Page 34 of 111 FirstFirst ... 2432333435364484 ... LastLast

Thread: John O Donoghue his wife and the 126k expenses

Quote Originally Posted by stanley View Post
    Roche defends Ceann Comhairle on expenses | Irish Examiner

Dick Roche says he is appalled by the hotel bill but JOD is a "humble" man, this is like Bertiespeak.
    Dear God, Roche the Pompous defending John the Pompous. The former is as notorious as the latter for his sense of self-righteous indignation in the face of even the mildest criticism.

If John O'D is a 'humble man' then I'm George Washington and my dog wrote the United States Constitution.

Is there a rope anywhere in the world big enough to tie these two bloated windbags together . . ?
    Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.
    Mahatma Gandhi

Politics.ie Regular Utopian Hermit Monk's Avatar

This thread brings to mind:

[COLOR="White"].[/COLOR]

aio

Quote Originally Posted by stanley View Post
    Roche defends Ceann Comhairle on expenses | Irish Examiner

Dick Roche says he is appalled by the hotel bill but JOD is a "humble" man, this is like Bertiespeak.
    Our Taoiseach was similarly complimentary about Mr Molloy, when he was justifying extravagant expenditure in FAS

Cowen defends FAS chief in travel bill fury - National News, Frontpage - Independent.ie

Are our elected representatives so far removed from reality that they actually see nothing wrong with this level of spending?

If that is the case then we, as a nation, really are in trouble. The first step on the road to recovery is acknowledging that a problem exists in the first place.

Our government has not got the moral authority to mandate cuts to social welfare payments of €204 per week (no matter how necessary those cuts may be) if they cannot recognise that they themselves are guilty of profligacy with their expenses and make the necessary changes to remedy it.

Otherwise, imo, it smacks of 'let them eat cake'.

What are we going to do to remove these thieves? Ya can be your bottom dollar that this is going on today, with one of the gombeen living like a king somewhere.

Quote Originally Posted by aio View Post
    Our Taoiseach was similarly complimentary about Mr Molloy, when he was justifying extravagant expenditure in FAS

Cowen defends FAS chief in travel bill fury - National News, Frontpage - Independent.ie

Are our elected representatives so far removed from reality that they actually see nothing wrong with this level of spending?

If that is the case then we, as a nation, really are in trouble. The first step on the road to recovery is acknowledging that a problem exists in the first place.

Our government has not got the moral authority to mandate cuts to social welfare payments of €204 per week (no matter how necessary those cuts may be) if they cannot recognise that they themselves are guilty of profligacy with their expenses and make the necessary changes to remedy it.

Otherwise, imo, it smacks of 'let them eat cake'.
    They live in a very different world.
    'Personally, I find the notion of changing our constitution in exchange for a loan absolutely disgusting'. - Tin Foil Hat

I'm sure we'll have the excuse like Dick Roche ... I couldn't believe how expensive it was until I saw the bill etc etc....

However at this stage I'd be far from suprised if a number of ministers haven't stayed in The Merrion on 'Government Business' with the tax payer footing the bill......
    ...and I'm sure they know how expensive that is.

-

-

Politics.ie Regular flavirostris's Avatar

The thing is these guys believed they were entitled to all the extravagance, being as they were the architects and chieftains of the celtic pussy.
    Can't let down the side in front of johnny foreigner now.
    The more I think about them, the more they remind me of a corrupt african tribe rather than western european politicians

Politics.ie Regular MsAnneThrope's Avatar

Here is a report on use of the Government jet for the first 9 months of the FF/Green 2007 coalition (up to May 2008)
    We all love animals. Why do we call some 'pets' and others 'dinner'?

Quote Originally Posted by MsAnneThrope View Post
    Here is a report on use of the Government jet for the first 9 months of the FF/Green 2007 coalition (up to May 2008)
    We now know that the end bit left a few trips off the menu.

Ceann Comhairle John O'Donoghue made his last trip on the Learjet as Arts, Sports and Tourism minister when he flew to the "art world's most eagerly anticipated showcase event" -- the Venice Biennale.

He stayed in the historic Italian city for three days and then used the jet to fly him back to his native Kerry.
    'Personally, I find the notion of changing our constitution in exchange for a loan absolutely disgusting'. - Tin Foil Hat

Quote Originally Posted by He3 View Post
    Have a close look at the report. You will see that Roche does not say he was appalled at O'Donoghue's hotel bill. He was 'appalled' at his own hotel bill for a stay in Paris.

Our Minister for Europe paid €1500 euros a night. Well actually he did not pay. We did that bit for him.

It was big of him to say he was appalled.

You could just be splitting hairs here HE3, Roche is saying he was surprised at the size of his bill which is the same as JOD's, Roche is going further by saying it was not his choice the booking was made for him by the Dept.

This is very much on the lines of JOD's pathetic defence of repeatedly referring any questions back to the Dept., we can expect a joint statement soon from the lads saying it is the various Dept's faults and they just go where they are told.

The word "humble" could also never be used in the context of these two freeloaders.

Page 34 of 111 FirstFirst ... 2432333435364484 ... LastLast