Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: Another public sector reform thread: the negative impact on private sector

Quote Originally Posted by Question R24U View Post
    Are you "purge the public sector promoters" only interested in saving taxpayer costs and do not look beyond to that to see if there are any problems caused by public sector to the private sector?

Is there anyone in the real economy, who can point to negative impacts caused by a) mis-mangaement b) union blockages c) over-regulation and licencing d) barriers to entry e) employment, health and safety laws, that could be solved without causing a public sector strike?
    Public sector pay, pension and staff numbers has been the sole focus of the media and an utter obsession of many posters on this site when the phrase public sector reform in mentione. This can hardly be the most damagin impact of the public service on the private sector. I would rather public sector unions focused on delivery of better and less intrusive service. I have heard from those who i know who operate a small business that equality, employment, tax, social welfare, health and safety, companies office, environmental, public procurement and coming soon parking levy are burying them under a sea of paper. Yet the professional representative bodies do not seem to be kicking up a fuss about it. Why is this?

Quote Originally Posted by Question R24U View Post
    I would rather public sector unions focused on delivery of better and less intrusive service. I have heard from those who i know who operate a small business that equality, employment, tax, social welfare, health and safety, companies office, environmental, public procurement and coming soon parking levy are burying them under a sea of paper. Yet the professional representative bodies do not seem to be kicking up a fuss about it. Why is this?
    They aren't getting paid to.
    Do you think the management of the public sector should be literally handed over to the unions?
    Nothing will motivate the lazy / apathetic / Americanised / west-British types to embrace their culture and the Irish language.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor View Post
    They aren't getting paid to.
    Do you think the management of the public sector should be literally handed over to the unions?
    I mean in the context of the impending social partnership 'talks'. If they could present a planB, it should be considered in preference to embargo, pay cuts and redundancy. ( if i recall correctly the health unions did so)

Hi all just in this morning of the strike and my blood is boiling. Going through Dublin city center at 9:30 on the late shift and there was no more than 30 people on pickets all laughing and joking. What a complete shower of c.unts..... I have been on many blogs and listened to numerous debates about the issue and the one thing that strikes through is the lack of reality for people in the public service. If any one from the public service can debate the following maturely and come up with a good argument then I for one will be out on the pickets with them...But I dont think they have a leg to stand on

1. Public service pay in all areas are higher than the likes of the UK, States, France, Germany.

2. Public service pay in all areas are higher than the there counterparts in the private sector and before I get the you cannot compare like with like, well thats exactly how you guys got benchmarked.

3. Benchmarking - should be used here by the Gov and then there can be no complaints from the Public sector.

4. The Gov is borrowing 1/3 of it public spend to pay you and we are not getting the money in to cover.

5. What are the alternatives.
    5a - Tax the rich - This will not work as they are already paying a sh.it load as it is. It has been proven that the top 10% earners pay 50% of tax in this country if we keep squeezing they will go to tax havens as is what happened in the 80s
    5b- cut the dole - I think that this is a joke what public sector are saying this. They dont appreciate that people on the dole are in danger .... I really feel for anyone who has lost there job in the last 2 years and cannot get gainful employment...But there should be a reform in dole. As if your out of work you should be getting your full wage for amount of money you paid on your PRSI and then after you have used what you paid in then 200...Then if you on the dole for over a year cut it to 100 and half it every year after that.
    5c - Tax everyone - So instead you guys taking a cut we all pay more to pay your wages...If this happens there is going to be a sh1t fit trust me I dont think the public service realise how bad the feeling is out there for them.
    5d- Cut allowences - Children allowence, rent etc. Yeah I think there may be a little cut in all same with the dole I think anyone who is on the scratch over 2 years should be halfed immediately.

6. The we didnt create this it was the builders banks etc...Well for everyone of these institutions that got a sh1t load of cash and wasted it there was a public servant who allowed it and was supposed to be the watch dog...GREAT JOB GUYS

7. The amount of waist in the Public service. I mean where to begin on this ...Its a flush with waste and there has been numerous reports in the paper FAS, gov limos, junkets, People getting 1.4 mill for sick

but
    I have seen guards playing GAA whilst on duty...
    I have been to A&E and waiting 3 days to be seen to and being forgotton about
    I have been on hold to various Public sector depts ie motor tax, VRT, Income tax for hours
    School teachers *************************ing that they dont get there 3 days of leave for weddings..You fecks get about 5 months a year off...

I could go on and on and on... here

7. Question for Public Servants - Why has the gov lost so much in tax. Ans - no more stamp and also down billions on income tax - we are down due to redundancies and wage cuts in the private sector. So for all of the public servants out there with a chip on there shoulder remember we have taken our pain..Time for you guys to take your medicine aswell.

8. Pension Levy. - not a wage cut. but a contribution to a defined benefit - A big difference. Another question - Why should I be paying your fecking pension.

9. Why have you gone out on strike even before the cuts have been announced.

Well thats the end of my rant but I think people in the public sector need to have a long hard look at themselves in the mirror and I for one I think that the majority are doing a good job but there is a lot waste and you are over paid and the unfortunate truth is we can no longer afford you.

Also for the civil/public servant who says they all have degrees...So have a lot of the people in the private sector and we have taken cuts...

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345