Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Cost of Asylum Seekers

Cost of Asylum Seekers

The cost of dealing with asylum seekers will reach €300m this year, with Irish lawyers making a killing from an estimated 1,200 judicial reviews of deportation cases by people who have entered the country illegally.

Each of the reviews is likely to cost the State at least €30,000 to €50,000 and some €20m is being set aside to cover legal costs to the Exchequer, as all are on legal aid.

It has also emerged that of the 3,985 applications for asylum made last year 502 applications for asylum were made in the name of children under the age of three. These are nearly all children born to asylum seekers living here and who have already been turned down for asylum. In some of these cases it is the second or third child in the same family to make the application.

Documents seen by the Sunday Independent also show how a large number of asylum applicants are arriving here by air but then claiming they have no passport or travel documents.

More than 3,400, or 85 per cent of those who claimed asylum here last year, appeared in the country and then made their application for asylum directly at the Office of Refugee Application Commissioner in Mount Street, Dublin.

The Government currently has legislation before the Dail seeking to reduce the time in which asylum seekers can use the judicial review system to stay in Ireland, which usually extends their stay here for a year or a year and a half, often while receiving benefits.

The documents also give details of social welfare and other scams being operated by illegal immigrants.

Last year gardai with the Garda National Bureau of Investigation, working with UK Immigration, detected a large number of frauds being perpetrated on the social welfare system here, many by illegal immigrants who were also claiming benefits in Britain and Northern Ireland.

Some were travelling back and forward to countries, particularly Nigeria, while keeping up benefit frauds here and in Britain. These include:

- A Nigerian man registered in this State with his wife and children on 'Irish-born Child' or (IBC) status who was claiming EU Treaty rights in the UK based on a bigamous marriage to a Belgian woman living in England. He claimed that he married the Belgian national in order to stay in the UK. His Nigerian wife here was found to be claiming benefits on his behalf as well as herself and children.

- A Nigerian man detained in Belfast who was found to be officially living in the Republic with his wife and Irish-born children. "On searching his luggage it transpired that this person is residing back in Nigeria where he runs his own legal practice. He admitted that he earns approximately $8,000 per month as a result of this practice," the Garda report states. His wife, who has rights to remain here until 2010 because of the Irish-born children, has been claiming benefits for both him, herself and children.

- Another Nigerian man stopped in the George Best Airport, Belfast, in March this year where he was met by another Nigerian man. He claimed to own a successful haulage business in Nigeria. A search of his suitcase uncovered documents showing he had been claiming benefits here for two years.

- A Brazilian woman who was also detained at the airport in Belfast in February this year had previously been detained in January 2007. "By her own admission she operates as a prostitute and travels through Belfast to enter this State as she had previously been refused entry to the State at Dublin Airport. She has conditions in the UK based on marriage to a British national," the report states.

- A Somali man also stopped in Belfast on April 28 last year was found to be carrying a large suitcase full of the drug 'quat', a type of natural amphetamine much used by Somalis but not illegal in the UK or here. He was found to have an address in Dublin and also to be in receipt of welfare payments.

An overview of the asylum seeker situation estimated that 90 per cent of claims are bogus; that many are seeking asylum simultaneously in Britain and Ireland while travelling back and forth to their home countries; that Northern Ireland is the most frequent route into and out of the Republic because of the absence of any Border checks; and that people who fail to gain asylum status immediately move from one jurisdiction to the other.

The 'top five countries' of origin of asylum seekers last year are: Nigeria, with 1,028 or 25 per cent of the total; Iraq, with 285 or 7.2 per cent; China, with 259 or 6.5 per cent; Pakistan, with 185 or 4.6 per cent; and Georgia, with 174 or 4.4 per cent.

A total of 468, or 11.7 per cent, of those who claimed asylum here last year were found, under the new pan-European fingerprinting EURODAC system for applicants, to have already applied for asylum in other EU countries.

More than half of those who applied for asylum here claimed to have arrived in Ireland without any documents.

Gardai said that the amount of fraud and false claims being made is making life even more difficult for the genuine asylum seekers who have escaped tyrannical regimes or countries where they face persecution for reasons ranging from religious and non-religious beliefs to political association or ethnicity.

Are we MAD ! 300 million Euros ! - Why aren't we using that money to wipe out the drug dealing criminal gangs that are such a threat to this country ? Why aren't we using it to provide decent support health and social welfare services for people who really need it ? ? ? .

Re: Cost of Asylum Seekers

You ask rhetorically: Are We Mad?

At this stage, as I see Dublin street's thronging with foreigners of every hue, I have come to the conclusion that we may very well be. It is without precedent for a nation to commit suicide as we are doing.

