Page 11 of 20 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast

Thread: 2,000 join Dublin bicycle scheme

Quote Originally Posted by H View Post
    Just curious....
    In legal claims mad Ireland....
    Is it compulsory for the bicycle user to wear high-viz jackets and appropriate helmets for safety?
    No, it's just recommended.
    What is the position for the cycle usrs who have an accident?
    They're liable. Decaux are not. You're required to inspect the bike for roadworthiness before setting off and by setting off, you confirm you inspected it and thus are liable for any accident. You're also recommended to get public liability insurance...
    [size=1]

[/size]

Quote Originally Posted by The Caped Cod View Post
    I don't know about the Dublin bikes, but in Lyon and Paris the bikes are fitted with GPS trackers. SO you can steal one if you like but as we see from the photos, they are pretty distinctive looking and also you can be tracked.
    Well, that will make it easy to find the river.
    Or the burning heap of metal and plastic.
    Or the lamppost it's hanging from.
    (Those are the locations that the GPS pointed to in Paris, by the way).
    [size=1]

[/size]

Quote Originally Posted by alonso View Post
    Yes some of the bikes will be stolen. Then they will be replaced. Then stolen again, and replaced
    Yes, that's exactly what happened in Paris.
    Thing is, JC Decaux charged the Parisian council for it.
    So what we have here is a scheme that has a very good core idea, but is so badly implemented that it has been effectively sabotaged. Too much was given to Decaux, for too few stations and bikes, with too constrictive a set of terms and conditions of use, in a city with high levels of petty crime, and we'll wind up paying penalty clauses to Decaux every time one of these bikes ends up in the Liffey.
    That is the objection. Not that bikes are bad - I mean, I cycle to work every day, I like bikes, and I love the idea of the free bike scheme - but they've done it so badly here that they've sabotaged it before it even began.
    [size=1]

[/size]

Quote Originally Posted by alonso View Post
    You in Dublin? Dublin Bus drivers are grand. Taxi drivers are a fcking nightmare
    True, but the actual statistics show that by far the worst risk for a cyclist is a truck turning left.
    75% of all cyclist deaths are caused by HGVs turning left at junctions.
    [size=1]

[/size]

heh dennehy- I'm sure if you typed that link into a search on P.ie you would find a thread I started....

btw JCD are paying for the maintenance not the Council AFAIK
    We need to radically change every system that has enabled the wholesale destruction of the Irish landscape, rural and urban. There is no time for incremental step by step measures. The systems have failed utterly and the only hope for a real recovery requires the rule book to be torn up completely.

Quote Originally Posted by dennehym View Post
    Well, yes, but it'd be myopic in the extreme to never deride something until it blew up in your face!
    Okay, hang on:
    HGV ban - incomplete, because they can buy passes and I've lost track of how many HGVs have tried killing me, either on my bike or driving, in the last month in the city where they're allegedly "banned".
    Yeh it's incomplete but tif you try getting anything like that done you have people displaying the exact same traits as you have here deriding it as unworkable, wasteful etc etc

Luas - have you noticed how we have to employ black-suited security guards to prevent people being accosted by junkies and winos on the Luas? I have, because I rode that thing twice a day for eighteen months out to smithfield.
    Are you saying Luas is a failure because there are some knackers in a city of 1.2 million people? Come on!!!

College Green bus gate - even the head of DCU is lambasting that one.
    Visit the most recent thread here on that to find out why the head of DCU is wrong

The O'Connell St. upgrade - every time I walk down that street now, I worry about whether I'm on the road or the footpath because it's hard to tell the difference. And I miss the trees.
    A fair concern but they did take 2 lanes off cars on that street which has made a monstrously positive difference

[nomedia="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQOlJItjeZQ"]YouTube - Dublin's Buses 1985 (Part 1) (C) Liam Fay[/nomedia]

more bikes though!!!

You might call them successes, but I wouldn't call them unqualified successes...
    I didn't and wouldn't. There is no utopia. Certainly not in a city where change is so difficult
    We need to radically change every system that has enabled the wholesale destruction of the Irish landscape, rural and urban. There is no time for incremental step by step measures. The systems have failed utterly and the only hope for a real recovery requires the rule book to be torn up completely.

Please please watch that link - it can't be embedded - whether you agree with me or not it's a cracking piece of nostalgia

H

Quote Originally Posted by dennehym View Post
    True, but the actual statistics show that by far the worst risk for a cyclist is a truck turning left.
    75% of all cyclist deaths are caused by HGVs turning left at junctions.
    I have personally witnessed the result of a cyclist ignoring a lorry turning left, lorry indicators were flashing but the cyclist insisted on cycling stupidly with the obvious result.

Having become very aware of the issue I would read the 75% figure wondering how many cycling fatalities cut up the inside of a vehichle ignoring the fact that it was turning?

I witness law breaking cyclists on a continious daily basis as a pedestrian every day.

Which brings me back to a question I asked earlier.

Does anyone know in the terms of signing up for the bikes do they have to indemnify Dublin City council against any leagal actions for injuries to them selves or other road users?

Do they have (should) wear helmets and high-viz jackets.

In our claims mad culture I expect when a cyclist is killed the legal people will have a field day with DCC/ JC Deaux

The Mahon Tribunal found Olivia Mitchell to have received an inappropriate payment from Frank Dunlop at the time of the 1992 Election. F.G. Gael has taken no action against her.

the dublin nackers will have them threw in the liffey ina week!!!

Page 11 of 20 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast