Thread: Enda to be Taoiseach before end of 2009

Politics.ie Member Supermanpolitician's Avatar

Enda to be Taoiseach before end of 2009

Obviously we will need an election and FG will have to win.

So what odds Enda to be Taoiseach? Obviously pro FG journalists like Drennan and Carey say its going to happen sooner or later but even Fionnan Sheehan (whose wife is FF) and Stephen Collins (best journalist in the country) seem to think that FG led government is going to happen soon.

What odds on Taoiseach Enda before 31 Dec 2009?

*shudders

FF get a prefrence for the first time in my life
    Sovereignty is Democracy

Have you checked todays Irish Times, 50% are dissatisfied, and 19% have no opinion on him. If this is what we are now calling Taoiseach material, then were up the creek.

Quote Originally Posted by MacCoise View Post
    *shudders

FF get a prefrence for the first time in my life
    Get used to shuddering!

Might check betfair.

@

Quote Originally Posted by jayblue View Post
    Have you checked todays Irish Times, 50% are dissatisfied, and 19% have no opinion on him. If this is what we are now calling Taoiseach material, then were up the creek.
    As distinct from Brian Cowen who is?

I think Kenny will try for the government by committee angle, where he surrounds himself with the capable as it prevent people from scrutinising his leadership qualities.

Having said all that, I acknowledge that he's a detriment to FG, and I don't have any time for him, certainly not as a Taoiseach.

Nah feck it. Its better we leave the country to crash and burn.

Certainly not my favourite politician (if that's not a contradiction in terms) but he's done a sterling job for FG since elected as leader, & he's done it by playing to the strengths of the actual talent in his organisation rather than just promoting people on the basis of their family's past loyalty to the party. That seems like a good recipe for the country at the moment, esp. since we see every day what the other method produces.

Quote Originally Posted by jayblue View Post
    Not sure if you noticed but FG on 36%, Labour on 23%....Enda will be Taoiseach.

Oh and I'm sure you think Biffo has done a sterling job. Enda brought FG from 21% to 36% so he must be doing something right.

Quote Originally Posted by Supermanpolitician View Post

What odds on Taoiseach Enda before 31 Dec 2009?

Quote Originally Posted by Supermanpolitician View Post
    Enda brought FG from 21% to 36% so he must be doing something right.
    Biffo's the best leader FG ever had. He brought them to 36% in spite of Enda.