Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Just How Corrupt Is Ireland?

Probably need to distinguish between corruption and fraud. What went on in some of the banks and businesses whereby they misstated their accounts or got involved in share support schemes was fraud.

Corruption to me is having to line someone's pocket to get things done (haven't seen this in my life), handing out lucrative contracts to chronies (yes it does happen), giving a backhander to get business (I'm sure it happens but it's not endemic from my experience), and in the area of planning a few brown envelopes to get your rezoning (and we know this happened on a grand scale).

But Ireland is not unique in this. If we cared we would find out how bad Brussels is but even though we are part of the EU you rarely see any media reports on it.

Are we worse - perhaps in planning but the rest probably not

Quote Originally Posted by odie1kanobe View Post
    Wow constantly bringing up DAA when called to PROVE IT by DC you ran with tail between legs.

IF you have anything regarding corruption in DAA then PUT UP but as you have hearsay, poorly written newspaper articles and nothing else then its safe to say you are a Waffler trying to score political points.

DAA is inept that doesn't make it corrupt.

Funny how you willyfully ignore the fact that FG councillors and other have been caught with hands in the cookie jar but then again thats not a shock.

Have never been requested by DC to prove anything about the DAA, time will tell the story on Donie and the DAA, quite prepared to wait for the full truth to out, in the meantime you continue to amuse us as your like play out extra time, keep going you will be a long time gone.

You all make good points and I just can't decide who to support.

How much is it worth?

Quote Originally Posted by dónal na geallaí View Post
    You all make good points and I just can't decide who to support.

How much is it worth?
    2 Pints and a hang sambo!

Quote Originally Posted by stanley View Post
    Have never been requested by DC to prove anything about the DAA, time will tell the story on Donie and the DAA, quite prepared to wait for the full truth to out, in the meantime you continue to amuse us as your like play out extra time, keep going you will be a long time gone.
    You were called on you explain your allegations by DC on Donie Cassidy, attempting to claim never asked about DAA is blowing smoke out.

Given the alledged Electoral fraud by FG councillor and claiming Expenses for 2 conferences by FG councillor and the issues with former FG Mayor in Longford maybe I need to revise my view on corruption.

"But Seamus did it too/first" usually comes along shortly after "big boys did it and ran away" when a small child has been caught red-handed Odie.

You FFers, ridiculous people altogether, it really is just like watching a child trying to be clever and sly to outwit the adults.

Mental age of 4, the lot of ye. Would youse ever take your degenerate filthy genes and get off our island FFS.

How is any of those alleged incidents corruption? Fraud, for sure, but hardly corruption. Councillor Devitt's tax dodging isn't corruption either.

You were called on you explain your allegations by DC on Donie Cassidy, attempting to claim never asked about DAA is blowing smoke out.

You are perhaps confusing myself with another poster, no longer with us, with whom you fenced quite regularly, am sure if you check with DC he will enlighten you or at least try, thickness is a much prized virtue in your ranks.

I think the quality and standard of those we put in charge is a reflection of how corrupt this nation is.

As an orchestra takes its lead from its conductor, so does a nation from its leaders.
    Suffice to say I reckon this nation has being playing off key for the last 30yrs.
    "WAKE UP! THE RICH ARE RAPING YOU!"

Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast