Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 8910

Thread: Irish Student jailed in Senegal for 'mooning'

Do you think the Senegalese prosecution authorities should drop a case because someone outside tells them to?

It's very possible that the case is being brought before the court at the earliest opportunity. Such a delay would be expected in Italy. If the judge doesn't have the sense to send him home with a fine and decides to imprison him further, then is the time to ask for mercy. Presumably the Senegalese government can grant mercy after sentence. You can't ask them to give directions to the judge.

If you go to a foreign country and do something illegal, you can't expect express treatment, or exemption from their usual prison standards. He's unfortunate in getting caught, that's all.

Of course their law is making a mountain out of a molehill, just as ours would. And of course it's ridiculous to worry about seeing a bare bottom. But people do, and not only in Senegal.

SPN

Re: Irish Student jailed in Senegal for 'mooning'

I still reckon Willy should send in the ARW.

There are more upsides than you may think!

- There are lots of Natural Gas prospects off the Senegalese coast - and it's about time Ireland had a colony to play with.

- We are running out of Landfill space in Ireland, the PfG has undermined the financial model for incinerators, and Senegal is three times the size of Ireland.

- Potential Bogus Asylum seekers from that part of the world would think twice about messing with those mad Irish.

- It would be great training for the ARW in advance of their (much anticipated) deployment in Limerick (where the natives have now taken to shooting up Garda cars).

All positive stuff guys!

Quote Originally Posted by SPN
    Quote Originally Posted by smiffy
    Quote Originally Posted by TheJudge
    It is disgraceful that there hasn't been more of an outcry about this and a sad reflection on this country. I don't know if anything could be done to help but I do know that more could be tried.
    Like what?
    The Ranger Wing!

Beginning in the late 1960s, the personnel from the Irish Defense Forces were sent to take part in the US Army's Ranger School. Graduates of this program returned to Ireland and established a new school, very similar in mission and organization to that of the US Army. Students on these courses were selected from among all ranks and all Units of the Army, the Air Corps and the Naval Service. These courses proved to be very beneficial in improving standards of physical endurance, marksmanship, individual military skills and small unit tactics. By 1980, it was decided that the skill level of the members had evolved to a degree which warranted the establishment of an official Army Ranger Wing (ARW). The missions of this unit are multiple, including long range patrolling, training of other units, VIP security, anti-hijacking, hostage rescue, and counterterrorism. These duties, specifically as they related to CT, are considered supplemental to Ireland's primary response unit, the Garda Siochana.
    And it wouldn't be the first time the ARW would have dropped into an African Town to rescue hostages!

[quote:26vdfcpv]The ARW was deployed in Liberia following the Second Liberian Civil War as part of a peace-keeping contingent of more than 400 troops from the Irish Defence Forces, in turn part of a rapid reaction force for the United Nations mission in the country.

One of their most successful missions during this deployment was the rescue of a group of civilians captured by gunmen from renegade Government of Liberia forces. Acting on intelligence, twenty heavily armed Rangers were dropped by helicopter into the town of Gbapa. To avoid casualties among the hostages, the Rangers implemented a policy of non-lethal intervention and, after surrounding a 40-foot container containing the 35 hostages, rescued them.

You can be sure if this young lad was from Limerick that Willy would have had a squad in and out of Senegal by now![/quote:26vdfcpv]
    "Always do right. This will gratify some people and astonish the rest." Mark Twain

“When a government is dependent upon bankers for money, they and not the leaders of the government control the situation, since the hand that gives is above the hand that takes. Money has no motherland; financiers are without patriotism and without decency; their sole object is gain.” Napoléon Bonaparte

Earnest, I agree but seriously he is a non-connected Irish twit from Donegal, now imagine prince Harry on his Gap year doing the same, the world is about power and influence.

Is it fair to assume this unfortunate chap was sloshed at the time of this incident? If so, and i do hope he gets home safely without any nasty experiences-maybe it may act as a salient lesson to the many very decent Irish kids who travel abroad but who sadly believe that after a few pints of vodka anytype of behaviour is acceptable and just a bit of craic. It's not- it's deeply offensive behaviour and only goes to show how much obnoxious and crude behaviour we have come to accept as the norm- we shouldn't. I'm sick of drunk morons ruining a night out in Ireland.
    'I am Serious, and don't call me Surely...'

Re: Irish Student jailed in Senegal for 'mooning'

Quote Originally Posted by TheJudge
    As far as I know, he was put in jail about 10 days ago,locked in a cell with many other inmates, has been refused bail and has a trial at the end of this month with the prosecution hoping he will get 6 MONTHS jailtime. Fair enough - he made a stupid mistake but we're talking about a student who went out there as a volunteer teaching English to children. It is disgraceful that there hasn't been more of an outcry about this and a sad reflection on this country. I don't know if anything could be done to help but I do know that more could be tried.

Good enough for the bollix!! We go mad when foreigners break laws here (even ones we break oursleves - such as road rules!!)

I would imagine if he was mooning he was also obscenely drunk or something. Mooning is on the same street as other drunken agressiveness. I doubt very much he did so on the way home from work or that he is a nudist by belief and decided to exercise this right!!

10 days in slammer might be a bit harsh but I would imagine the Irish Gov have more to be doing than bailing out privilidged ******************************************s who go abroad to help others when all they want is to make themselves feel better!! Pity mummy wasn't there to drive him away in her SUV!!!

Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 8910