Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 25% of all construction workers to lose their jobs.

25% of all construction workers to lose their jobs.

Its just getting worse, 1 year after the election in which we were told the construction was fine, now we get a shocking report which says that 25% will lose their jobs. This is a disaster for the economy. Will there now be tax rises to pay for social welfare?

http://www.independent.ie/national-n...s-1396164.html

Re: 25% of all construction workers to lose their jobs.

"It's d'isle boy, nobody could have foreseen it, de price of d'isle banjaxed everything"

Intelligent people saw this coming, if only the blueshirts had the balls to tell the truth during the election. So, where do we go from here? I the governemtn dont come up with a proper plan very very soon then i think its going to get very very messy. FF come up with a plan? Wow, I've made myself laugh...lol

Quote Originally Posted by digoutday
    Its just getting worse, 1 year after the election in which we were told the construction was fine, now we get a shocking report which says that 25% will lose their jobs. This is a disaster for the economy. Will there now be tax rises to pay for social welfare?

http://www.independent.ie/national-n...s-1396164.html
    I can't speak for anybody else other than in the c. Northwest region but we've seen a marked slowdown in the past year. 25%, as reported, is pretty meaningless to be honest. There are people working but at reduced income levels and on a more sporadic basis. Like all stories and stats presented to the public by the media, they are not very revealing nor do they begin to tell a realistic story. It is not all doom and gloom. The once off housing market is still fairly solid and there has been a rash of farm shed building in our area. Plus builders have a tendency to be able to do other types of work within related areas. Also, I think you'll find that alot of workers silently moved onto other countries without much fuss at all. I remeber the property crash of 89-90-91 in England when it seemed everyone was laid off at the one time - right after Christmas in fact. That is not happening in our area. I suspect that 25% of workers have already left home building construction but that it has been an orderly retreat as builders assess the long term sentiment of buyers. Prabably be more people leaving the Irish industry until home prices stabilise but it's not the end of the world - just the end of a price inflationary bubble. Happened before and will happen again.
    A society of sheep must in time beget a government of wolves. (B. de Jouvenel)

I still reckon they are being conservative. I bet that construction employment will 100k less than it's peak by the end of 09. There will be only be circa 25-30k houses built next year compared to 93k in 06. Commercial development is collapsing in credit crunch and capital spending will be cut by government as the finances worsen.

• 1.) Rising Unemployment
      2.) Drastic cuts in Public Spending
      3.) Privitization

Starting to sound very Naomi Klein (Shock Doctrine's 3 main indicators) all of a sudden
    "The Goddess Fortune is the devil's servant, ready to kiss any one's ass."

Quote Originally Posted by kerrynorth
    I still reckon they are being conservative. I bet that construction employment will 100k less than it's peak by the end of 09. There will be only be circa 25-30k houses built next year compared to 93k in 06. Commercial development is collapsing in credit crunch and capital spending will be cut by government as the finances worsen.
    I forgot that - there was a lot of talk once upon a time that the infrasructure requirements would take up some of the slack from a slowing property sector.
    Looks like we wont have that either.
    Thank God my Mammy made me go to college.

The lack of any sort of foward planning by FF is just frightening. The blueshirts+ Labour have questions to answer for not putting this on the agenda last year when people with their ear to the ground knew that was happening.

Why is there never a plan here to deal with anything?

Rokcyracoon, indeed you are very correct in what your saying about builders have switched to shed building for farmers.
    My own brother is a builder and all his work now is building slatted houses. why that is, there is a 60% grant for farmers to build these sheds. There are more farmers putting up these new sheds, and they dont even need them. But this work is all ending in Novemember. thats when the grant money is finishing. Even my own brother says that he doesnt know what he will do in November. The planner i have working on my own gaff, has the same story, he is mostly planning farmer sheds. again he is unsure what he will do come November.
    To add, there is a bus of 30 lads from by own village that go to scotland every week to build. thats where the work is now. its tough on these lads with all the travelling but it has to be done.
    It had to stop sometime, there is simply not the population to keep the house demand going. Im my local town, i know of 4 housing estates with the houses completed and unsold. these estates dont even have a forsale sign up. the gate is just closed. This town has 6000k people, and employment opertunity is bad.
    above all it was just bad town planning by the government, you wouldnt see this in Germany, in this country they build big estates that have no decent infrasture supply them and no work around for the people that is going to live in them. This is arse-ways planning.

Quote Originally Posted by Oriel27
    Rokcyracoon, indeed you are very correct in what your saying about builders have switched to shed building for farmers.
    My own brother is a builder and all his work now is building slatted houses. why that is, there is a 60% grant for farmers to build these sheds. There are more farmers putting up these new sheds, and they dont even need them. But this work is all ending in Novemember. thats when the grant money is finishing. Even my own brother says that he doesnt know what he will do in November. The planner i have working on my own gaff, has the same story, he is mostly planning farmer sheds. again he is unsure what he will do come November.
    To add, there is a bus of 30 lads from by own village that go to scotland every week to build. thats where the work is now. its tough on these lads with all the travelling but it has to be done.
    It had to stop sometime, there is simply not the population to keep the house demand going. Im my local town, i know of 4 housing estates with the houses completed and unsold. these estates dont even have a forsale sign up. the gate is just closed. This town has 6000k people, and employment opertunity is bad.
    above all it was just bad town planning by the government, you wouldnt see this in Germany, in this country they build big estates that have no decent infrasture supply them and no work around for the people that is going to live in them. This is arse-ways planning.
    I hear yee Oriel. I just didn't know all the details about the shed building. Worked on one that was two stories high. The fella is putting 4 maybe 5 horses in it. It has room for a nice sized herd and the second story space is just wastage as they haven't put a floor level on it.

Now aboot this bus. Where does it leave from and what kind of work are they doing? Really, I want to know!
    A society of sheep must in time beget a government of wolves. (B. de Jouvenel)

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast