Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: A bit of fun. Dublin Euro Election 2014.

Quote Originally Posted by gijoe View Post
    For the SP to retain their seat Joe will have to put his name on the ballot paper even though he will be making it clear that he will not be taking the seat - that would be a hard sell to the electorate so I reckon a nailed on SF gain at the expense of SP. Labour could be toxic come 2014 and may be in trouble. De Rossa will surely not be running and with every prominent Labour person in the Dail they may be fielding Ivana Bacik - could lose out as well and she has never won a 'real' election despite her many attempts.
    It won't stop a by-election though from occuring if he went down that route which he'll have to win. My guess is that they'll run someone else alongside Murphy in the hope of boosting his/her profile for the Fingal County Council elections.

Quin might sabotage Bacik to get his nephew Oisin on the ticket.

Quote Originally Posted by Stating the Obvious View Post
    I can see the posters now: "Vote for Joe, get some nobody who used to answer the phone in his office"
    "Vote No.1 for Uncle Joe - but get baba Paul"

Quote Originally Posted by gijoe View Post
    For the SP to retain their seat Joe will have to put his name on the ballot paper even though he will be making it clear that he will not be taking the seat - that would be a hard sell to the electorate so I reckon a nailed on SF gain at the expense of SP. Labour could be toxic come 2014 and may be in trouble. De Rossa will surely not be running and with every prominent Labour person in the Dail they may be fielding Ivana Bacik - could lose out as well and she has never won a 'real' election despite her many attempts.
    Would he not have to surrender his Dail seat in order to take an EP Seat if he did win or would he be able to pass it up straight away in order to keep his Dail seat?

SF you'd imagine would take a seat here,along with Labour and FG.I don't think personally the ULA would be interested enough to run Joe Higgins at the expense of the Dail and as already said,him running to win a seat for someone else would be a difficult sell.A David Williams/Shane Ross type could attract some of the nose-holding SF vote and some of the disaffected FG vote so you couldn't discount it.However if someone said in 2008 that three years later FF wouldn't have a seat in Dublin they'd be called mad and you can't predict anything with the volatility of the situation in this country.

So possible candidates are:
    FG: Gay Mitchell, Cait Keane, Naoise O'Nun, John Bailey (for the craic lol)
    Lab: Ivana Bacik, Oisin Quinn
    ULA: Paul Murphy (probably will run him with someone else such as Brian Greene to boost his chances at getting a council seat. They've no hope in holding it.)
    SF: Eoin O'Broin, Ruadhan Mac Aodhain
    FF: That blond one with the fake accent, Daragh O'Brien
    GP: Eamonn Ryan, Roderic O'Gorman

Most likely result: 1FG 1LAB 1SF

May as well do all the rest of the country lol.

Munster without Clare
    FF: Sean Crowley
    FG: Kelly, Tom Sheahan, Pat Burton
    Lab: Phil Prendergast
    SF: Toireasa Ferris
    ULA: Mick Barry (raise his profile)

Most likely result: 1FG 1FF 1SF/LAB

An oddly shaped province:
    FF: Alyward
    FG Mairead McGuinness, Catherine Yore,
    Lab: Nessa Childers, McGinley, John Whelan,
    SF: Kathleen Funchion, John Brady, Thomas Sharkey

Most likely result: Dont know yet.

Connaught-Ulster:
    FF: The Cope Gallagher, Dara Calleary, Anyone know whichever western gombeen
    county councillor they have doesn't who drible when he speaks and doesnt automatically
    rezone land.
    FG: Jim Higgins, Tony Mulcahy
    SF: Cora Harvey, Trevor O Clochartaigh, Matt Carthy
    LAB: Dont have a clue which sacrificial lamb they'll select. It's their weakest area.
    IND: Marian Harkin (Is she still running?)

1FG 1SF 1FF
    Last edited by RepublicanSocialist1798; 26th August 2011 at 10:40 AM.

SF might also consider Martin Kenny for C/U, though I think O'Clochartaigh may be best bet. Harvey would be fine too. Carthy is as well off being on the ground in Cavan Monaghan in my view.
    Ireland East think they will go for a 1 candidate strategy this time, and I would back funchion.
    Munster is Toireasa's if she wants it, but if not, alternative candidates would be Quinlivan O'Leary and Cullinane
    Dublin, very limited choice here in fairnes, I dont think there is anyone beyond the 2 mentioned above for SF. Daithi Doolan would be good but probably too likely to invite controversy. Críona Ó Dálaigh wouldnt be awful. But yeah probably Ó Broin for me.

Quote Originally Posted by RepublicanSocialist1798 View Post
    ...Connaught-Ulster:
    county councillor they have doesn't who drible when he speaks and doesnt automatically
    rezone land.
    LAB: Dont have a clue which sacrificial lamb they'll select. It's their weakest area.

1FG 1SF 1FF
    Is this if Harkin doesn't run? Or can you see her running and losing?
    Would SF really run 4 different candidates in 4 consecutive elections? They should be going after this one but that's not the way to do it.
    I agree FF could cling on in the Wesht.
    If there is a future, it will be Green.

Quote Originally Posted by Stating the Obvious View Post
    ........ and was the first person from her family to finish school......education opened up doors for her.....

And so forth.
    Fair play to her, she deserves credit for that.

May as well do all the rest of the country lol.

Munster without Clare
    FF: Sean Crowley
    FG: Kelly, Tom Sheahan, Pat Burton
    Lab: Phil Prendergast
    SF: Toireasa Ferris
    ULA: Mick Barry (raise his profile)

Most likely result: 1FG 1FF 1SF/LAB
    The boost in Labour's vote in Munster since 2009, and Fine Gael transfers, should secure this marginal seat for Labour. SF haven't advanced as much. It should be Kelly, Crowley, Prendergast.

Crowley will be pee'd off about the Presidency, but a job is a job.

An oddly shaped province:
    FF: Alyward
    FG Mairead McGuinness, Catherine Yore,
    Lab: Nessa Childers, McGinley, John Whelan,
    SF: Kathleen Funchion, John Brady, Thomas Sharkey

Most likely result: Dont know yet.
    McGuinness, Childers, Aylward. If Childers doesn't run, maybe John Whelan. If Aylward doesn't run, Jennifer Murnane O'Connor will run, but Kathleen Funchion (SF) will take the seat. SF have Labour's "Dublin problem" here, where all their best candidates took seats, even the long-shots. I think all the incumbents will run and win.

FG may go for a two-candidate strategy here. Michael W. D'Arcy.

Connaught-Ulster:
    rezone land.

1FG 1SF 1FF
    Harkin is stronger here than you credit and she commands a lot of the votes of all parties. As long as Harkin runs, the others can't win on Western alienation, which hurts FF/SF most of all.

One wonders whether Gallagher will suffer from FF's collapse in Donegal. If Sinn Féin take a seat, with Ó Clochartaigh, it will come at Fianna Fáil's expense. Their other strong candidates were elected to the Dáil, so I don't think they will run for Europe. In contrast, Labour has good candidates who weren't elected to the Dáil, precisely because their support is so low, and they still have no hope of a seat.

Still, I only see one seat for FF/SF here, which is an odd situation explained by the fact that I see the two most likely candidates to win as being Harkin and the Fine Gael man (possibly Higgins, though he may retire). They should give Fidelma Healy Eames another run-out, so she can continue the crusade against computer games from Strasbourg. But she is Fine Gael's Ivana Bacik.

Quote Originally Posted by Blissett View Post
    SF might also consider Martin Kenny for C/U, though I think O'Clochartaigh may be best bet. Harvey would be fine too. Carthy is as well off being on the ground in Cavan Monaghan in my view.
    Ireland East think they will go for a 1 candidate strategy this time, and I would back funchion.
    Munster is Toireasa's if she wants it, but if not, alternative candidates would be Quinlivan O'Leary and Cullinane
    Dublin, very limited choice here in fairnes, I dont think there is anyone beyond the 2 mentioned above for SF. Daithi Doolan would be good but probably too likely to invite controversy. Críona Ó Dálaigh wouldnt be awful. But yeah probably Ó Broin for me.
    It depends on whether Harkin and the Cope are going to retire. Harvey would take most of the Cope's vote in Donegal should that occur. Up there i think a seat will just fall to SF. Labour are non existent and Ganley isn't taking the Eurosceptic vote like last time. I never considered Kenny but either he or O Clochartaigh could do it. Harkin could keep her seat though.
    Quinlivan I've heard wants to stay working locally. Ferris IMO should be arm twisted to run.
    It's strange that that's the case in Dublin, theres really only those two more than likely O'Broin. Not too sure about Ni Dhalaigh and I thought Doolin was working for DublinCitywide now.

Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast