Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Paul Williams

does he make the place safer. nope
    What does the Irish President spend their time doing. Work in progress

Quote Originally Posted by IrishTom View Post
    Paul Williams is a fool, if there were no crime he would be out of a Job.

No crime sounds good to me. The fact that there is crime on a terrifying level all over the country means he will always have a job.

Quote Originally Posted by lostexpectation View Post
    does he make the place safer. nope
    He documents what's going on on the streets: perhaps you'd feel safer if folks turned a blind eye to this. But you wouldn't be. Since the death of Veronica Guerin very few Irish journalists have shown any inclination to specialise in crime reporting. Williams is one of the notable exceptions. He has clearly made many enemies along the way and the scumbags he has exposed would have no compunction about blowing his brains out if they got half a chance. And he still manages to maintain a cheerful and upbeat demeanour. I call that grace under pressure. He's been made Leitrim Man of the Year - fair dues to the good people of Leitrim.

Paul Williams makes a cameo appearance here -

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uyeaxhQwblM"]YouTube - Nob Nation - Meet the F*ckers[/ame]

Don't forget the Paul Williams motto;make it snappy make it witty make it up.

Quote Originally Posted by Phinaeus View Post
    He documents what's going on on the streets: perhaps you'd feel safer if folks turned a blind eye to this. But you wouldn't be. Since the death of Veronica Guerin very few Irish journalists have shown any inclination to specialise in crime reporting. Williams is one of the notable exceptions. He has clearly made many enemies along the way and the scumbags he has exposed would have no compunction about blowing his brains out if they got half a chance. And he still manages to maintain a cheerful and upbeat demeanour. I call that grace under pressure. He's been made Leitrim Man of the Year - fair dues to the good people of Leitrim.
    'documents' yeah right

are we suppose to take threats to his life from criminals as a rating of his journalism?
    What does the Irish President spend their time doing. Work in progress

I can't stand the man. He seems to take some sort of sexual pleasure out of being centre stage, particularly portraying himself as a hero. He relies heavily on Garda sources and publishes hearsay as fact. He courts victims of crime to fill column inches and his god awful third rate Damon Runyonesque crime page turners of which he seems to make a lot of money. Grace under pressure my hole. He didn't have to set himself up as a crime fighter extroardinaire. That was his choice.

Quote Originally Posted by Gabha Óir View Post
    He courts victims of crime to fill column inches and his god awful third rate Damon Runyonesque crime page turners of which he seems to make a lot of money.

Whadya mean ? I dare say there aren't too many Larry the Lamb types out there.

Quote Originally Posted by Trampas View Post
    Whadya mean ? I dare say there aren't too many Larry the Lamb types out there.
    Well I did read the one he wrote about Cahill in the mid 90's before Guerin was shot and it was pretty similar in tone to Runyon's defence of Berman after he got popped, to borrow a phrase which wouldn't be beyond Williams

Quote Originally Posted by Phinaeus View Post
    Have just watched him being interviewed on the Tubridy show. Have huge admiration for the man - quite unafraid to tell it like it is and to call a thug a thug. Pity a few of our politicians don't have his courage.
    Catch a grip ye tosser! He's selling something!!! Knob end!!

Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast