Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: IMF/ECB response to Ireland's deficit?

Quote Originally Posted by truthflyer View Post
    Next relevant question is, how long will it be before Ireland and the other PIGS nations are given a carrot/incentive to leave the Euro???
    Already some talk there.

A top German economist has said that the EU’s austerity measures for Greece cannot work and will run the risk of civil war in the debt-laden country.

Hans-Werner Sinn, head of the prestigious IFO Institute in Munich, made his comments at the European House Ambrosetti forum at Lake Como and called on Greece to remove itself from the Eurozone.
    Greece risks civil war if it does not leave Eurozone, German economist warns
    "What all the wise men promised has not happened and what all the damned fools said would happen has come to pass". Lord Melborne, on Catholic emancipation in Ireland

Next relevant question is, how long will it be before Ireland and the other PIGS nations are given a carrot/incentive to leave the Euro???
    There's no chance of that. The big banks in France and Germany are too far in.
    "Elite - a small superior group; esp one that has a power out of proportion to its size." (Oxford English Dictionary)

The majority cannot therefore be the elite.

Quote Originally Posted by hiding behind a poster View Post
    There's no chance of that. The big banks in France and Germany are too far in.
    Well in that case it will make matters worse for Ireland, as we need to escape the nightmare that the Euro is to Ireland if we are to become more competitive in the medium to long term
    Fianna Fáilure and the Irish Catholic Church are traitors

Quote Originally Posted by Ulster-Lad View Post
    I don’t think there is much chance of revolution here. But I do believe the longer we remain in the Euro the more damage it will do to our competitiveness
    Fianna Fáilure and the Irish Catholic Church are traitors

Politics.ie Regular Cassandra Syndrome's Avatar

All other things being equal the next couple of hurdles for DoF are the extension of the guarantee scheme and the funding of AIB come December. They may have to dig into the NPRF to cover that.
    "No one rules if no one obeys" - Tao

Well in that case it will make matters worse for Ireland, as we need to escape the nightmare that the Euro is to Ireland if we are to become more competitive in the medium to long term
    Being part of the euro, even with its inappropriate interest rates, would not have done us so much harm if we weren't a corrupt tinpot cesspit of a third-world backwater with a ruling corrupt junta obsessed with making money from land and property, and who believe the wealth of the nation actually belongs in the back pockets of their grunting pigmen supporters and cronies.

If we didn't have a nod-and-wink backscratching corrupt society, if we didn't venerate the chancer, the schemer, and the cute hoor. If we didn't believe that the "cunning" stroke scam to make free money was far more worthy of respect than the long road of hard work leading to sustainable wealth.

If we had policians who weren't vermin. If we had senior civil servants who were remotely competent. If we didn't have an economy riddled with scams and rigged markets and cartels and State subsidies for the connected on the inside track.

If we had sane and rational attitudes to commerce and money so we appreciated the sense of counter-cyclical fiscal policies, not a nation of inbred bogmen cheering on as Champagne Charlie McCreevy inarticulately splashed the cash like a drunken sailor on shore leave. "If I has it I'll spend it begorrah" "Gwan Charlie ya gas man ye!". If we didn't have this insane upside-down Belief in "High Prices Good".

If there was the remotest sense of civic society and commonality in the society of the Republic, not just a mass of me-feiner shyster gobsheens all out to screw everybody around them for what they can get, and the divil take the hindmost. All enthusiastically cheered on by a national media that has elevated vicious crass sneering to the new national religion.

It's not the euro we should be blaming, it's out infantile ridiculous and psychologically disturbed (and disturbing!) excuse for a culture.

And until we fix that then leaving the Euro (and I'm anti-EU on principle) will accomplish nothing, because we'll keep on electing the same inbred freaks to whisper sweet nothings in our ears as they steal our wallets, again and again. And we'll love them for it, as the country gets poorer and poorer and our excuse for a society more and more corrupt, debased and vicious.

Politics.ie Regular west'sawake's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by SideysGhost View Post
    Eh yeah and pushing out the reaching of 3% to 2020 means our useless politicians will borrow another €40bn or so in unnecessary additional debt that your children will still be repaying in 30 years time.

We're living in a fanstasy world yeah, but the problem is that most of the people who disagree with the current fantastical lunacy of St Lendahand are also mad bug-eyed worshippers of the Magic Money Tree.

Only a tiny tiny minority in Ireland are anywhere close to reality, as these various sects of a bizarre and discredited Belief squabble amongst themselves for dominance, and all the while the country accelerates towards the cliff.
    Interesting observation, but could you clarify what exactly you mean, is it an allusion to the alliance who opposed the Lisbon Treaty, that still got nearly a third of the vote, but are divided, some on the left: anti war, people's Alliance, the Shinners, some on the right: Libertarians, Libertas, some for religious reasons, etc.

No we wouldn't become more competitive if we left the Euro.
    "Elite - a small superior group; esp one that has a power out of proportion to its size." (Oxford English Dictionary)

The majority cannot therefore be the elite.

Irish Govt Bond advisors Societe Generale have announced that Ireland will benefit from a 'limited default' and should do it.

http://www.tribune.ie/business/article/2010/sep/05/irish-bank-default-on-some-debt-could-make-sense-s/

Holy batsh!t Batman!!!
    "A govt big enough to give you everything you want, is strong enough to take everything you have" Thomas Jefferson

Quote Originally Posted by west'sawake View Post
    Interesting observation, but could you clarify what exactly you mean, is it an allusion to the alliance who opposed the Lisbon Treaty, that still got nearly a third of the vote, but are divided, some on the left: anti war, people's Alliance, the Shinners, some on the right: Libertarians, Libertas, some for religious reasons, etc.
    Hello? Am I talking to myself here? WTF is wrong with you all? It's like yer all pre-programmed to automatically launch into irrelevancies, and if you can somehow drag feckin Shinners into it then that's even better!

Nation of lunatics.

Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast