Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Jim D'Arcy succeeds in getting school for austistic children

Jim D'Arcy succeeds in getting school for austistic children

Hurrah for Jim!

The other week a woman - as set out in the Jim D'Arcy opposed school for autitistc children thread - was very selective in the information she provided and used it to slur a FG rep and imply he was opposing a school for autistic children.

When in fact the location of the proposed school was utterly wrong.

This has now been proven to be the case and low and behold the very councillor who she accused of preventing her children having their school is the very councillor who is now responsible for her getting a suitable location.

Is FF losing its touch?

It was the perfect example of the gombeen/stroke/parish pump politics FF is so good at.

An opposition FG rep was able to sort out something a government FF could or would not.

Any proof of this?

It's on the other site - I couldn't be arsed going through it all again I just wanted a thread setting out the alternative as this woman did Jim such a disservice.

I'm not expecting this thread to go on and on like the other one.

Politics.ie Member CookieMonster's Avatar

why would an autistic school need an autistic school?
    A poster of some consequence...

Quote Originally Posted by CookieMonster

IF I knew how to change the thread title I would but err I don't ...

Quote Originally Posted by The Earl of Desmond
    Quote Originally Posted by CookieMonster

IF I knew how to change the thread title I would but err I don't ...
    EoD - as the author of the thread you should find there is an 'edit' option in the top right-hand corner of your original post. Just click on that and it will take you into the publishing form which holds your original message - you can modify it from there.

well done jim. i hope that lady has the grace to apologise.

SPN

Re: Jim D'Arcy succeeds in getting school for austistic scho

Quote Originally Posted by The Earl of Desmond
    Hurrah for Jim!

The other week a woman - as set out in the Jim D'Arcy opposed school for autitistc children thread - was very selective in the information she provided and used it to slur a FG rep and imply he was opposing a school for autistic children.
    Tell the truth Earl!

The other week a lady found that a Local Representative was grandstanding by objecting to Planning Permission for an ABA School.

As I said at the time, the Local Representative would have been better served trying to help the ABA School solve their problem instead of trying to block them.

When this was put to the Local Representative, he agreed that he had made a mistake and undertook to find a solution that met everyones needs.

While I agree with your "Hurrah for Jim!", I would also point out that he really should have taken the initiative on this himself without trying to Grandstand - and I'm sure if you asked him, he would agree.

(ps: There are no FF Reps on Waterford City Council. They got handed their asses in 2004 over the Radiotherapy issue)
    "Always do right. This will gratify some people and astonish the rest." Mark Twain

“When a government is dependent upon bankers for money, they and not the leaders of the government control the situation, since the hand that gives is above the hand that takes. Money has no motherland; financiers are without patriotism and without decency; their sole object is gain.” Napoléon Bonaparte

SPN - the fact is he stood up for the legitimate rights of residents to object to the school being located in an unsuitable location.

It might be argued the residents were more concerned with the childrens welfare than the mother who was so determined to make them go to a location which was completely unsuitable.

Jim D'Arcy did not oppose the school.

You can support a school but oppose a proposed location at the same time.

The mother made out D'Arcy was standing in the way of her getting a school for her children when that was a lie. A mis-truth. An un-fact.

She also failed to explain that her brother in law owns the house she planned to use and also that the dept had for some reason agreed to pay over the market rate in rent to the owner for a set period regardless of whether it was used for that purpose all the time.

There are various strands to the story.

The first is that it is the dept who are responsible for providing the school and given one of her children is 11 I would expect the dept have had years of warning he needs a school place but still there is no school. She had done nothing to put pressure on the dept.

There is a FF cabinet minister in Waterford - don't all the parish pump whingers go on about how important it is that every vested interest in Ireland is catered for by having Ministers picked based on where they live because they are certainly not picked based on merit!

Secondly, the local FG rep was perfectly right to help the residents with their objections. He is meant to be an imparticla rep - he doesn't just represent the rights of that woman and her children to the exclusion of all others.

I always find it amazing how every local politician is always the one who "got" the new school/business/road/community center but they never had anything to do with the bad news. If I was to believe the list of achievements that came in my letter box from every candidate in the last election then in my locality there must be 20 new schools, 15 new roads, 9 new garda stations, 70000 new jobs and 4 decentralised government departments all within 10 minutes of my front door. I'll let you know if I find them.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast