Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Clouds of confusion

Clouds of confusion

Saw this on another blog, started my Friday off with a laugh

Clouds of confusion as Galway councillor tells another to 'go f..k himself"

A GALWAY councillor has refused to apologise for swearing at a County Council committee meeting after he told a fellow councillor to "go **** himself"
    Local area councillor Seamus Tiernan made the amazing outburst after he was told he was a "feckin eejit" for thinking that cloud computing was only suitable in areas with lots of rain.
    He had told the Infrastructure Committee meeting this week that his native Connemara would be ideal for cloud computing because it has heavy cloud cover for nine months of the year."
    The Independent councillor said that the Government should be doing more to harness clean industries for the Connemara area and he named wind energy and cloud computing as two obvious examples.
    "Connemara in particular could become a centre of excellence for wind energy harnessing, as it is open to the Atlantic. Also in terms of cloud computing, we have dense thick fog for nine months of the year, because of the mountain heights and the ability to harness this cloud power, there is tremendous scope for cloud computing to become a major employer in this region."
    However his mistake was pointed out by an incredulous Cllr Martin Shiels who said that "this is taking the biscuit. I've heard it all now. You must be a fecking eejit to think that the cloud computing had anything to do with climate."
    Cllr Tiernan took umbrage at the remarks of his colleague and called for them to be withdrawn. When Cllr Shields refused to do so, Tiernan said "go **** yourself, Cllr Shields."
    Chairman Sile Ni Baoill asked for both councillors to withdraw their comments, but Cllr Tiernan was repentant that Cllr Shields was wrong and that cloud comouting is linked to cloud cover.
    "Tell me why large companies are opening server farms in cold wet countries then, he asked Cllr Shields.

Politics.ie Regular EvotingMachine0197's Avatar

Also in terms of cloud computing, we have dense thick fog for nine months of the year, because of the mountain heights and the ability to harness this cloud power, there is tremendous scope for cloud computing to become a major employer in this region
    OMFG.

Edit: I think this is fake.
    Social Conscience likes this.
    Under Review.
    Line 2.

Politics.ie Regular Social Conscience's Avatar

Any idea is it April 1st in Cllr Tiernan's house?

All I can say is they walk among us.
    From great tragedy emerges great art.

It is indeed fake.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/show...p?t=2056460271

And none of these Councillors exist.
    Under Review.
    Line 2.

Politics.ie Regular Tin Foil Hat's Avatar

Link?

This can't be true. But I hope it is.

Edit:- Ah fuk. I just saw evoting's post.

DAMMIT!!! I so wanted this to be real! I even liked it! I feel dirty now!
    Withdraw Madam! Withdraw!

Quote Originally Posted by firefly123 View Post
    DAMMIT!!! I so wanted this to be real! I even liked it! I feel dirty now!
    I know, I would have got the whole weekend out of this one ..
    Under Review.
    Line 2.

Quote Originally Posted by EvotingMachine0197 View Post
    It is indeed fake.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/show...p?t=2056460271

And none of these Councillors exist.
    Looks like it might be.

Apologies if it is, I saw it this morning and laughed out loud. A mate sent me on the board.ie link that you posted.

Devastated if it's not true

@

Ah lads we have to give councillor Tiernan credit for being a little bit correct, Connemara does indeed have an ideal climate to host large data centres, unfortunately it lacks the power grid infrastructure and the small matter of internationally connected trunk fibre.

But maybe Santa and President Higgins will come through for him.

EDIT, EV you win this one it seems.
    Best regards, Pat. ____please help test our new site

Galway Co Council

Alas, no councillors by any of these names listed on the GCC website. Still, never let the facts get in the way of a good story, as a recent defamation case proved. . .

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast