Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RTÉ accused over McDowell interview

Politics.ie Founder David Cochrane's Avatar
    @

RTÉ accused over McDowell interview

The Labour party leader, Pat Rabbitte, has accused RTÉ of giving the Minister for Justice, Michael McDowell, a platform to assert his position without any opposition participation. Mr Rabbitte said that earlier yesterday he had accepted an offer from Prime Time to debate the current crime situation with Mr McDowell. He said that last night the programme-makers advised the party that he had been dropped because Mr McDowell said he would only appear on his own. - RTÉ News
    Follow Politics.ie on twitter:

According to todays Irish Times Pat accused Michael McDowell of 'hypocritical bombast', hmmmmm - the words pot, kettle and black spring to mind. Although in fairness he did the state some service earlier in the day when he provided a nice diagnosis of what ails our political system. Pat accused the Taoiseach of 'rhyming off statistics as if we were insulated in this House from what is going on in the streets and the estates'. There goes that pot again!

CJH

Rabbitte is just bitter that he didn't get yet another opportunity to preen himself on the national airwaves. As Vincent Browne noted recently, himself and McDowell are truly made for each other

Pax

Rabbitte has a point. The McDowell interview segment was overlong and while Miriam was more combative than usual the minister was allowed to rant and rave in between her questions. She also let him get away with the ridiculous accusations against the Greens.

The programme and segment is available below
    Michael McDowell is in studio to discuss the controversy over garda numbers, his remarks to John Gormley, Green Party Chairman, on the Dublin riots and his performance as Minister for Justice since 2002

It should have been Bruton and McDowell last night, when did Pat Rabbitte become central to this debate?

Any of our friends in SF hear McDowell comment that he has been proved right about the Northern bank robbery?

One more point, who else thinks that Irish politics is about Michael McDowell now?

Politics.ie Regular rockofcashel's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Biffo
    It should have been Bruton and McDowell last night, when did Pat Rabbitte become central to this debate?

Any of our friends in SF hear McDowell comment that he has been proved right about the Northern bank robbery?

One more point, who else thinks that Irish politics is about Michael McDowell now?
    I know Biffo, but I think FF are actually playing a long and very smart game with him. He's kicking the Shinners which your average FFer wants to do but is on orders not to, and he's becoming more and more manic in public.

Mary's taking the hit in Health as well.

Bertie knows it was the PD's denied him his historic overall majority, but still took them into government when they weren't needed.

I think he's simply giving them enough rope, and hoping they will hang themselves. And Mc Dowells doing a fine job.

He's yet to find a way to walk out in high dudgeon, and even if he does, Bertie can go on without him. He'll be cut loose at the right time, and the PD's will be shown to be irrelevant.

Classic FF behaviour. Someday soon Michaels pat on the back will include a blade.
    1,197 people agree with me.. how many agree with you ?

Quote Originally Posted by rockofcashel
    I know Biffo, but I think FF are actually playing a long and very smart game with him. He's kicking the Shinners which your average FFer wants to do but is on orders not to, and he's becoming more and more manic in public.

Mary's taking the hit in Health as well.

Bertie knows it was the PD's denied him his historic overall majority, but still took them into government when they weren't needed.

I think he's simply giving them enough rope, and hoping they will hang themselves. And Mc Dowells doing a fine job.

He's yet to find a way to walk out in high dudgeon, and even if he does, Bertie can go on without him. He'll be cut loose at the right time, and the PD's will be shown to be irrelevant.

Classic FF behaviour. Someday soon Michaels pat on the back will include a blade.
    Very dramatic stuff there ROC, I do agree with the thrust of what you are saying - them comments in Waterford a few weeks ago will not have gone unnoticed by the taoiseach, and Bertie is no fool.
    I think the coalition will run see out the term but as soon as the election is called the gloves are off. Don't be surprised when a member of FF appears on a TV debate in the election and is answering a question about health if they use the words Mary and Harney 50 times in 2 minutes.

London (aka Lisbon Treaty/PD demise émigré)

That is absolute nonsense and I know from first hand experience but I cant say..

Crap post I know but I had to get that off my chest
    "I thought that I had a duty to help those that weren't as lucky as me." -- John Hume

Re: RTÉ accused over McDowell interview

While I'm sure Rabbitte would of preferred to get his digs in on-air recycling facts garnered by another party, McDowell has a miraculous talent for finding another foot to put in his gob andit was a near joy to see him perform so badly last night. Some of his rants were hilarious if he hadn't such a serious position.

He was proved right about the Northern Bank robbery? Excuse me?!

London (aka Lisbon Treaty/PD demise émigré)

Re: RTÉ accused over McDowell interview

Quote Originally Posted by Ultan
    While I'm sure Rabbitte would of preferred to get his digs in on-air recycling facts garnered by another party, McDowell has a miraculous talent for finding another foot to put in his gob andit was a near joy to see him perform so badly last night. Some of his rants were hilarious if he hadn't such a serious position.

He was proved right about the Northern Bank robbery? Excuse me?!
    yeah sorry we all know MI5 did that one. Omagh too. lousy securocrats :!:
    "I thought that I had a duty to help those that weren't as lucky as me." -- John Hume

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast