Page 2 of 22 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Like Tree69Likes

Thread: New Years Eve Dublin

Less to do with the "elites"- more to do with bad parenting

Quote Originally Posted by SideysGhost View Post
    I never even realised the lurking sense of menace and tension and fear on any night out in Ireland was there at all until I left, and suddenly it was gone. On any night out in Ireland when on the street, part of your subconscious is constantly on a state of high alert, scanning the vicinity for violent scumbags. You just never know when something is going to kick off. And it usually does. Here, I just don't have that sense of menace, that wariness, that expectation that some skanger will be flinging bottles about the place any second now.

Ireland is a pretty messed up place really. The dysfunctional abusive elitist society leads to vast amounts of underlying frustration and tension. But rather than lashing out at our "betters" and directing that anger and frustration onto changing the system, we are all brainwashed by the whisperings of "don't rock the boat, keep the head down, don't be making a show of yourself, don't be shaming the family" blah blah blah into just getting pissed and beating one another up instead.

Well, that's Dr Sidey's diagnosis anyway!

Do town and country dwellers have radically different prospects?

Well way too often the law is on the side of the offender as opposed to the victim. On another thread some posters were looking for ways to sue a taxi driver who had been ripped off by a crowd of party goers,they did a runner on him but some felt the camera violated the rights of the young people. With this type of jaw dropping attitude,the safe, homely Irelan we once knew will be firmly rooted in the past unfortunately.

Sorry to hear of your incident. The sense of helplessness is pretty annoying but it could have been a lot worse. Happy new year.

I never even realised the lurking sense of menace and tension and fear on any night out in Ireland was there at all until I left, and suddenly it was gone. On any night out in Ireland when on the street, part of your subconscious is constantly on a state of high alert, scanning the vicinity for violent scumbags. You just never know when something is going to kick off. And it usually does. Here, I just don't have that sense of menace, that wariness, that expectation that some skanger will be flinging bottles about the place any second now.

Ireland is a pretty messed up place really. The dysfunctional abusive elitist society leads to vast amounts of underlying frustration and tension. But rather than lashing out at our "betters" and directing that anger and frustration onto changing the system, we are all brainwashed by the whisperings of "don't rock the boat, keep the head down, don't be making a show of yourself, don't be shaming the family" blah blah blah into just getting pissed and beating one another up instead.

Well, that's Dr Sidey's diagnosis anyway!

You are right. I am always waiting for someone to make a smart remark or do something silly when I am out for the night. Simply because it has happened so often in the past and when I was in school. My brother came home for a week after being away for ten years, and his first night out on the town he got into hassle with some guys he knew from school. He left school twenty years ago FFS !. A mate from Co Clare was in his local after being away for a good few years. This guy that he had hassle with years earlier came upto him and basically told him not to be worrying, the only reason being, this guy now had a heart condition. Other than that it would have been business as usual trying to start a fight with him outside or when he went to the jacks.

I agree with this. In fact, I didn't realize that it wasn't like this everywhere until I came to live in Korea. Here, that sense of menace just isn't present.

I suppose it stems from people feeling disconnected with society. In Korea, there is a premium on the common good. At home, unfortunately that isn't the case. What is more, there is no real will to tackle the problem (or even acknowledge it).

Grow a pair of balls.

Stop being so feckin innocent. You would swear that this kind of incident only happens in Dublin.

You want to believe that Dublin is the epicentre of anti-social behaviour.

Open your eyes. You are acting like a blind bat.

I have no sympathy for you.

If you let this incident upset your night..............GOOD.

Quote Originally Posted by Glucose
    Grow a pair of balls.

Stop being so feckin innocent. You would swear that this kind of incident only happens in Dublin.

You want to believe that Dublin is the epicentre of anti-social behaviour.

Open your eyes. You are acting like a blind bat.

I have no sympathy for you.

If you let this incident upset your night..............GOOD.
    Oh do shut up

Quote Originally Posted by daveL View Post
    Oh do shut up
    Wimp

Quote Originally Posted by Glucose View Post
    Wimp
    Skanger

Skanger
    ************************er

Quote Originally Posted by Glucose View Post
    ************************er
    Ah. Maybe that's the source of all this gobtard knacker scumbag aggression from you, eh? Knock a quick one out there, if it prevents you from knocking out one of your fellow citizens.

Page 2 of 22 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast