Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: George Lee's Economic Plan for Recovery

George Lee's Economic Plan for Recovery

George Lee has proposed a 10 point plan for Economic recovery.

George Lee: How I would fix the economy - National News, Frontpage - Herald.ie

It's hard to disagree with most of it, but I have to be honest, I expected more than this from a man of his caliber and experience

What do other users think?

I think he should get 3 kicks in the balls for wasting my time reading tripe which is the 2009 version of their stupid manifestos of 2007

Quote Originally Posted by Benz View Post

It's hard to disagree with most of it, but I have to be honest, I expected more than this from a man of his caliber and experience

I agreed with some points but others were just rehashed FG policies. I expected better from him. Good but not great.

Politics.ie Regular cyberianpan's Avatar

As a starting point they are fine, I might have expected a little more on the banks ... but point 8 sticks out:

8. I would make sure that taxpayer support for banks is used only to support new lending to small businesses and families, not to nurse along dodgy property related debts to Fianna Fail's developer friends. The banks, the professional investors who funded them and developers should between themselves take care of the mess they have created. They made the big profits in the good years. They should now eat the losses.
    I don't see how he can return to the day job after that...

cYp
    "Yawn , am I alive yet ?"

Politics.ie Regular west'sawake's Avatar

O.K. not bad but still not enough specifics especially in relation to how he would finance the tax cuts and PRSI exemptions. Overhauling the quangoes is nonsense, they need to be scrapped. Too many sound bites and not enough specifics, lots of economic jargon of course, but jargon is no good, where's the meat George?

That said, he's looking like a dead cert anyway in D.S. I think Gilmore's momentum is going to be checked too, Labour are in danger of thinking they will get gains by default, they are beginning to be caught out, Lee might not be specific enough, but Labour are woeful, Burton's performances with Vincent Browne has shown them up as full of platitudes but short and answers and I believe courage. Labour need to put Ruairi Quinn out there a lot more, he was a very successful Minister for Finance, Burton whilst articulate, just isn't convincing that Labour have what it takes for the times we live in.

I have to say it, if Lee is elected then the big mo is in F.Gs favour to take back a lot seats in Dublin. Well done Brian Hayes and Richard Bruton, two by election wins in Dublin will do for Kenny what Michael Ring's win in Mayo did for Bruton, who found himself Taoiseach less than two years later.

Quote Originally Posted by cyberianpan View Post
    As a starting point they are fine, I might have expected a little more on the banks ... but point 8 sticks out:

I don't see how he can return to the day job after that...

cYp
    He should be elected for point 8 alone.

i agree with it all, yeah, george, george, george, scr*w FF etc......
    "You have to choose between trusting to the natural stability of gold and the natural stability and intelligence of the members of the government. And with due respect to these gentlemen, I advise you, as long as the capitalist system lasts, to vote for gold."

George Bernard Shaw

It's all me bollix. But I'd guess that unless he's caught downloading child porn he's home and dry anyway.

But this trite padding passing for policy should give us a warning that FG have very little to offer. They could conceivably make things much worse. I mean, what's the stuff about exposing HSE and CIE to competition about? Continuing the FF tradition of giving supporters the opportunity to profit from a State guaranteed monopoly?
    However, banks know they have a duty of care to their clients and I'm sure that this should prevent them lending irresponsibly.

Quote Originally Posted by Schuhart View Post
    It's all me bollix. But I'd guess that unless he's caught downloading child porn he's home and dry anyway.

But this trite padding passing for policy should give us a warning that FG have very little to offer. They could conceivably make things much worse. I mean, what's the stuff about exposing HSE and CIE to competition about? Continuing the FF tradition of giving supporters the opportunity to profit from a State guaranteed monopoly?
    Because the HSE and the CIE do such a good job as it is with the state guaranteed MONOPOLY?
    "You have to choose between trusting to the natural stability of gold and the natural stability and intelligence of the members of the government. And with due respect to these gentlemen, I advise you, as long as the capitalist system lasts, to vote for gold."

George Bernard Shaw

Politics.ie Regular cyberianpan's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Gruffalo View Post
    He should be elected for point 8 alone.
    Mmmmm - at the last General Election I was annoyed that FG were pulling their punches

Now they are hitting hard ...but getting hands on the reigns of power is tough now, it's different business toppling a government ... I think it could be kind of cool if George Lee TD toured the country doing public speaking etc ... roused the crowds etc ... leaving that aside though:

There's background of serious industrial unrest, by some unions who are just plain bolshie ...

FG will have a tough balancing act to try to tap into & funnel public anger ... vs the bolshie loons in the unions

cYp
    "Yawn , am I alive yet ?"

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast