Thread: Exchequer may be running out of willing creditors

Politics.ie Regular ballot stuffer's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by cavok View Post
    I guarantee I could give you a balanced budget
    I would be about as popular as Adolf Hitler
    and you know what I could not care less
    a true patriot would deliver a balanced budget and save this Nation

Would you back my Militia? No, you're Irish, put the kettle on and whine
    As horrible as it sounds I think we would need a totalitarian state to push through the reforms that are needed.

We had a chance if could raise the money in the bond market. It seemed like we could but now I think my ealier prediction of another mini budget after June will come to pass.

Hold on tight guys its going to be a bumpy ride
    The problem with socialism is that eventually you run out of other people's money.

Quote Originally Posted by ballot stuffer View Post
    As horrible as it sounds I think we would need a totalitarian state to push through the reforms that are needed.
    Is it not a characteristic of a totalitarian state to rob the public at the point of a law in order to bail out the government's banker friends who have lost their chips in the government sanctioned property casino.

Quote Originally Posted by droghedasouth View Post
    The fecking about over Ministers pensions and long service increments to TDs, though minor in the greater scheme of things, show that this regime is unable to govern.

After all, if they can't sort out 166 TDs and 60 Senators, how the fkcu will they sort out a public service with about 300,0000 employees.

Its no wonder everyone from teachers to nurses, guards and consultants walks all over them.
    I couldnt agree more with, these boots were made for walking and one of these days these boots are going walk all over you..
    Thats exactly what is happening...
    There is no money left, warrants are up on small business's, and they just cant pay, genuinely, large companies that have gone under owe a fortune, so where are they going to go now for money
    Rates cant be paid.
    Its out of control totally

We had a chance if could raise the money in the bond market. It seemed like we could but now I think my ealier prediction of another mini budget after June will come to pass.

Were you not one of those who disagreed with me when I told you what was happening months ago

Politics.ie Regular ballot stuffer's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by youngdan View Post
    Were you not one of those who disagreed with me when I told you what was happening months ago
    Yes indeed it was. I will gladly eat my words now.
    The problem with socialism is that eventually you run out of other people's money.

Budgets raise taxes. Surely what we need is massive spending cuts in the big 3, public pay, social welfare and health. Health has started with only 2,000 job cuts.

1.How can this wait until June?
    2. How can Fine Gael still oppose spending cuts - which richard bruton's cllr does?
    3. Is the government simply waiting for the EU, ECB or IMF to tell it what it needs to do?
    4. Are the gardai and army ready?
    If the banks are out for a bail,
    and Lenny's efforts end up as a fail,
    when the Somer does come,
    to the Country they'll run,
    And leave a Fine mess for the Gael.

Endinf the one Party (FF) state:

Quote Originally Posted by Question R24U View Post
    Budgets raise taxes. Surely what we need is massive spending cuts in the big 3, public pay, social welfare and health. Health has started with only 2,000 job cuts.

1.How can this wait until June?
    2. How can Fine Gael still oppose spending cuts - which richard bruton's cllr does?
    3. Is the government simply waiting for the EU, ECB or IMF to tell it what it needs to do?
    4. Are the gardai and army ready?
    Boyles are offering 7/1 about another budget in 2009. Good odds if you fancy it.
    Horse Racing and Football Betting from Boylesports.com Novelty Bets - Irish Political Specials - Irish Politics - Will There Be Another Emergency Budget In 2009?

Do not Ballot, what we are seeing is a once in a multilifetime event and it is impossible to say what will happen. What is known is that it will not be business as usual.

We do not know if events are guided by forces behind the scene or if everyone is making it up as they go along. We know that those in power will do everything they can to favour certain people they owe favours to at the least, or outright control them at the most.

FF people have convinced themselves that Cowen is worried about them and FG people think Kenny is worried about them. That is what I would call self-hynoysis.

Cowen did not address this issue in early 2008 because to do so might affect his chance of the big job. Then he hid the problem coming up to Lisbon 1. Cowen is worried about Cowen.

Kenny knows that the fortunes of FG would dramatically improve if he stepped aside and put Brutin in charge. FG would then ask for a majority on their own and get it. Instead he would rather a halfassed coalition not agreeing with each other as long as he is Taoiseach. Kenny is only worried about himself.

So Ireland is in a pickle

Politics.ie Regular powderfinger's Avatar

Step 1. We admitted we were powerless over piggery

Quote Originally Posted by He3 View Post
    Is it not a characteristic of a totalitarian state to rob the public at the point of a law in order to bail out the government's banker friends who have lost their chips in the government sanctioned property casino.
    Very well put He 3.
    This is Ireland.
    Hijacked and plundered by a singular type of Patrick.
    FFS.The type of fools who swoon at the crooning of some warbling bogman going ad lip in the 4 seasons.
    Dripping debt feeders.....BOOM.
    Supine political infrastructure.....BOOM
    Avaricious ,craven corporates and professionals......?
    Suckered....Bust.
    Those who can will have a reverse mugging.Their debts hammered onto your heads.Left squabbling over a few crumbs.
    What ruse will Paddy Narcissus conjure up next?
    Could we get the privatisation of Social Welfare going forward?
    The 11 steps is the path to recovery offered by Narcissus Anonymous.

jpc

Quote Originally Posted by kerrynorth View Post
    It is really amazing that this is just getting no coverage. What happened today and what they proposing Thursday is the clearest indication yet that the government may not be able to pay public sector wages, social welfare and pensions in the coming months. And this gets no coverage whatsoever!!
    Look at our national (FF) broadcaster for the answer for that.
    Could people handle the implications of this snippet?
    Do the "social partners" get it?
    Its only a chat, we ain't the world council.
    In 2000 the Women's Institute in Britain gave Tony Blair the slow hand clap to demonstrate their contempt.
    [COLOR="Red"]It was dignified, restrained and effective.[/COLOR]Doesn't Bertie deserve the same scorn. No shouting, no abuse, no agression just a relentless slow clap whenever he speaks in public would be enough to end that man's presidential fantasy.
    -3.75,-3.23

Page 6 of 14 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast