Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast

Thread: Paul Williams

Politics.ie Regular merle haggard's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by liathroidi View Post
    Phinaeus

I think you get the gist that people with any wit see Paul Williams for what he is, an attention seeking whore.

The one thing that sticks in my mind about Paul Williams is the headline " Died trying to save a scumbag". It was how he got his twisted logic on the front page of his dreadful newspaper. 2 men drowned in cork, one was a normal joe who died trying to save another guy who had a criminal record. And that's good journalism? Can you imagine how the parents of the 2 guys felt reading that crap?

Paul Williams is a sorry excuse for a journalist, he's a sensationalist attention seeking whore.
    hes a scumbag in my book . Only a scumbag would write such a headline . No one with an ounce of morality or dignity or cocner for the dead and their relatives would write such a thing .

Quote Originally Posted by merle haggard View Post
    he actually said either the Real IRA or the CIRA gave this tramp a military funeral , he doesnt know which apparently but doesnt really need to. The point hes making is that the limerick drugs gangs , the dublin drugs gangs and rebel republicans are all ractually part of the same organisation . Thats what he actually claimed.

a professional liar , a gutter journalist in my opinion attempting to portray himself as some sort of crime expert . He is to factual journlism what i am to wedding planning
    Well, actually, he is a qualified criminologist. So that does make him something of an expert on crime.

Quote Originally Posted by liathroidi View Post
    Phinaeus

I think you get the gist that people with any wit see Paul Williams for what he is, an attention seeking whore.

The one thing that sticks in my mind about Paul Williams is the headline " Died trying to save a scumbag". It was how he got his twisted logic on the front page of his dreadful newspaper. 2 men drowned in cork, one was a normal joe who died trying to save another guy who had a criminal record. And that's good journalism? Can you imagine how the parents of the 2 guys felt reading that crap?

Paul Williams is a sorry excuse for a journalist, he's a sensationalist attention seeking whore.
    Journalist don't write the headlines. Thats the sub-editors job. If I had a euro for everytime a journalist was appalled by the headline some sub has stuck on their copy I'd be a wealthy woman. I don't disagree that Paul Williams can sound sensationlist but he writes for a tabloid and that's the style they require. Journalists who move from tabloid to broadsheet and vice versa will tell you it takes quite a while to unlearn one style and become skilled in the other. To me it seems that Paul Williams is so angry and disgusted by what he sees criminals and terrorists doing to our country that he can't help but express it and sometimes he oversteps the mark but that is understandable - we are all human.
    "Gods are fragile things; they may be killed by a whiff of science or a dose of common sense." - Chapman Cohen.

Paul Williams and Jim Cusack got invited to this years annual Garda fancy dress at the Garda Club but the car broke down in Finglas.....they got away...shucks!

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZW0fDCbwqE]YouTube - only Fools and Horses[/ame]

he actually said either the Real IRA or the CIRA gave this tramp a military funeral , he doesnt know which apparently but doesnt really need to. The point hes making is that the limerick drugs gangs , the dublin drugs gangs and rebel republicans are all ractually part of the same organisation . Thats what he actually claimed.

a professional liar , a gutter journalist in my opinion attempting to portray himself as some sort of crime expert . He is to factual journlism what i am to wedding planning
    Not so. Paul Williams is not my cup of tea every day but the guy has a lot of cred and is putting before the people WITH NO MANIPULATION the harsh facts of life in Ireland's cruel underworld where if ya don't like someone ya just snuff him.
    As for the military funeral topic....what a friggin' joke.

But I'll allow that many of the loose cannons of the Irish organised crime scene for all their underperformance in academia actually have some of their roots in twisted history. Ain't what the lads of 1916 died for but what the heck it's a la carte so there. It can be hard to trace the logic of the twisted history thing but it seems to have a lot to do with enrolling disaffected youth at street level in certain areas into a group or gang culture which in turn gave them an identity something that had probably eluded them until that happened.
    That way they were available for certain subversive activities beholden to calculating and manipulative reactionaries.

To describe him as a gutter journalist is very wide of the mark. He is widely respected within his own profession. in fact many concede that he is the journalists journalist. He has a racy style which is what always upsets second raters. They can't do it and hate anyone else to do it. Gutter journalist....? well the only ones to say that consistently are the dangerous types he chooses to write about.

Quote Originally Posted by superhack View Post
    Well, actually, he is a qualified criminologist. So that does make him something of an expert on crime.
    I never disputed his academic qualifications . I simply pointed out hes also an expert in the art of arranging Bulls faeces to make pretty patterns .

Quote Originally Posted by Kev408 View Post
    that you couldn't give a damn about victims of abuse - you just wanted to jump on the band-wagon of attacking the church with mis-information.
    Since when did you have a monopoly on compassion? My concern as stated in the thread you mention is that this abuse is still going on. That doesn't seem to bother you very much. Not once have you agreed with some of the suggestions I made to stamp out this abuse.

But then again, victimhood is your thing, isn't it? You have, afterall, made it your life and livelihood. Pathetic.

And why do you insist on repeatedly drawing attention to your new "signature"? Are you trying to tell us something? Is your boyfriend a priest or seminarian? Or are you one?

BTW, any man christened Kevin who abbreviates his name to Kev is a cissy in my book until proven otherwise.
    Last edited by Phinaeus; 13th April 2009 at 12:33 PM. Reason: Typo

hes a scumbag in my book . Only a scumbag would write such a headline . No one with an ounce of morality or dignity or cocner for the dead and their relatives would write such a thing .
    Am not a Sunday World reader but would be very surprised if Williams wrote the headline on his story. Written by a sub-editor surely?

I never disputed his academic qualifications . I simply pointed out hes also an expert in the art of arranging Bulls faeces to make pretty patterns .
    Now, now. I was merely informing you he was a criminologist - that is obviously relevant to his career and your denegration of it. He knows his stuff, whether you like it or not.
    Sure anyway, everyone knows the CIRA in Limerick are up to their bollocks with the drugs gangs down there. They are gangsters, pure and simple.

[quote=Abacus;1562888]

Not so. Paul Williams is not my cup of tea every day but the guy has a lot of cred and is putting before the people WITH NO MANIPULATION the harsh facts of life in Ireland's cruel underworld where if ya don't like someone ya just snuff him.
    As for the military funeral topic....what a friggin' joke.
    your as bad as he is . One minute your calling him a credible journalist who doesnt manipulate the facts the next your calling his claims that republicans gave the limerick crim a military funeral a joke . Williams went further and stated the ward gang were imprting guns for the Real IRA and that republicans and the gangsters were all part of a loose alliance .

so either his claims are a joke or they are unmanipulated facts from a credible journalist . You cant seem to make your mind up which is the case

But I'll allow that many of the loose cannons of the Irish organised crime scene for all their underperformance in academia actually have some of their roots in twisted history. Ain't what the lads of 1916 died for but what the heck it's a la carte so there. It can be hard to trace the logic of the twisted history thing but it seems to have a lot to do with enrolling disaffected youth at street level in certain areas into a group or gang culture which in turn gave them an identity something that had probably eluded them until that happened.
    That way they were available for certain subversive activities beholden to calculating and manipulative reactionaries.
    which is also balls . Most of these gangs are based around families .There have always been criminals and gangsters in Ireland , right back to animal gangs of the early 20th century , money lenders with their heavies and all sorts . The fact is such people were often shunned by their communities . Republicans expelled them from their communities .
    Political greivances in this country were caused by political conditions in this country . To try and remotely equate todays gangsters with the legacy of 1916 is just pathetic .

To describe him as a gutter journalist is very wide of the mark. He is widely respected within his own profession. in fact many concede that he is the journalists journalist.
    his own profession is largely a collection of oddballs and scumbags . The Irish journalist scene is absolutely disgraceful .Cop yourself on . Do we need to list them ?

He has a racy style which is what always upsets second raters. They can't do it and hate anyone else to do it. Gutter journalist....? well the only ones to say that consistently are the dangerous types he chooses to write about.

Drowned Saving A Scumbag
    is gutter journalism by its very definition . Anyone who views than as an example of Paul Williams gutter style is a dangerous criminal according to you ?

Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast