Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Survey-new movement

unfortunately Mario007, you need a wee bit of populism to get elected, as is the nature of democracy. But still, why bother start something new, when you can fix something that is new? Fine Gael need some young Thatcherites to give it a kick.

Edo,
    "you don't know sh^t about life so how the f^ck are you going to comment and possibly legislate on others said lives?"
    Right so the generation that f*ck everything up, destroyed this country and gave us decades of FF rule, knows better?

Quote Originally Posted by Mario007 View Post
    yeah i know the political system needs a much more thoughts, but its just there as a rough plan, i suppose.
    thanks for the advice on the working class...i'll try to think of some ways of pulling them in.
    i dont want to join FG, because they seem to me, to be very populistic and power thirsty, which is something i really don't like, mainly the populism and the demagogy.
    FG populist?

That is quite a mad statement, FG are the least populist party oftentimes running policies they feel are best much to their own detriment. To be honest for their own sake FG should be more populist.

Also why in the name of God revamp our whole political system?

I am fully in support of getting more academics and experts involved in the political system. That is the role of the Seanad. The Dáil should not be revamped but the Seanad as in its current guise it is near useless. It is the Seanad that should be reformed to give the academic more of a role in Irish Politics which in my view can only be a good thing.
    Economic Left/Right: 0.38
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: 0.67

Quote Originally Posted by Drico View Post
    Leo Varadkar who turned 30 this year
    Feck me - would have put him down as pushing 40.

Quote Originally Posted by Gimpanzee View Post
    Feck me - would have put him down as pushing 40.
    He's the second youngest TD as far as I know.

I have spotted the man in Abercrombie jumper and sunglasses
    Economic Left/Right: 0.38
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: 0.67

I am fully in support of getting more academics and experts involved in the political system. That is the role of the Seanad. The Dáil should not be revamped but the Seanad as in its current guise it is near useless. It is the Seanad that should be reformed to give the academic more of a role in Irish Politics which in my view can only be a good thing.
    Because it is dysfunctional. Simple question - is our electoral system and the Oireachtas fit for purpose? Simple answer, no it isn't.

Will we do anything about it? Will we f...*

*Until the UK decides that it needs to revamp theirs, then we'll sheepishly follow a few years later.

Quote Originally Posted by Edo View Post
    Fire ahead - the more the merrier - the only catch is - that to get elected, requires cash,committed manpower and grassroots movements which take years to build up - isn't that right Declan?
    thanks and yes i know about the time and money it takes to build up a party. that is why chose to call it a movement, rather than a party at first i want it more like a thinkthank, or a lobby group, i suppose, because getting the money for elections is very very hard. but thats why i think this is the best time to set up something, because it seems any further elections are 3 years away, so it gives me time to get it properly working.

Quote Originally Posted by imokyrok View Post
    Private school?
    nope VEC, all the way

Quote Originally Posted by QuizMaster View Post
    You'll be too young to remember the PDs.
    They were right up your street.

I disagree with nearly all your points but it's good to see people taking an interest and trying to think of ways out of this mess. Fair play to you.

Unfortunately, it's almost impossible to break into the political system in this country. The established parties have it sewn up. I'd love to break up this cosy cartel, but I'm running out of ideas as to how.

On and before anyone asks, I'm 47. Maybe we should all state our ages.
    thanks, yes all i remember of the PDs is that they disappeared after the last election and that they made the big mistake of going to coaltion with FF even though they were created as a group from FF.
    yeah the political system is really hard to break in, but i spoke to some people that were creating similiar parties across the europe(namely czech republic and slovakia) over email and they have achieved to get people interested thanks to new policies and the power of the internet, which attract a lot of first time voters. so i think thats the way forward

Quote Originally Posted by Edo View Post
    Yer 18 and already looking to start a right wing capitalist movement

I suppose telling ya that at that age you really should be joining the communist party for the liberal chicks, enjoying the craic in college,doing all sorts of slighty legal/illegal stuff, having a go at authority whenever you get a chance and generally just living the life of not having to worry about responsibility that you will only get at that time of your life.

Nobody should be allowed join a political party before they are 30 years old -Im 37 btw -As a full member of the grownup version of FG for last 4 years - I think most of YFG scarily off their heads when they start talking seriously about things -you don't know sh^t about life so how the f^ck are you going to comment and possibly legislate on others said lives?.

By all means read as much political theory as you try and find where exactly you fit in in Life - but trying as many things as possible ( OK - Dont go the John McGuirk route) when you have the least responsibilities possible would be IMHO, far more preferable than trying setting up a Tory Boy political movement -

then again when it comes to political prodigys and the like you're in the right place.
    while i dont agree with you on the fact that i know nothing of life and politics i can see from where you're coming. but if that was the route forward i would then suggest stripping all the people above 65 to right to vote, because they all vote mostly on the basis of who will give them higher pensions and so they are a very easy to buy group.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr.De-Regulation View Post
    unfortunately Mario007, you need a wee bit of populism to get elected, as is the nature of democracy. But still, why bother start something new, when you can fix something that is new? Fine Gael need some young Thatcherites to give it a kick.

Edo,
    "you don't know sh^t about life so how the f^ck are you going to comment and possibly legislate on others said lives?"
    Right so the generation that f*ck everything up, destroyed this country and gave us decades of FF rule, knows better?
    yes i guess you are right about the populism. but only a bit. look at the lisbon campaign, for example. both camps use so much populism that the discussion about the actual facts of the treaty are lost away and we are reduced to talk to about some half made up issues.
    About FG, i must say some of the policies of FG are quite appealing like th fair care policy, for example. Having said that i want to try lift this movement off the ground first and see if it achievable, if its ideas will appeal to people.

FG populist?

That is quite a mad statement, FG are the least populist party oftentimes running policies they feel are best much to their own detriment. To be honest for their own sake FG should be more populist.

to me the FG front bench comes across as populistic, for example the arguement that Brian Cowen was never elected a Taoiseach by the people.

because there is a need of reform, i think. because the political system has evolved into something that just buys votes from its citizens regardless of the outcome for the country in the future and that needs to change.

I would scratch Seanad altogether to be honest, or give it greater power, like power of veto, power of making recommandations to the acts it discusses and return it back to the Dail and have them be elected haflway through the term of the TDs in office.

Politics.ie Regular soubresauts's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Mario007 View Post
    The movement would be aimed at the middle-class people, business people but particularly, in the early stage, at the intelligentsia and students...

1. Have a political system where the government is made up off top experts in their field, not TDs. The Taoiseach, who also would be a top expert, would be nominated by the coalition that will form within the Dail, and he will then pick out his cabinet.
    Mario, some of us are inclined to stop reading right there. You think the Taoiseach must be male? Of course, you don't really (do you?), but you need to eliminate such obvious blunders.

As for experts, can you give us some examples of "top experts"? It's hard to know what you mean by that.
    15 Jan 2001 -- Fine Gael pledged to end fluoridation because of "serious health concerns".

Politics.ie Regular soubresauts's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by QuizMaster View Post
    Unfortunately, it's almost impossible to break into the political system in this country. The established parties have it sewn up. I'd love to break up this cosy cartel, but I'm running out of ideas as to how.
    Didn't your Green Party show how to break into the political system? (Am I missing something?)
    15 Jan 2001 -- Fine Gael pledged to end fluoridation because of "serious health concerns".

Quote Originally Posted by soubresauts View Post
    Didn't your Green Party show how to break into the political system? (Am I missing something?)
    nothing against the greens, but the political analyst say that the greens usually get into the parliament(or dail, in this case) when people are getting fed up with the political parties that are already there...

Quote Originally Posted by soubresauts View Post
    Mario, some of us are inclined to stop reading right there. You think the Taoiseach must be male? Of course, you don't really (do you?), but you need to eliminate such obvious blunders.

As for experts, can you give us some examples of "top experts"? It's hard to know what you mean by that.
    no of course i dont think the Taoiseach has to be male thanks for pointing that out.

top experts like say for finance get the best proven banker or manager(though i know right now there probably arent many around) for foreign affairs get a proven carreer dimplomat, for agriculture get a proven figure from either IFA or some other organisation. I dont know the names, if thats what you're looking for

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast