Page 2 of 16 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: "Ireland will beat recession", "Rapid growth... as early as next year" - Cowen

Politics.ie Regular MsAnneThrope's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by toxic avenger View Post
    Cowen is an outrageous f*cking liar. Even my dad, who left school at 14, had been saying for years there was a giant f*ck off crash coming. I hate bulsh1tters. Now he's pushing the false floor 'green shoots' bullsh1t too. Shameless.
    This was the highlight for me:

He said nobody saw the “size and depth” of the economic crisis in including the main opposition parties in the Dáil.

“Their hindsight may be clear now, but they were not so sharp eyed when the crisis was only around the corner,” the Taoiseach added.
    I can just hear the roars of support and the laughter. Can I borrow your last word? Shameless. Because there's no better word to describe it.
    We all love animals. Why do we call some 'pets' and others 'dinner'?

He also said he was going to fix the economies reliance on construstion but as luck would have it financial crisis hit just when the financial system imploded. Can you believe that luck? Poor Brian. He would have saved us if he had just known but he just hadn't gotten around to it

I just saw him on the news and I'm incredibly angry!!!!!!!!

-Rather than admit the mistakes of the past and put real reforms in place he is putting a spin on it that is akin to the soft landing he and bertie were spinning 2 years ago. If we were to take him at his word we'd very soon end up in a bigger mess than we're already in.

If there was ever a reason to give them a kicking on June 5th I think that bullsh1t that he spouted today takes the biscuit.

Does anyone other than the diehard FFrs believe him?? he has a great track record doesn't he when it comes to forecasting economic trends

Quote Originally Posted by garlandgreen View Post
    He also said he was going to fix the economies reliance on construstion but as luck would have it financial crisis hit just when the financial system imploded. Can you believe that luck? Poor Brian. He would have saved us if he had just known but he just hadn't gotten around to it

If only he had only booked the caravan for a month instead of the three they were on holidays last year...perhaps he'd have got around to it!!!!
    Behind every great man is a woman rolling her eyes.
    Jim Carrey.

Politics.ie Regular MsAnneThrope's Avatar

I often wonder are his colleagues thinking to themselves "Ah Jaysus Brian, don't be saying things like that" and shaking their heads in disbelief. Or do they too actually believe it?
    We all love animals. Why do we call some 'pets' and others 'dinner'?

Ireland will beat the global recession and is already making “real progress”, Taoiseach Brian Cowen said tonight.

“I understand that and I want to explain to you tonight that we are making real progress, and that we have a way out that is working,” Mr Cowen said.

That's gas.He didn't say what exactly is being done I guess.Unless Brian thinks that progress means we haven't yet reached 500k unemployment then I fear the man is delusional.Mind you he'd actually have to believe this nonsense himself to be considered delusional.

I've no doubt that this statement will come back to haunt Cowen

What is really scary is that there are people in this country who will take these comments as fact and will vote FF on the basis of them.

Quote Originally Posted by MsAnneThrope View Post
    I often wonder are his colleagues thinking to themselves "Ah Jaysus Brian, don't be saying things like that" and shaking their heads in disbelief. Or do they too actually believe it?
    Considering his colleagues are Levy Lenighan, Ayatollah Ahern, and Martin Cullen I would say the latter

It is essential that the anti-FF vote is maximised to its full potential on June 5th. We must urge people that we know who dont normally bother voting to go out and vote for anyone other than FF.
    What about putting up posters urging people not to vote FF?

Page 2 of 16 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast