Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: €3,000 hike for TDs as workers' pay is cut

Not only do they get a basic of over a 100,000, but they get paid everytime they leave their office after that to go to a committee, sit in the Dail, etc.

Why can't the basic cover everything? Why do these feckers have to be paid more money on top of their basic to actually work?

You can earn the basic of a 100,000 and never go near the Dail, as Albert Reynolds used to do.

It's a disgrace to be honest. Imagine if you were a teacher and you got paid a basic of 50,000 whether you turned up for work or not. And if you did turn up you got over a hundred euro for turning up. And if you corrected homework you got paid more money. And if you go visit a friend and call it 'teaching work' you can claim expenses.

Our political class are a bunch of criminals who rob and steal from the electorate.

Politics.ie Regular Amach na Casca's Avatar

Hopefully huge amounts of FF and FG gombeens will get their P45s in the upcoming elections. Pay hikes at this time, surely this is a sick joke.
    “As well might you leave the fairies to plough your land or the idle winds to sow it, as sit down and wait for freedom.” - Thomas Davis

Cyprian Brady was on the radio this morning saying it was wrong. What are the bets he will still take the money? How many times have we had FF politicians go on the radio giving out about this or that policy and then when the vote comes, supporting the government to the last.

Politics.ie Regular evercloserunion's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by markeys View Post
    Good! Everybody should be doing everything they can to encougare strikes in the PS. I can think of no better solution to our current woes than to pay Unemployment benefit to all PS workers while they strike. We'd save a fortune on our current wage bill and a six month strike would balance the books nicely.
    Are you joking or do you fail to grasp the reality that the public service do stuff that we need done?

Like... managing the dole?
    To live honestly, to hurt no one, to give every one his due.

You are right! I had a friend that had a form sent back because he forgot to put one zero in, instead of two zeros???????
    Fair play they are doing a worthwhile job!!! (Sarcastic) I guess the unions said it wasnt their job to use a pen.................................

I think they sS should march along side the people on the dole and they could help them fill out the forms! Oh wait and take your own pens everyone.......))

Politics.ie Regular evercloserunion's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by selfemployedmar View Post
    You are right! I had a friend that had a form sent back because he forgot to put one zero in, instead of two zeros???????
    Fair play they are doing a worthwhile job!!! (Sarcastic) I guess the unions said it wasnt their job to use a pen.................................
    You'd rather they didn't take forms at all? So when your next business venture fails you won't even have the dole to keep you alive?
    To live honestly, to hurt no one, to give every one his due.

By the was Self employed people are not entitled to the dole! I have no problem with them taking forms but stop sending back for rediculous reasons!

Quote Originally Posted by selfemployedmar View Post
    By the was Self employed people are not entitled to the dole! I have no problem with them taking forms but stop sending back for rediculous reasons!
    They are not entitled to benefits but they are entitled to assistance.

I believe the difference between the two is not that much.....?
    'Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.'

Inigo Montoya.

It raises the question should dole be means tested...if you have 100,000 in the bank, or company bank account, as I am sure some self employed people do, should they be entitled to the same dole as everyone else?

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast