Thread: applying for a mortgage

applying for a mortgage

hi i was just wondering if anybody has any ideas or advice, my partner and i have decided to move in together.It means i wont be a single parent and i will loose medical card and stuff which is fine ive been trying to become independant for years but couldnt get completely free as i was on my own with my daughter, long story short ive applied for loadz of full time jobs, I did a college course nearly 2 years ago and then had a baby so as just doing cover work here and there in a creche as my course was care provision and practice but the jobs ive applied for are in the same field.
    my partner and i want to apply for a mortgage rather than spend 1000 or more on a rent per month, he is in permanent full time work the last 8 years so does anybody know if they will accept me as a second income if i get a full time positon bsed on whta ive explained here.sorry for long messege but had to explain

Politics.ie Regular sauntersplash's Avatar

Wait another 18 months and you'll probably be able to buy a house with cash.
    "Well, while I'm here, I'll do the work - and what's the work? To ease the pain of living. Everything else, drunken dumbshow." - Allen Ginsberg Memory Gardens

Rents are coming down and interest rates are likely to go up. I suggest that you go looking for a really nice bargain in rented property - there must be some out there - and save up the difference until house prices have come down a lot more.

Things are too uncertain at the moment for it to be worth buying.

what do you mean sorry dont get ya i know house prices are gong down but im talking minimum wage here so 40hours a weeks only gona get me around 280euro and i hope you arnt referring to me in that last line because i will buy you and sell you 20 times over

ye we are taking over my full rent were i am now as i was getting part rent allowence but its way to expensive for even the both of us hes only coming out with 345 per week and has a car loan and so do i we worked it out and if we got a mortgage it would be cheaper than renting his mam and dad are giving us a loan of a few grand as deposit

Banks at the minute probably won't consider your income as a second income until you've been in the job for 2 years. Plus youse will need at least a 15% deposit, that you can prove that you have saved together from income. No more credit union loans of Bank Of Mum for the deposit.

Plus property prices still have a long way to fall, and rents are rapidly falling too.

Shop around for decent rent on somewhere that will do you all for two years, close to work, and prove to the bank you are financially responsible by saving the deposit over that time.

At that stage you should get a mortgage without much trouble - and a far smaller mortgage too, as property will be a lot cheaper.

Oh, and ignore family and friends who babble mindlessly about "rent is dead money" and "you have to get on the ladder" and "renting is for losers". These people are still living in the fantasy world of 2006.
    Soul almost completely worn through

Quote Originally Posted by SamVimesBoots View Post
    Banks at the minute probably won't consider your income as a second income until you've been in the job for 2 years. Plus youse will need at least a 15% deposit, that you can prove that you have saved together from income. No more credit union loans of Bank Of Mum for the deposit.

Plus property prices still have a long way to fall, and rents are rapidly falling too.

Shop around for decent rent on somewhere that will do you all for two years, close to work, and prove to the bank you are financially responsible by saving the deposit over that time.

At that stage you should get a mortgage without much trouble - and a far smaller mortgage too, as property will be a lot cheaper.

Oh, and ignore family and friends who babble mindlessly about "rent is dead money" and "you have to get on the ladder" and "renting is for losers". These people are still living in the fantasy world of 2006.

Have to agree. Renting is not dead money if property prices are falling. If you buy now there's a good chance that you'll be in negative equity in two years time even with a 15% deposit. Just ask those who purchased with a 90% mortgage two years ago.

i know exactly wht you mean

Quote Originally Posted by SamVimesBoots View Post

i have heard it all his side are pushing it, they all seem to be loaded all the time.I was thinking if we paid rent at least it would show we could afford a mortgage every month, my landlord has put my rent down by 200 i might see will he drop it again as we,l be paying ourselves as rent allowence wont be an option .

has anybody got a house from the affordable housing scheme?

What length of mortgage?

You say it would be cheapre to buy than rent, what length of a mortgage were you thinking of going for?
    Economic Left/Right:-3.75
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian:-3.69