Page 5 of 29 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: Sunday 26th SBP RedC Poll - FF 26% (-10) FG 33% (+5)

Politics.ie Royalty toxic avenger's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by kerrynorth View Post
    FG need this government to hang together for at least the next 2 years. Luckily for FG FF also need to stay on government or face the slaughter. The Greens though I suspect will not be able to stomach the 2010 budget. I expect the government will fall by December 09.
    We could be in for a period similar to John Major's administration in the mid-90s, a government completely hobbled by the disastrous handling of the ERM crisis of September 92, kept on life-support by the Ulster Unionists with terrible consequences for the peace process. Even though it was Ken Clarke who fostered the 'green shoots of recovery', it was the incoming Labour administration that took the plaudits. I'm not sure Blair would have wanted power in 94, and I'm not sure FG should want it now.

Quote Originally Posted by toxic avenger View Post
    I'm not sure Blair would have wanted power in 94, and I'm not sure FG should want it now.
    You don't understand Richard Bruton - he believes that he can improve the state of the country by implementing his policies.

Quote Originally Posted by wombat View Post
    You don't understand Richard Bruton - he believes that he can improve the state of the country by implementing his policies.
    Ken Clarke did that in the mid-90s as Chancellor, who gives him the credit now?

Quote Originally Posted by toxic avenger View Post
    Ken Clarke did that in the mid-90s as Chancellor, who gives him the credit now?
    You do - its not always about getting credit.

Quote Originally Posted by CookieMonster View Post
    This Sunday's Red C/Sunday Business Post poll.

FF - 26% (-10)
    FG - 33% (+5)
    Lab - 15% (+6)
    Green - 6% (-1)
    SF - 10% (+1)
    PD - 2% (-1)
    Ind - 8% (no change)

RTÉ News: Poll shows 10 point drop for Fianna Fáil

Some discussion here also.
    What can we say than to tell people that the idol is getting unmasked, no party can govern a country perpentually anyway given this anticident poll changes.

Humm interesting.

Edo

Quote Originally Posted by peadarmc View Post
    well Edo i am genuinely very sorry to hear about the job situation, hope that doesnt happen! to be honest, while i agree, we havent heard feck all from the opposition, and while the rest of the opposition may not be the greatest, with regard to the economy, surely richard bruton is the best candidate in Dail Eireann??
    Jaysus Peadar I haven't been diagnosed with a terminal illness - its just another redundancy- you get used to it in the private start-up sector - I'll just clear my desk and go for a beer and tomorrow is another day- thanks for the sentiments anyway - what is worrying here is that in any of the previous recessions since the 70's - we would have been recession proof - nationally and internationally the credit seize up has spread to every facet of the economy - the worst has yet to be felt and we will be a long time picking ourselves up off the ground and the longer we are in denial about this - the far worse it is going to get.

I have a lot of time for Richard Bruton and if he had been listened to over the last couple of years we might have been in a lot better shape for what is happening now - but Richard is only one person and his skill is in the small details - the rest of the FG bench and party in general has to stand a give a coherent , and I emphasis the word coherent- joined up credible alternative to what we have at the moment and be able to spell that out to the electorate - at the moment , well , its populist - grand - there is a time and a place for attacking the government and it has to be done - but unless a credible alternative vision and platform are being worked on and articulated at the same time.............Labour and Sinn fein are in exactly the same situation BTW.

All Im saying is all that can be read from this poll is that the electorate are throwing the toys out of the pram cos somebody took 1 of their 30 lollipops away from them.

Its the blank piece at the end of the page - as irrelevant as those who don't vote.
    The level of confidence in the democratic system is quite relevant.
    When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators

You do - its not always about getting credit.
    I'm afraid it is, you get credit, you get votes. FG would be silly to want power now, to be remembered as the party of cutbacks and austerity, as opposed to the sunny times under FF where every interest group was pandered to, no matter how irresponsibly. People really are that stupid, I'm afraid...

Why the close of the original thread?

Went to reply to one particular post but no quote button. And I have noted that replies don't carry to a new thread.

If this Gov't goes the full term, FF will be back in. They have about three years to swing it.

Any use of this budget as a stick to attack with could be met with 'ok, vote for the party that took a shilling off the OAP'. That still resonates with some older people.

And I met more middle-aged people who are now coming to think that the over-70's are becoming greedier than a politician, with that 700 euro (single) limit. Too many don't even get that much in wages and they have a hell of a lot more living expenses than an over-70.

The middle-aged vote too.
    The enemy of my enemy is the enemy of my enemy. There are lies, damn lies and Fine Gael confusions. "I don't understand." Alan "it's only 79 punts" Shatter

Quote Originally Posted by kerrynorth View Post
    FG need this government to hang together for at least the next 2 years. Luckily for FG FF also need to stay on government or face the slaughter. The Greens though I suspect will not be able to stomach the 2010 budget. I expect the government will fall by December 09.
    Havnt fg and labour been out of office long enough ?,politics is about being able to effect change,so you have to be in goverment ,i hope this goverment collapses very soon.

Page 5 of 29 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast