Page 72 of 94 FirstFirst ... 2262707172737482 ... LastLast

Thread: Cannabis haul! This is a Joke, Wake Up Smell the Beans

Quote Originally Posted by sarahj View Post
    Especially if it was surrounded by fresh fruit for when you got the munchies!!!
    lucky you. all I see is chocolate when i got em.

Quote Originally Posted by BrendanGalway View Post
    Expanding our conspiracy theories on why the weed is repressed, maybe those in power have considered your vision and have been Horrified by its implications. People living in peace, how could we maintain Military budgets and industries? Wheres the consumption? Wheres the competition? My god man, Those hippies wouldnt buy anything from us. They wouldnt even need us.....
    Bill Hicks made that argument and he was not far wrong on most things he commented on.

Quote Originally Posted by reknaw View Post
    I know politics is the art of the possible, but I'm pretty disappointed in President O'Bama for the way he has copped out on the marijuana question.

this video is 9 minutes or so long, but IMHO well worth watching. Why can't we have people like Bill Maher, Christopher Hitchens, Mos Def and even Salman Rushdie running the planet instead of the knobs that are in charge right now?

YouTube - Bill Maher and guests discuss Obama's Marijuana statement
    Bill Maher is legend

Quote Originally Posted by iartaoiseach View Post
    lucky you. all I see is chocolate when i got em.
    Me too. Makes you fat though.

Co Tipp alright. Are you near that? Take a spin up there and have a look. I believe they have sites available.

Agree 100% with spreading this idea around. I would Love to be in a place like that. A community of 100-150 people, everyone looking after one another, everyone pitches in and does the work, everyone shares in the spoils. You get enough of these places going and working, pretty soon the general population would become aware of them and the advantages and then......who knows

Apologies for the hijack!
    As super uber free market capitalist, I totally support your idea.

Quote Originally Posted by sarahj View Post
    Yes, aggregate demand is what drives the economy and lines the pockets of the rich. Were we to produce what we require locally, there would be no aggregate demand and all the poor rich people would have to fend for themselves instead of leeching from us.

It's not just a conspiracy theory in my books. It's fact.
    Go and fend for yourself. Whats stopping you?

You know, Ive often thought if I could scrounge together enough dosh, Id build a fully Passive house complete with panels and Wind turbine out the back. Thats my heat, light and Leccy and I dont have to pay anyone for it. Grey water tanks to provide my H2O needs(illegal in Bolivia!!). Give me enough room to grow to the food (and the precious skunk) and Im a happy camper. Wont want for much more after that. Except change the telly every 10 years.

I wonder how many people would be of a similar opinion....
    Sounds good. Give it a while though cos teh price of wind turbines will very soon take a severe drop and theres a company in the states which I reckon will make solar pv very cost effective in the mid term.

PS forget the telly - eztv all the way so no ads!!

Quote Originally Posted by Mr.De-Regulation View Post
    As super uber free market capitalist, I totally support your idea.

Go and fend for yourself. Whats stopping you?
    Ah, mr Dereg, I've missed you, you crazy vampire!! Sucked any more blood lately?

Nothing, apart from the fact that I would have to work my balls off for 20 yrs to get my hands on a small bit of land that I could turn into a communist haven

From the governments new National Drugs strategy.. Taoiseach publishes drugs strategy - The Irish Times - Thu, Sep 10, 2009

At last the government is conceding to reality. It is now officially recognized that Alcohol is a gateway drug. This appears to be a very useful factor in demonstrating to the public that if they believe that cannabis will lead to addiction of hard drugs then it must be equally considered that alcohol can have the same effect.
    It can be assumed most people believe that consumption of alcohol does not lead to a hard drugs habit, now it should be easier to convince skeptics of cannabis decriminalization that the dangers of a cannabis gateway have been misrepresented and grossly overestimated.

