That is more substantial, and is a good number, but that is a huge discrepency in the figures.
Usually they take the Gardaí estimate
which one you referring to? RTE or Times?
and the guards are involved in the protest - could they be generous with the numbers?
TBQH id just like to know what the story is coz thats a major major discrepancy in estimation! i can understand someone saying 40-45,000 and someone else saying 50,000
but how can two different agencies be that opposing in estimates?
and if it is 50,000, do RTE have Questions to answer in terms of impartial reporting as that estimate (if completely untrue!) would seem to favour government bias in reporting?
Given the numbers that turned up for Bush/Blair war in Iraq protest a few years the numbers will be noted with interest.
As David Begg would say be careful what you wish for....
Still with the Rugby match on today and the appalling rain in the early afternoon I suppose that could account for it.
Dont rely on RTE's Ictu Malley for accurate figures though.
Will there by anyone from IBEC there? Given that many of IBECs members are semi-states, former semi-states etc Will Dermot Mannion or anyone from the Board of Aer Lingus be present?
Nationalise Waterford Glass, I say! That's the best suggestion all week, nearly as good as ulick MacEvaddy and his heroes! What a joke this country is!
It gives me hope that reality is hitting home. What we need now is an election with the different parties offering real solutions and real hope rather than populist grand standing.
We are in this mess becuase of FF corporatism, with five big snouts in the trough, all on a high from the fix of taxes related purely to an asset price bubble, which has not blown up in their faces and they cannot face cold turkey now that their tax fixes have disappeared. The five snouts were: Big business and Big banks that dominate IBEC, Big Public Sector unions, Big Farmers, FF led Govts and their appointees, and the Quangoes and so called civil society pilars, goring themselves on FF largesse on a big corporatist govt. The victims have been ordinary consumers who have been fleeced by inflation, cartels, and excessive utility prices, workers in small firms, workers in the private trading sector especailly those trying to export and single income families,
So far no political party comes close to representing the interests of those who have been the fodder for featherbedding these social partnership elites, certainly not Labour, and F.G only half heartedly and certianly not Joe Higgins who has no problem with many of our public servants being among the highest paid in the E.U and owning seocnd andthir homes either hear or abroad.
Ironically the party that is doing so now is the one that got us into this mess in the first place, FF, and that doesn't say much for the alternative.
A plague on all their houses. If they could clone Richard Bruton in every constituency I might vote, but FG is amny headed hydra and I fear will allow the Corporatist Gilmore walk all over them.
Last edited by west'sawake; 21st February 2009 at 02:52 PM.
Working in a hosptital and surfing the net? I presume during your break?
not working on site but on standby offsite (ie no drinking, no opportunity to protest, while hoping the bleep doesnt go off....!) fingers crossed!
btw i see rte have changed their tune! in this regard, if a mod wishes to change the title to 50,000, please, feel free!
so what was RTE's game with those kinda figures?! thats ridiculous!