Page 90 of 94 FirstFirst ... 40808889909192 ... LastLast

Thread: Cannabis haul! This is a Joke, Wake Up Smell the Beans

Quote Originally Posted by JCSkinner View Post
    Another question: how many random drug tests were performed on Gardai in the past 12 months?
    This is an excellent question!

I know of and have been at a party where cops took stuff back with them from Dublin and were taking it there.

The house had a visit from local DS a few nights later only to be met at the door by these guys and everything went hush hush, no raid.

Quote Originally Posted by sarahj View Post
    My blood is now boiling!
    It is a nuts situation and just exposes the stupidity of regulating what adults choose to smoke/eat/drink. If it makes you feel any better the same guy has told me the only time he feels he has done a good deed with drugs is when he nails someone with a load of dirty smack. Its a pity there aren't more like him. I would hazard the reason he is a good guard is that he joined the force in his mid twenties and had lived in the real world for a good while. they failed in their attempt to templemore him if you catch my drift.

Quote Originally Posted by Wakeupcall View Post
    This is an excellent question!

I know of and have been at a party where cops took stuff back with them from Dublin and were taking it there.

The house had a visit from local DS a few nights later only to be met at the door by these guys and everything went hush hush, no raid.
    Let me give you the answer: absolutely none.
    There is no requirement to randomly drug test the very people charged with siezing and storing and readying for presentation as evidence the vast amounts of illicit substances they sieze in Ireland every year.
    Those boyos could be high as a kite every night or even on the job, and none of us would ever know.
    Please sign the petition to establish a national day of celebration in honour of the vision of the United Irishmen!

Quote Originally Posted by iartaoiseach View Post
    damn right on the 'hand rolled cigarette' nonsense. lets just hear the weight of course they don't look as good if the tell the truth. these muppets still reckon an E is €10 FFS, they are clueless on purity too i would say, well officially anyway, A mate of mine is a cop and he has told me that some of his colleagues regularly raid the stash for the weekend and it isn't just soft drugs either. the height of hypocrisy.
    Its not unusual. An ex-detective from South London told me that when they did a raid and seized cocaine/pills etc that only about a third by his estimate reached the evidence stage in court.

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Con O'Sullivan View Post
    Its not unusual. An ex-detective from South London told me that when they did a raid and seized cocaine/pills etc that only about a third by his estimate reached the evidence stage in court.
    Its all worth either a lot of cash or a lot of high!

WHichever takes the coppers fancy.

Politics.ie Regular truthisfree's Avatar

It is a nuts situation and just exposes the stupidity of regulating what adults choose to smoke/eat/drink. If it makes you feel any better the same guy has told me the only time he feels he has done a good deed with drugs is when he nails someone with a load of dirty smack. Its a pity there aren't more like him. I would hazard the reason he is a good guard is that he joined the force in his mid twenties and had lived in the real world for a good while. they failed in their attempt to templemore him if you catch my drift.
    Hit the nail on the head there, I lived through the last bad recession in the 80's in Dublin, buried a few mates as well from the flood of smack that came into the market while the recession was in full swing. It haunts me now to watch this recession come in I fear that history will repeat itself. remember also the first Smack dealer getting killed, and by his scum bag suppliers for consuming the profits.

Up until that summer, it was quite normal to smoke a joint in a pub or on the street but the trouble that smack brought and the scum it attracted changed all that. It made all drugs dirty in peoples eyes.

Quote Originally Posted by truthisfree View Post
    Hit the nail on the head there, I lived through the last bad recession in the 80's in Dublin, buried a few mates as well from the flood of smack that came into the market while the recession was in full swing. It haunts me now to watch this recession come in I fear that history will repeat itself. remember also the first Smack dealer getting killed, and by his scum bag suppliers for consuming the profits.

Up until that summer, it was quite normal to smoke a joint in a pub or on the street but the trouble that smack brought and the scum it attracted changed all that. It made all drugs dirty in peoples eyes.
    that is a very interesting post. I was still a kid in the 80's and can't really remember but I do know from talking to workmates from that generation that smack truly was rife. and I am talking dirty brown abcess causing filth as opposed to pure heroin.
    My fear for now is crack and crystal meth - the gardai won't know what hit them if that stuff gets a grip then we'll know what a crime problem really looks like. they'll have precious little time for harassing tokers. but then again ya can't beat an easy target. does wonders for the figures.

that is a very interesting post. I was still a kid in the 80's and can't really remember but I do know from talking to workmates from that generation that smack truly was rife. and I am talking dirty brown abcess causing filth as opposed to pure heroin.
    My fear for now is crack and crystal meth - the gardai won't know what hit them if that stuff gets a grip then we'll know what a crime problem really looks like. they'll have precious little time for harassing tokers. but then again ya can't beat an easy target. does wonders for the figures.
    There's lots of evidence that more equal societies have less drug abuse.

We should spend more time and resources helping people out of poverty than fighting particular drugs. Then we won't need to worry too much about what's on the streets as people won't feel hopeless enough to take it.

Politics.ie Regular truthisfree's Avatar

That is exactly my fear and you and I are no longer kids, but I have kids, well not kids anymore but young enough to worry about. I have warned them well and never lied to them about any drug but still lose sleep.

Crack and meth related violence and crime is on it's way and as you say, the cops are not prepared for these new drugs and the havoc they bring. It really is time for change to take place. 10% of the population smoke, that is an army of people who if treated with the respect and trust they deserve as adults would be the first to help to keep the streets clean of drugs like Crack and Crystal meth. Most smokers are more street-wise than the average indvidual 'cos they have to be, and also more aware of the negative effects of drugs. There is a wealth of resources here if only the powers that be would take their heads out of their expense accounts and start thinking about their own kids.

Quote Originally Posted by Monday Monday View Post
    Assuming the scenario where cannabis use was legitimised today.How would you go about rolling it out.
    It'd be the same as plants or herbs that some people grow in their garden and that some people choose to grow in large quantaties to make money.

Want a tomatoe today ?
    Want some cannibis tomorrow?

Quote Originally Posted by History Student View Post
    Fair play to the Guards, a nice 1 tonne seizure today, no doubt of the toxic and dangerous type of marijuana known as soapbar found on Irish streets, no doubt the Cannabis proponents will be angry but the Guards have done the youth and health service a big service.

People who really want to smoke Cannabis should take a holiday in the Netherlands where a liberal tolerated policy exists.

There's an effort to make it illegal and to roll back on that "liberalism".
    As has been said, the more equal socities have less drug problems. Ireland became more unequal in the last 10, 15 years.

Page 90 of 94 FirstFirst ... 40808889909192 ... LastLast