Politics.ie Regular truthisfree's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by zebedee bong View Post
    From the governments new National Drugs strategy.. Taoiseach publishes drugs strategy - The Irish Times - Thu, Sep 10, 2009

At last the government is conceding to reality. It is now officially recognized that Alcohol is a gateway drug. This appears to be a very useful factor in demonstrating to the public that if they believe that cannabis will lead to addiction of hard drugs then it must be equally considered that alcohol can have the same effect.
    It can be assumed most people believe that consumption of alcohol does not lead to a hard drugs habit, now it should be easier to convince skeptics of cannabis decriminalization that the dangers of a cannabis gateway have been misrepresented and grossly overestimated.

"The strategy sets out new targets to ensure a reduction in supply of drugs and to ensure those needing treatment are seen more quickly. The targets include a 25 per cent increase in the number of supply detection cases by 2016 over 2008 figures and a 25 per cent increase in the volume of drugs seized by 2016. It also wants 20 local policing forums established and operating by 2012."

A quick read of this shows that the bulk of it is to increase policing and rehab facilities, nothing wrong with the latter but the former will cost even more money.
    Last edited by truthisfree; 10th September 2009 at 06:54 PM.

Politics.ie Regular truthisfree's Avatar

The following are the overall strategic aims of the National Drugs Strategy:

• To reduce the availability of illicit drugs;
    • To promote throughout society, a greater awareness, understanding and clarity on the dangers of drug misuse;
    • To enable people with drug misuse problems to access treatment and other supports in order to re-integrate into society;
    • To reduce the risk behaviour associated with drug misuse;
    • To reduce the harm caused by drug misuse to individuals, families and communities;
    • To have valid, timely and comparable data on the extent and nature of drug misuse in Ireland; and
    • To strengthen existing partnerships in and with communities and build new partnerships to tackle the problems of drug misuse.

Objectives
    SUPPLY REDUCTION

• To significantly reduce the volume of illicit drugs available in Ireland; to arrest the dynamic of existing markets and to curtail new markets as they are identified;
      and
    • To significantly reduce access to all drugs, particularly those drugs that cause most harm, amongst young people especially in those areas where misuse is most prevalent

PREVENTION

• To create greater societal awareness about the dangers and prevalence of drug misuse; and
    • To equip young people and other vulnerable groups with the skills and supports necessary to make informed choices about their health, personal lives and social development.

TREATMENT

• To encourage and enable those dependent on drugs to avail of treatment with the aim of reducing dependence and improving overall health and social well-being, with the ultimate aim of leading a drug-free lifestyle;
      and
    • To minimise the harm to those who continue to engage in drug-taking activities that put them at risk.

RESEARCH

• To have available valid, timely and comparable data on the extent of drug misuse amongst the Irish population and specifically amongst all marginalised groups;
      and
    • To gain a greater understanding of the factors which contribute to Irish people, particularly young people, misusing drugs.

CO-ORDINATION

• To have in place an efficient and effective framework for implementing the National Drugs Strategy.

Considerable resources are being put into the effort to combat the supply and demand for illicit drugs by a range of Government Departments, State Agencies and the Community and Voluntary Sector.
    The principal actors are:

• the Department of Health and Children and the Regional Health Boards who are responsible for development and delivery of drug prevention, treatment and rehabilitation services;

• the Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform and the Garda Siochana who are responsible for the development and implementation of policy on the reduction of the supply of drugs - the Garda Siochana are also involved in drug prevention programmes through a range of diversionary projects throughout the country;

• the Department of Education and Science who operate drug prevention programmes such as "On My Own Two Feet" and "Walk Tall" through the formal education system;

• and the Community and Voluntary Sector, who deliver a wide range of initiatives at local level in the areas of prevention, treatment, rehabilitation and aftercare.

In view of the cross-cutting nature of the drugs issue, the following structures were established to formulate and deliver a co-ordinated and integrated National Drugs Strategy:

Now do ye see what ye are up against? This is to take us to 2016, more policing, more seizures, more of the same, there will be no money to do any of this so it is not worth the paper it is written on. But it still shows how the policy makers are not taking any notions of the legalisation of a soft drug like cannabis to heed.

I reckon it would take about 5-10 years hard work by a seriously commited group to make any changes here.

here
    Last edited by truthisfree; 10th September 2009 at 06:45 PM.

Page 72 of 94 FirstFirst ... 2262707172737482 ... LastLast