of course they need votes.
the professional politician will do anything to get the vote and keep it , coffin chasing , pretending to grieve at auntie lou's funeral etc etc etc - that type of thing.
a man like GL wouldnt be into that kind of thing.
he would be looking to get votes on "lets try and put forward some ideas to fix the economy".
obviously this is impossible in FG unless you are prepare to GoGombeen for a few years.
GL unwilling to do this , and saw it as a waste of time - he decided to honor his voters by telling the truth and quitting.
easier thing to do was goGombeen and spout shlt until he qualifies for the pension and the perks.
A vote is a vote is a vote. In the count centres they don't say 'That No.1 was because of his stance on NAMA and that one was because he went to a funeral and this one is from someone who wants to shag him.
Lee was just a journalist before he ran for the Dail. Apart from the familiarity gleaned from being on the telly every night what reason had anyone to vote for him?
It's easy to be all smug and superior about TDs who attend funerals but at least they involve themselves in their communities and listen to their constituents. Give me one of them ahead of a pretty-boy, prima Donna, spoofer who runs away when he can't hack it.
Yes I know you cant say for sure why people voted for anyone.
However in georges case he did put himself forward on the "help with the economy" ticket.
I thought everyone knew that?
The point about funerals is that its not really involvement - its going because if you dont - the other fella who did will get the jump on you.
Thats the system we have - thats why the Dail is populated by teachers/publicans/culchie lawyers and professional coffin chasers.
Again with the "hack it" - I agree he couldnt hack being part of a charade - He said as much himself!
You seem to suggest it was too much work or too strenuous for him - IMO it was the opposite - bored shltless being a hostess at commitees.
Its in the interest of all TDs from ALL parties to perpetuate the myth of "its hard work , george maybe underestimated how difficult it is".
but its a myth.
if you are prepared to swallow your pride , suck it up , bend over and participate in the same panto time and time again then you will get some where in irish politics.
george wasnt prepared to be played like a gombeen and left.
fair play george fair play.
its a one in 40 year occurance where someone resigns on a point of principal.
George Lee wasn't up to the task.... After only eight months in the Dáil, less if you take the summer recess and Christmas Recess into account he has quit. He is like the guy at the bar who knows everything about whats wrong with the country and has all the answers to put it right..... There be no new party for George, he's going back to his cosy semi state job at RTE where he can make more money at the taxpayers expense and complain about the Government. So farewell George "The Cry Baby" Lee and good riddance....
If RTE managed to survive for the last 8/9 months without George Lee, then why should they have to now increase their running costs by €150,000 p.a. just to hire George again?
This doesn't make any sense?