Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Behan and Mc Grath removed from committees

Behan and Mc Grath removed from committees

story on Irish Independent News Ireland | Irish Newspaper | Free News Stories Online - Independent.ie McGrath has been removed from the Justice committee while Behan loses €6000 after being removed from his convenor role on the Education committee.

They only had these positions by the grace of the Taoiseach. They can hardly expect to hold onto them when they turn their back on the government.
    Last edited by Keith-M; 29th October 2008 at 07:01 PM.
    The Mahon Tribunal found Olivia Mitchell to have received an inappropriate payment from Frank Dunlop at the time of the 1992 Election. F.G. Gael has taken no action against her.

very petty don't you think? im taking my football and going home kind of stuff!

The old line we hear when anyone asks about FF supporters being appointed to state boards comes to mind.

It goes something like this - we always appoint the best people, and why should someone be disqualified just because they are a member/supporter of FF?

A hollow claim at the best of times.

Naked abuse of power to extract vengeance and to warn the others. No middleman required. No patriots neither.

Fair play to Behan and McGrath.
    'Personally, I find the notion of changing our constitution in exchange for a loan absolutely disgusting'. - Tin Foil Hat

Quote Originally Posted by peadarmc View Post
    very petty don't you think? im taking my football and going home kind of stuff!
    It's hardly petty - they withdrew their support from the government, so they have been removed from their committee positions. Simple really, and hardly unexpected.

Although I think Behan will fare better out of this than McGrath. Behan has raised his profile from 0 to 100% and can now say that he is putting his money where his mouth is whereas McGrath can no longer seek government support for his pet projects.

i dont think its unexpected! i agree with He3 above - says it all really bout FF and their appointments

Quote Originally Posted by peadarmc View Post
    i dont think its unexpected! i agree with He3 above - says it all really bout FF and their appointments

Don't be stupid. This has nothing in common with state boards. These committees go to members of the Oireachtas. Behan and McGrath decided to bail on the government; why should they get the benefits of supporting FF/GP when they don't want to take any of the pain?

Quote Originally Posted by draiocht23 View Post
    It's hardly petty - they withdrew their support from the government, so they have been removed from their committee positions. Simple really, and hardly unexpected.

Although I think Behan will fare better out of this than McGrath. Behan has raised his profile from 0 to 100% and can now say that he is putting his money where his mouth is whereas McGrath can no longer seek government support for his pet projects.
    So you think that its about who you support rather than whether you are the best person to do the job?

Quote Originally Posted by borntorum View Post
    Don't be stupid. This has nothing in common with state boards. These committees go to members of the Oireachtas. Behan and McGrath decided to bail on the government; why should they get the benefits of supporting FF/GP when they don't want to take any of the pain?
    it does in terms of FF appointees! and committee members should be selected on the basis of merit! Mc grath did a lot of good work on the Justice committee! and furthermore, Behan and mc grath are still members of the Oireachtas!!

Its also a message to other waverers that when you make the grand gesture and leave,then you are truly out lock ,stock and barrel. Maybe petty but could have a sobering effect on others who might think they could make a grandstand on some of the unpalatable items and come back in in a few months

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast