of the social partnership process as another key reason for Ireland's economic woes, highlighting high public sector wages compared with the private sector.

He questions the methods available to Department of Finance officials to raise these kind of concerns with the then minister, Charlie McCreevy, and his successors, Taoiseach Brian Cowen and Finance Minister, Brian Lenihan.

The report, which is due to be published next week, doesn't go as far as to say that the Department should have been more prudent in this regard, but recommends that more specialist accountants and economists should be hired to work in Finance.

Mr Wright was commissioned to review the Department's performance over the past 10 years and its handling of the financial crisis.

As well as calling for an adequate mix of skills to provide the best advice for future Finance Ministers, the report says the Department's Public Services Management Division should become a separate unit either within the Department or outside it. The unit should report to the minister for state rather than to the Finance Minister.

The report also calls for the establishment of a task force to examine public sector reform that should include individuals from the private sector as well as civil servants.

The Wright report is one of two ordered by Mr Lenihan that are still to be published. Economist Colm McCarthy has completed a review of the €10bn worth of state assets to identify which could be sold or reorganised to raise much-needed cash for the Government. It is also due to be published shortly.

Mr Wright worked in the public service in Canada for 35 years, and for 20 of those he was a secretary general in the finance ministry. His group also included Hans Borstlap, who held the position of director general at the Dutch ministry for social affairs and employment and was a member of the Netherlands central bank advisory board.

They were joined by Department of Agriculture and Food general secretary John Malone, and economist and one-time finance official Pat McArdle acted as an adviser.

- Siobhan Creaton

Olivia

Quote Originally Posted by The Mole View Post
    My Dad, a Dublin City Councillor
    Hey what now?

There was a last minute leaflet drop last for FitzPatrick of a sample ballot paper.

Didn't mention Cyprian Brady.

Anyone get interviewed outside O'Tooles CBS by Japanese television this morning?

To All Dublin Central Voters; Before and when Voting tommorow, reflect on the National Situation, why we are here and who brought us here. Vote Mary Lou McDonald, Ciarán Perry, Christy Burke and Maureen O Sullivan ( ALL Who have a Consceince like Tony Gregory did when he was alive ) in Order of your own Choice / Preference to insure PROPER Representation for you, your Family and Friends in Teach Laighin / Leinster House. Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and Labour have all Commited to continuing the I. M. F. / E. C. B. / E. U. Bailout agreed with Clowen and Lendihand last Year, JUST after they said it was never being Negotiated. Don't let this Continue. Give yourself PROPER Representation.

Pádraig Ó Tomhnair | Facebook
    The situation wouldn't have been so bad if people like your lads hadn't voted for the bank guarantee in the first place, no?....

Just a heads up to SF in Dublin Central, you've been giving out leaflets directing people on my road (and probably a number of others) to go to the wrong polling station. I doubt anyone who bothered to read it will be best pleased if they traipse up to Phibsborough and get turned away.

All a little bit short on detail there, in both parts of your post.

Quote Originally Posted by stripey cat View Post
    All a little bit short on detail there, in both parts of your post.
    Who me?

@

Quote Originally Posted by Richard Roma View Post
    The situation wouldn't have been so bad if people like your lads hadn't voted for the bank guarantee in the first place, no?....

Just a heads up to SF in Dublin Central, you've been giving out leaflets directing people on my road (and probably a number of others) to go to the wrong polling station. I doubt anyone who bothered to read it will be best pleased if they traipse up to Phibsborough and get turned away.
    I think I know where you Live. Two of the Lads did those Leaflets and we knew they messed up. I would like to offer our sincrest ( Hope I Spelt it right ) Apology, on Behalf of Mary Lou McDonald for such a Mess Up. We will ensure that such a Situation NEVER happens again and we would Appreciate if you pass on said Apology to any other Residents who have been Inconveninced by Our Screw Up.
    I agree with the Death Penalty to show people it's wrong to kill.

I think I know where you Live. Two of the Lads did those Leaflets and we knew they messed up. I would like to offer our sincrest ( Hope I Spelt it right ) Apology, on Behalf of Mary Lou McDonald for such a Mess Up. We will ensure that such a Situation NEVER happens again and we would Appreciate if you pass on said Apology to any other Residents who have been Inconveninced by Our Screw Up.
    You think you know where I live? That sounds ominous

In or around Dorset Street/North Circular Road; the actual polling station is so close I imagine it won't make too much difference but if they got left in any closer to Phibsborough it could be a problem.

@

Quote Originally Posted by Richard Roma View Post
    You think you know where I live? That sounds ominous

In or around Dorset Street/North Circular Road; the actual polling station is so close I imagine it won't make too much difference but if they got left in any closer to Phibsborough it could be a problem.
    Thought it was down on the North Strand. I know it could be a Problem. Hopefully it won't effect Mary Lou's Chances.
    I agree with the Death Penalty to show people it's wrong to kill.

Page 76 of 76 FirstFirst ... 2666747576