I think a DRASTIC review of Asylum Seekers is needed. There are too many. I was having lunch yesterday and one approached me and handed me a card which read "I am mute. I from Nigeria. I no work or no social welfare. Please help."

WTF like? Begging like? Thankfully he was removed from the restaurant.
    Every one sees what you appear to be, few really know what you are, and those few dare not oppose themselves to the opinion of the many, who have the majesty of the state to defend them.

- [SIZE=2]Niccolò Machiavelli[/SIZE]

This is certainly not the Ireland that the men of 1916 died for. What is the point of our so called "economic prosperity" if it's not benefiting ordinary Irish people and our children can't afford housing any more ? We're getting all sorts flooding into this country and a some of them are the real dregs. I know of one Nigerian who was in a local hospital. One of his "friends" insisted on parking his car in one of the disabled parking spaces outside the front door of the hospital every time he visited and threatened the security staff when they told him not to do it again ! Why is scum like that not been sent straight back wherever they came from ? In fact what on earth are they doing in our country in the first place ? ? - No manners, no gratitude, not prepared to queue or obey our laws - nothing to offer apart from lowering the standard of living in this country even lower for decent people. God knows we have enough of our own bowsies and scumbags without importing more.

Don't get worked up too much as it is already 5 years too late to talk about immigration control, I have said it before many times that I am all for people trying to get a better life but the numbers in some areas are truly amazing, we are so lucky not to have the ghettos that France and the U.K. have but there is a lot of areas not pulling their weight. The sindo ran the Romany gypsy scam today - organised begging rings and I have seen a 70K Merc driven by a begging gang , an African offering me a health board cheque for a car I was selling and countless foreign cars with no tax/insurance,

The pc lobby are the real issue here, they seem to be on a guilt trip of their own making.How many times have you seen kids with no seatbelt sitting in the front of a U.K. / N.I. car with no tax/insurance as against the countless East Europeans standing in the piss rain on the way to work their asses off. The scandal of health board free cars is truly astonishing - where's my free car after all I have paid for it over 20 times.

Then again I am a citizen (mug)

Quote Originally Posted by twtone
    You ask rhetorically: Are We Mad?

At this stage, as I see Dublin street's thronging with foreigners of every hue, I have come to the conclusion that we may very well be. It is without precedent for a nation to commit suicide as we are doing.

Its not maddness for the Irish ruling elite. They have cheap labour for their shops, restaurants, factories, homes etc. I know of one restaurant in Rathmines that refuses to hire anyone with a work permit, as they would have to pay the minimum wage.
    The Irish trade unions are side lined by this cheap labour, as are the Irish working class in general, and landlords are making a killing on rack-renting to these foreign workers - making it impossible for Irish people to find decent accomodation at a reasonable price. Did you see Chanell 4s despaches program two weeks ago? It told the English working class straight out to get on their Easy Jet out of the country to make way for a vast army of homeless/nomad workers, who are willing to sleep in building site tea huts or four to a room in tiny flats. Fianna Fail's Conor Lenihan said, reciently, that Ireland would have to fight for her share of immigrants against foreign competition. What he ment, of course, is that the Irish Landlord class will have to fight for its share of this vast homeless army - or otherwise they will be at the mercy of Irish workers.

You can add another 200 EUROS ON TO THAT CAUSE ONE OF THE FECKERS STOLE MY PHONE

It's truly despicable what we spend on these chancers and liars, especially when that money could actually be used to benefit those in genuine need of asylum:

http://skinflicks.blogspot.com/2007/07/ ... sylum.html
    Please sign the petition to establish a national day of celebration in honour of the vision of the United Irishmen!

It's an absoloute disgrace and a national scandal - Pensioners who've worked hard and paid their taxes all their lives not able to see their doctors because the surgeries are packed with these so called "asylum seekers" and their offspring. And while hundreds of millions of Euros are spent on these people who shouldn't be here, the government has a miserably inadequate social welfare service for Irish people and insists on means testing for carers allowance (to give but one example) for Irish people looking after family members who are unable to look after themselves - It's about time Irish people woke up and said enough is enough.

Oh lord. Ignorance is rife here i see.

Can anyone tell me, factually, the amount of aslum seekers applying last year as a percentage of the total influx of LEGAL MIGRATION?
    "......... we must sometimes listen to those who, consumed with zeal, have scant judgment or balance. To such ones the modern world is nothing but betrayal and ruin.........We feel bound to disagree with these prophets of doom who are forever forecasting calamity -- as though the world's end were imminent."

Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast