Page 3 of 20 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Note to Labour - No I won't pay for your claptrap.

Quote Originally Posted by JCR View Post
    I work in the private sector. I employ people. I read every now and again about the Labour party and their sucking up to the public service unions in real Bertie style. I have no problem ploughing my taxes back into the country for everyones shared benefit. But. I have heard enough anecdotal evidence this summer of public servants holidays in the south of France or wherever to be rightly pissed off. I don't pay taxes to fund public servants jaunts to villas in the south of France in this time of "austerity". I don't mean the 'fat cats' I mean everyday public servants who claim to be really suffering because of a few cuts. I do not support the Croke Park deal and I will not pay for it. I find it disgusting that everyday public servants think they are entitled to thr same flights of fancy that Gilmore so readily attacks when it is FF politicians who enjoy a great old time at the expense of a broke country. Warning to Labour - I don't need to base my business here at all and I won't pay for FAS, Ivor Callely or the public service's expensive foreign holidays, no bloody way, not when my taxes should be going to regenerating the country. So Labour when you are going after the 'rich guys' remember what people who drive the economy are willing to pay for and what they are not and we are for the most part very able to move our business elsewhere.
    JCR? Are you sure its not just JR?
    I know I should not bite and this is just a big ol' troll but I kind of have too.

Do you think that somehow we live in a separate bubble land in the public sector. A land with its own Public Sector shops and Public Sector car dealers and Public Sector travel agents? Our pay gets cut and you expect no knock on effects in the private sector? EU boss has used Ireland as an example of how to take severe austerity measures. We have taken our medicine on this one. Maybe a tax on bitter private sector bosses with delusions of granduer would be nice.
    You take anecdotal evidence from a shock jock journalist and assume its fact. Please feel free to leave if you dont like the place and dont let the door hit you in the arse on the way out.

Quote Originally Posted by gijoe View Post
    No chip on my shoulder. Just making an observation, and I spent a number of years as a lecturer so I know the payscales. Primary teachers unpromoted with the full range of allowances but working virtually part-time with a 1.30pm finish for about 2/3rds of the year can earn up to €60k at the top of scale. In excess a grand a week for what really is part-time work.
    Wait are you telling me highly educated people with over 20 years experience in their own field are being paid well? DEAR LORD THIS IS AN OUTRAGE!We should immediatly do something about this. How dare they work hard educating our children? Have you ever looked after one 4 year old? Imagine 30 of them! Like herding cats! They aint paid enough.

maybe JCR and GIJOE could redirect their rage to here
    http://www.politics.ie/current-affai...id-no-tax.html

Quote Originally Posted by Conor View Post
    tl;dr?
    If Labour enter government, he'll move his business out of the country unless they cut the salaries of public servants to such an extent that none of them can afford a holiday in the south of France. Or wherever.
    Thank you for elucidating conor.But even hacking 20pc off their pay wont save much,when lost taxes and spending come into the equation.Besides teachers,nurses,dentists,guards etc can and do emigrate also.

As Alan Ahearne ( no relation) the govts economic advisor said :

'It is probably not a coincidence that some of the most vocal critics of the public sector today were among the most conspicuous cheerleaders for the housing boom.'

I'm not suggesting the OP was one of that ilk,mind.

I was in the supermarket this morning and I saw some public servants buying food with their own money.
    Why aren't they out begging, or in a soup kitchen or something?

Quote Originally Posted by firefly123 View Post
    ....dont let the door hit you in the arse on the way out.

+1, but only after we've imposed a massive departure tax on eejits with big egos.
    “A healthy social life is found only, when in the mirror of each soul the whole community finds its reflection, and when in the whole community the virtue of each one is living”

Quote Originally Posted by firefly123 View Post
    Wait are you telling me highly educated people with over 20 years experience in their own field are being paid well? DEAR LORD THIS IS AN OUTRAGE!We should immediatly do something about this. How dare they work hard educating our children? Have you ever looked after one 4 year old? Imagine 30 of them! Like herding cats! They aint paid enough.
    Maybe I should break it down for you into smaller bites so that you can understand better:

Working 2/3rds of the year;
    Finish at 1.30pm;
    Up to €60k/annum;
    About 1.67 times the average industrial wage;
    Unpromoted;
    No further education required beyond Primary Degree at entry level;
    With up to 50% pension and 150% gratuity on retirement;

Was that any better?

Quote Originally Posted by fool View Post
    I was in the supermarket this morning and I saw some public servants buying food with their own money.
    Why aren't they out begging, or in a soup kitchen or something?
    I'm on the dole since March 09.But I'm going to get a pair of shoes next week - something else won't get paid that's all.I refuse to get them in a charity shop,I'm such a rebel! But I always had this weird thing about not going barefoot in the winter.

"Public Sector Workers Take Holidays Shock".

The greedy selfish bastards.

Or a non-story.

Quote Originally Posted by gijoe View Post
    Maybe I should break it down for you into smaller bites so that you can understand better:

Working 2/3rds of the year;
    Finish at 1.30pm;
    Up to €60k/annum;
    About 1.67 times the average industrial wage;
    Unpromoted;
    No further education required beyond Primary Degree at entry level;
    With up to 50% pension and 150% gratuity on retirement;

Was that any better?
    Did you not get in to St Patricks in the CAO this year then? Gonna have to repeat so!
    1.67 times the average wage because they are not average! They are college educated teachers of the most important resource we have. If you think their conditions are good then feel free to apply. Its hard to get a place. In the private sector this would be held up as an example of how the market works. For some reason the same rules dont apply for the public sector?

Page 3 of 20 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast