Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Enda to be Taoiseach before end of 2009

Politics.ie Member Supermanpolitician's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by dmc444 View Post
    No but we do know who will make to the top though, You looked at Lemass or Cosgrave or Haughey and Fitzgerald, you knew those men were could get the top job but Enda just does not give that sense off.
    Reynolds, Bruton, Ahern never gave off anything like this magic aura.

LDF

Quote Originally Posted by Major Don Astun View Post
    Kenny's an anemic contralto who couldn't run a corner shop. He'd be doing the country a real service if he let Gilmore take the wheel (and I'm no socialist, but I am a realist).
    Take the wheel...of the corner shop.

Look, Kenny has dragged his party from the brink of extinction to the point where, eight days from now, it will be the largest party in the country.

He will be Taoiseach. Get used to it.

It will never happen sorry! He is just to soft for his own good. Richard bruton on the otherhand is to hard stubborn

I reckon Leo up next Shudder!!!!!

Enda Kenny will be as good as anybody else from FG in the job. His problem stems from the fact that this is modern Ireland where any leader from FG who sounds remotely educated,and isn't a corrupt chancer ,....oh!... and can speak passable English and doesn't look as rough as a bears arse ,is instantly considered "not one of us" by about 70% of the population.
    God save Ireland.

Albert Ahern...AKA...CJ Reynolds...AKA...Bertie Haughey...(ah shure, amn't I all the one and what's a suitcase of money between pals)

I am no great fan of FG but as I see it, Enda has done a very competent job as leader of his party, he is not corrupt, he has demonstrated an ability to manage a team of people some more talented than himself and he wants the job of running the country at a time when FF don't look to have the backbone for the job.

I think he deserves a chance, even if it is on the basis that nothing could be worse than what we have.
    Fianna Fail - The Loss of Sovereignty Party.

Quote Originally Posted by Supermanpolitician View Post
    So you are saying that Enda will be Taoiseach and it's all thanks to Biffo? I can live with that. You're wrong about Biffo's role as Labour SF and others would have picked up if Enda wasn't doing something right but you seem to acknowledge that Enda will be Taoiseach.

I like you!
    I'm sure you're a grand man as well but I'd sooner have Emma Kiernan

First off unless Ryan goes postal in the cabinet room I can't see a general election this year and I think that's Enda's only shot.

If you listen to people on the radio being asked who they'll vote for most of them are saying they're voting against Fianna Fail. They're not saying they're voting FOR Fine Gael. That's ok for FG if the election is soon but it's too soft to last till 2012.

Biffo's days are surely numbered it's only a matter of whether they shaft him after the locals or after the budget. If FF are really clever they'll replace him with Mary Hanafin. By 2012 even if the economy isn't a whole lot better at least it wont be getting worse by the month.

The election would play out in the media as experienced Dublin woman Taoiseach vs bogger who was minister for leprechauns for a fortnight 20 years ago.

There's a lot of Labour noses out of joint at the way FG are attacking them now so they'd love a chance to do a 92 again. Gilmore would have no bother going in with FF under a 'respectable' leader.

Bottom line... unless people are still bleeding when the next election's called Enda wont be getting the top job.

Do you still like me

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123