Thread: Irish Peoples adversity to Accountability and Personal Responsibility

Irish Peoples adversity to Accountability and Personal Responsibility

another fine example....

Furious local businessman and member of the Western Development Commission, Jim Devenney, last night said that the road must be realigned before more lives are lost.

Just last October, Noel Manus Boyle (16) was killed instantly when the car he was driving was in a collision with a van, metres away from the scene of yesterday's crash.

"This is a death trap. This road must be totally realigned There is a series of severe corkscrew bends, which must go.

"I don't know how many more young lives will have to be lost before the NRA takes action," Mr Devenney said.
    Blame the road, not the Driver?

Mr Devenney why not tell the young drivers of Donegal to slow the fugg down?

Slow down azzholes.

http://www.independent.ie/national-n...y-1727883.html

Quote Originally Posted by cavok View Post

another fine example....

Blame the road, not the Driver?

Mr Devenney why not tell the young drivers of Donegal to slow the fugg down?

Slow down azzholes.

Two friends killed in crash just hours after family party - National News, Frontpage - Independent.ie
    1. Have you evidence that the people killed were speeding?
    2. In the case of the young fella which you have highlighted he was 16. Is this old enough to legally drive?
    3. 30 people have been killed on a 6km stretch of road in 20 years. Given your allegation, have you evidence that all of these people were speeding?
    4. Given that so many people have been killed on such a short stretch, in a county which does not have a huge population, it would suggest that the man might have a point. It probably is a dangerous stretch and a realignment might reduce the number of fatalities.

Quote Originally Posted by Gruffalo View Post

The accident happened at 6am and didn't involve any other vehicles. Both were young men in their teens/early 20s, and were coming from a family 'celebration'.
    A demagogue is someone who will preach doctrines he knows to be untrue to men he knows to be idiots.

re:

It's a combination of bad roads and speed in my opinion with speed being the primary factor. Nobody intends to be involved in a single vehicle accident but if you don't know the road, weather conditions are bad or just by looking at it the road doesn't seem up to par, slowing down can truly decrease the chances of an accident.

Quote Originally Posted by goosebump View Post
    The accident happened at 6am and didn't involve any other vehicles. Both were young men in their teens/early 20s, and were coming from a family 'celebration'.
    And how does that prove speeding?

Now my first opinion would not be that they were driving safely but there is nothing to back that up. Drink may have been a factor. Fatigue may have been a factor at 6am and there are many other possibilities.

That still does not mean that the WDC guy was wrong to call for the road to be realigned especially with there having been so many deaths.

Quote Originally Posted by mdub View Post
    It's a combination of bad roads and speed in my opinion with speed being the primary factor. Nobody intends to be involved in a single vehicle accident but if you don't know the road, weather conditions are bad or just by looking at it the road doesn't seem up to par, slowing down can truly decrease the chances of an accident.
    I would agree that all these issues can be factors, but the safer we can make the roads the better.

The way I would think of the situation is that I do not care about dangerous drivers as long as they do not hurt anyone else. On a bad road there is more of a chance of an innocent party getting hurt.

No sympathy for them, sad they are dead but thank goodness they are the only ones to die from their own stupidity.

The law need to start being enforced and it needs to be knocked into peoples heads to drive safely. Both will be harder now because the funding has been cut again. And the courts need to help out on this- a lot of the cases are struck out at district court level- if people see no penalty then they will carry on driving dangerously and killing themselves as a result.

a quarter of the dangerous driving cases brought in 2007 and 2008 were withdrawn or struck out at district court level. In the same period, 3,000 drink-driving cases were withdrawn or struck out.

In percentage terms, the drink-driving record is much more commendable. A total of 55,700 prosecutions resulted in 50,200 convictions
    Lax approach to road danger - Editorial, Opinion - Independent.ie
    "I don't think Martin McGuinness necessarily intended to kill anyone while in the IRA." factual

The N13 is much better than other roads in the West eg the N17.
    I drive through Donegal every week and its drivers are "suicide jockeys" to use a Derry expression.
    Donegal's public representative have no problem with their youth driving aggressively but once one of them is killed the 3Ps (Priest, Politicians, Policemen) emerge to whine about the young people, loss to the community etc. The place is not called The Whingers' County for nothing!
    "As ye sow so shall ye reap" as the Bible says.
    The county needs priests like Fr John Cargan. MOURNERS WALK OUT IN DISGUST - Derry Today

My last trip to Donegal we stopped in some sh1t-hole town for food and were met with a car coming down a hill sideways.

The local lads were having a day out in their boy-racer specials.

They're a shower of stupid dangerous b@st@rds up there and the sooner they're removed from the gene pool the better.

We can't of course forget to mention at this point publican member of Dail Eireann calling for boggers to be allowed drink-drive, never mind straightening the bleeding roads.

Quote Originally Posted by Gruffalo View Post
    2. In the case of the young fella which you have highlighted he was 16. Is this old enough to legally drive?
    3. 30 people have been killed on a 6km stretch of road in 20 years. Given your allegation, have you evidence that all of these people were speeding?
    4. Given that so many people have been killed on such a short stretch, in a county which does not have a huge population, it would suggest that the man might have a point. It probably is a dangerous stretch and a realignment might reduce the number of fatalities.
    Thank you for proving the point of my OP.