Page 1 of 25 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Will FF poll as badly as everyone is saying?

Will FF poll as badly as everyone is saying?

I have been looking very carefully at the last few opinion polls, and I'm waiting with baited breath for tomorrow's poll (there is a poll tomorrow, right?).

The general consensus is that FF are around 20%'ish.

I have a feeling that they (and the Greens) wont do as badly as that. I have a horrible feeling that Cowen, Gormley and co will be able to say they did a LOT better than expected, and that they have the support of a significant proportion of the Irish people. I can see both FF and the Greens coming out of the 3 elections almost totally undamaged.

Opinions please.

They will get destroyed. They are now joined at the hip to the church.

I think it will be a lot worse than they expect. There is a perfect storm of anger against FF building over the recession, FF's banker and developer cronies and the Church. It is going to hit FF hard and it will take a few generations for FF to rebuild. If FF is below 20% in any poll before the elections, FF will start to cull its current management.

Regards...jmcc

What would you classify as "destroyed"?

I can see the Greens holding firm (abet with a slight reduction in support) and FF doing only slightly worse than in the last Local elections.

If they get 20% they may claim a victory but it would mean a halving of their support to its lowest ever level. They are welcome to celebrate that. Everybody else will.

Quote Originally Posted by OceanFrog View Post
    What would you classify as "destroyed"?
    Cowen will be hanging his head in shame when the results come out. Its a shame he feels no shame now.

The people have wised up to this lot.

Quote Originally Posted by Digout View Post
    They will get destroyed. They are now joined at the hip to the church.
    Quote Originally Posted by jmcc View Post
    I think it will be a lot worse than they expect. There is a perfect storm of anger against FF building over the recession, FF's banker and developer cronies and the Church. It is going to hit FF hard and it will take a few generations for FF to rebuild.
    I'm not sure about that lads.

I just have an illogical feeling that once people get into the polling booth they will revert to type and all will be forgiven. I have no proof of this ... just a feeling and a few things I've heard from people over the last few days.

I predict FF at around 12% in Dublin and around 18% nationally. total fcking wipeout on the streets of the Capital they neglected so badly as they bribed the island for votes with nonsense like the rail corridor and decentralisation. Everything was grand when we had jobs - sittin in congestion was better than sittin at home watchin Two and a Half Men - now it's all gone to cock, and all we have to show for De Nortsoide Taoiseach is a pox riddled bus service, shag all rail, about a quarter of a Luas network, friends and relatives dying on trolleys in the Mater and Beaumont and children being taught to be grateful for their stinking rotten prefabs....

It maybe time for a New Pale - a Fianna Fail free zone in Leinster - let the culchies prop em up, we have a city to save here

The country needs Fianna Fail to be finished. They have destroyed the country and as a nation, we need to happen to Fianna Fail what happened to the Christian Democrats in Italy. Anything less is a failure by the Irish people to rid themselves of a pollutant cancer in their midst.
    Fianna Fail - The Loss of Sovereignty Party.

LDF

I share your horrible feeling. Cowen led the fight back in Slane with a speech to rally his troops. To an objective listener, that speech was more of the same aul nonsense we've heard before. However, it may have been enough to get the FF addicts out of cold turkey and back in the fold again.

The next polls will be interesting and, I think, will show a rise in support for FF.

I just hope FG have a good campaign planned for the last week.

Page 1 of 25 12311 ... LastLast