Received another of those fake paypal emails this morning. Getting three a week now, very annoying.
Decided to look at this one a little closer.
This is the link the mail provided:
UPDATE YOUR INFORMATION HERE : https://www.paypal.com/update
This takes you to:
Domain ID162340872-LROR
Domain Name:RENOULT.ORG
Created On:23-May-2011 07:08:27 UTC
Last Updated On:23-Jul-2011 03:49:38 UTC
Expiration Date:23-May-2012 07:08:27 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:Online SAS (R99-LROR)
Status:CLIENT TRANSFER PROHIBITED
Registrant ID:BMN-475564
Registrant Name:jean-claude RENOULT
Registrant Street1:WHOIS PROXY PRIVACY
Registrant Street2:Chez ONLINE - BP 438
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:PARIS
Registrant State/Province:
Registrant Postal Code:75366
Registrant Country:FR
Registrant Phone:+33.899193788
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:[IMG]file:///C:\DOCUME~1\Farrahy\LOCALS~1\Temp\msohtml1\01\clip _image002.jpg[/IMG]Admin ID:BMN-194612
Admin Name:Loic QUEVA
Admin Organization:E-SolutionsWeb
Admin Street1:3 R petit pavillon
Admin Street2:
Admin Street3:
Admin City:Montfort le Gesnois
Admin State/Province:
Admin Postal Code:72450
Admin Country:FR
Admin Phone:+33.272919549
Admin Phone Ext.:
Admin FAX:
Admin FAX Ext.:
Admin Email:[IMG]file:///C:\DOCUME~1\Farrahy\LOCALS~1\Temp\msohtml1\01\clip _image004.jpg[/IMG]Tech ID:BMN-194612
This redirects you to:
Premier Account Sign Up - PayPal
The website at aulas.org.br has been reported as a “phishing” site. Phishing sites trick users into disclosing personal or financial information, often by pretending to represent trusted institutions, such as banks.
AULAS.ORG.BR is hosted in the US by:
HostDime owns and operates its own data center in Orlando, Fla.
With a client base of more than 700,000 hosted domains on 3,000 servers, HostDime presently ranks among the top 50 biggest web hosting companies in the world and is a pioneer in Global Web Hosting.
Online fraud either blatantly ignoring the most simple security of somebody is using these sites to front the scam. Either way HostDime do not seem to be doing a thing about it.
I thought, what if the joint knowledge of the people posting and visiting here was used to find out more about this annoying and nasty ( The final site gets 95 hits a day and it is one of many) attack on ordinary people.
We all get these mails telling us to update our details etc. Can we put our differences aside and have a common goal. Track these people down.




14Likes

