Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Sunday Business Post REDC Poll 21/9/2008

Politics.ie Regular Defeated Romanticist's Avatar

Re: Sunday Business Post REDC Poll 21/9/2008

Cowen's been very low key for a long while meanwhile their has been nothing but bad news and still FF are at 36%!

This time 5 years ago we were at around 30-33%. This is a desparate opinion poll for Labour. If Gilmore has a bad locals will he go?

Still govt and supporters at around 50% in the polls, that is very impressive.
    Liquidate labour, liquidate stocks, liquidate the farmers, liquidate real estate.

Not bad for Fine Gael, they appear to be creeping up again. By and large much the same. No ground breaking move for Labour. The Shinners have obviously peaked. FF wont be very concerned with this poll???????????

Quote Originally Posted by Defeated Romanticist
    Cowen's been very low key for a long while meanwhile their has been nothing but bad news and still FF are at 36%!

This time 5 years ago we were at around 30-33%. This is a desparate opinion poll for Labour. If Gilmore has a bad locals will he go?

Yep, pretty much. I dont think anyone should pay these mid-term polls much attention unless they show major shifts. But to be at 36% during a recession and when the new Taoiseach has done little to catch the public attention is a pretty healthy position for FF to be in

[quote=wysiwyg]
    Quote Originally Posted by hiding behind a poster
    Quote Originally Posted by wysiwyg
    Quote Originally Posted by "David Cochrane":nxyzjkcl
    Tomorrow's SBP/Red C Poll

FF 36 down 4, FG 28 up 3, Lab 9 down 1, SF 9 down 1, Greens 7 unchanged, PD 3 up 1, Others 8 up 1.
    So damn all change... but wait till we hear the spin all evening... Labour seems a bit low and FG seem a bit high... nothing else really
    Down 4 isn't "damn-all change". Up 3 isn't "damn-all change".
    Statistical error range... damn all change.. but hey, if it makes you feel good[/quote:nxyzjkcl]

The last poll had a 15-point gap between FF and FG. This poll has an 8-point gap. Ergo FG have taken some support from FF since the last poll.

Great result for FG.. just one point down on last local elections
    No, one point up on the last locals. But again, the point is the trend.

so you'll just about hold your own... i.e. damn all change
    I think anyone who read your first post would assume "damn all change" referred to the previous poll. Are you now saying you were referring to the 2004 locals? Don't think anyone's buying that.
    "Elite - a small superior group; esp one that has a power out of proportion to its size." (Oxford English Dictionary)

The majority cannot therefore be the elite.

How many polls before 2002 and 2007 showed FG "up"

None of this changes your place in permanent opposition lads..
    Signed, Universal (LGBT...QRSTUVWXYZ)

Quote Originally Posted by borntorum
    Quote Originally Posted by Defeated Romanticist

Yep, pretty much. I dont think anyone should pay these mid-term polls much attention unless they show major shifts. But to be at 36% during a recession and when the new Taoiseach has done little to catch the public attention is a pretty healthy position for FF to be in
    The effect of the recession on people's lives is only starting to kick in, and has a lot more kicking to go. Furthermore, governments tend to improve support during the summer recess, as they have much more control of their media exposure, while opposition parties don't have the oxygen of the Dail sitting to get their stories into the news. Also, what's gonna be a tough budget hasn't even happened yet. FF will fall further.
    "Elite - a small superior group; esp one that has a power out of proportion to its size." (Oxford English Dictionary)

Quote Originally Posted by Universal_001
    How many polls before 2002 and 2007 showed FG "up"

None of this changes your place in permanent opposition lads..
    Is there a point in that post..... anywhere?

[quote=hiding behind a poster]
    Quote Originally Posted by "Defeated Romanticist":2x607qs1

The effect of the recession on people's lives is only starting to kick in, and has a lot more kicking to go. Furthermore, governments tend to improve support during the summer recess, as they have much more control of their media exposure, while opposition parties don't have the oxygen of the Dail sitting to get their stories into the news. Also, what's gonna be a tough budget hasn't even happened yet. FF will fall further.[/quote:2x607qs1]

I have never heard so much nonsense in a long time , do you know anything about politics ?? stop fooling yourself this poll is a disaster for FG only up 3 . The PDs who are finished are up 1 and you want to believe that the second largest party is doing well when they rise 3 in a recession . Cop on and start facing reality .
    FG should be up at least 7 points min if the people had any faith in it's leadership they would be up 11 .

FF will fall further.
    Maybe they will. But big deal. FF have been a lot lower in the past, and have come back up at election time. They will improve before the next election too, as all incumbents do. FG would want to be pretty much neck-and-neck with FF (at a guess) at this point to be confident of taking power next time. The polls in the UK indicate change of government is likely in that country. This poll suggests no such change here

[quote=foxrockman]
    Quote Originally Posted by "Defeated Romanticist":373goc2m

The effect of the recession on people's lives is only starting to kick in, and has a lot more kicking to go. Furthermore, governments tend to improve support during the summer recess, as they have much more control of their media exposure, while opposition parties don't have the oxygen of the Dail sitting to get their stories into the news. Also, what's gonna be a tough budget hasn't even happened yet. FF will fall further.

I have never heard so much nonsense in a long time , do you know anything about politics ?? stop fooling yourself this poll is a disaster for FG only up 3 . The PDs who are finished are up 1 and you want to believe that the second largest party is doing well when they rise 3 in a recession . Cop on and start facing reality .
    FG should be up at least 7 points min if the people had any faith in it's leadership they would be up 11 .[/quote:373goc2m]

Cnosdiering there's what abouit 30% of people who would vote FF even if Biffo punched a baby in Mass, any inroads are welcome. Judging by your posts so far I think it's rich for you to question people's knowledge of politics
    We need to radically change every system that has enabled the wholesale destruction of the Irish landscape, rural and urban. There is no time for incremental step by step measures. The systems have failed utterly and the only hope for a real recovery requires the rule book to be torn up completely.

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast