Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Finally Gilmore is coming good for the low paid in the Public Sector...

Politics.ie Regular Silvio Dante's Avatar

Finally Gilmore is coming good for the low paid in the Public Sector...

He's just given an interview on Newstalk and has said...:

1. No compulsary redundancies for someone on €500/€600 per week...

2. Won't touch increments for the lower paid but may hit those on higher salaries and,

3. Will get rid of the many State Agencies who duplicate work done by core Govt Departments...

About bloody time too...

easy to say that..harder to put it into action.

"Low paid public sector", great so non-inionise workers get shat on by Labour? Fantastic.

Quote Originally Posted by DCon View Post
    easy to say that..harder to put it into action.

True, but by saying this he's guaranteed himself my first preference vote in the next General Election...

Quote Originally Posted by Silvio Dante View Post
    True, but by saying this he's guaranteed himself my first preference vote in the next General Election...

That wouldnt be hard. Anone who proclaims himself a socialist will get your vote.
    We have seen from Gilmore already, talk is cheap.
    Its all about optics for you folks.
    Originally Posted by The Red Rose of Cork
    I dont care about "the majority of people"

fair enough.

I think it is a shame that he is so quiet about TD salaries though. I have seen no questions emerge about the "legal difficulties" with cutting their own salaries.

Quote Originally Posted by DeathKnell View Post
    That wouldnt be hard. Anone who proclaims himself a socialist will get your vote.
    All about optics, from a poster who mentions An Bord Snip in his sig. My irony chips are overheating.

tbh very little i've heard from Gilmore / Labour in general inspires me with any confidence / faith in them, it seems all spin and bluster with very little concrete firm plans on how to fix the economic mess, seem to falling towards the protect public service jobs, tax us more and just hope the global economy saves us
    Enda Kenny on FF government: “We’re in this mess, not because Fianna Fáil policies have failed, but because they have succeeded.”

Quote Originally Posted by DeathKnell View Post
    I couldn't give a flying fig if he's a Socialist, Mysoginist or Philanthropist... If he gives guarantees such as he has this morning to the low paid PS employees he'll get many of our votes... He's the only one whose come out so clearly in this way...

I couldn't give a flying fig if he's a Socialist, Mysoginist or Philanthropist... If he gives guarantees such as he has this morning to the low paid PS employees he'll get many of our votes... He's the onyl one whose come out so clearly in this way...
    classic "I'm alright Jack" mentality, feck the rest of ye as long as i'm taken care of
    Enda Kenny on FF government: “We’re in this mess, not because Fianna Fáil policies have failed, but because they have succeeded.”

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast