Like Tree48Likes

Thread: Star gazing live- like a different education

Politics.ie Regular Astral Peaks's Avatar
    @

Quote Originally Posted by Astral Peaks View Post
    The Horizon title on this says it all.

Intellectual arrogance, playing God!!

Maybe you should start a thread on this?
    Well, the synthetic bio-diesel production was impressive.
    Bu, indi bütün uşaq mavi var!

Politics.ie Regular Astral Peaks's Avatar
    @

Quote Originally Posted by Munnkeyman View Post
    Himself, Arthur C. Clarke and Carl Sagan would be my favourite science popularists from when I was younger. I religiously watch The Sky At Night.
    He's pushing close to ninety at the moment.

I had no idea it was still broadcast. Learn something every day, I suppose?
    Bu, indi bütün uşaq mavi var!

Carl Sagan was way better than Cox. His explanations and analogies were far more concise and effective. Cox is still very watchable though, fair play to him.

There is a brilliant app for the smartphone called "Google sky map".
    asset test likes this.

Daft I know but they were pointing out earlier why star gazing from a city is essentially crap due to light issues and energy waste. I only dawned on me how true that was. I used to live in a big city and well if we were star gazing it wasn't stars we were looking at but helicopters. Now I'm in the sticks and the sky's at night are just amazing. Piddly school boy stuff but still. No this program has me and the wee lad busting to get out again.

Goodman Brian Cox.
    EvotingMachine0197 and Dorris like this.
    It's only a bit of craic

This image was featured in tonight's show. It shows the Pillars of Creation in the Eagle Nebula(Messier 16).

M16 The Eagle Nebula

Image Credit: far-infrared: ESA/Herschel/PACS/SPIRE/Hill, Motte, HOBYS Key Programme Consortium; X-ray: ESA/XMM-Newton/EPIC/XMM-Newton-SOC/Boulanger

Composites and individual images of M16.

Image Credit: far-infrared: ESA/Herschel/PACS/SPIRE/Hill, Motte, HOBYS Key Programme Consortium; ESA/XMM-Newton/EPIC/XMM-Newton-SOC/Boulanger; optical: MPG/ESO; near-infrared:VLT/ISAAC/McCaughrean & Andersen/AIP/ESO
    Flash a-ah - King of the impossible

The Brian May?

Surprised you don't like Cox?
    hes too effeminite

I had no idea it was still broadcast. Learn something every day, I suppose?
    Ya, once a month, I think there is a repeat on tomorrow night of this month's programme on BBC HD.

I've just started an astronomy course and his has really brought it to life, ill be a bit sad when it ends tomorrow night, why can't they run it for a week or two like spring/autumn watch?

Quote Originally Posted by ItsEvolution View Post
    I've just started an astronomy course and his has really brought it to life, ill be a bit sad when it ends tomorrow night, why can't they run it for a week or two like spring/autumn watch?
    S282 with the OU by any chance?

Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast