Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Like Tree27Likes

Thread: Landlords, "Don't scrap Bedsits"

Politics.ie Regular The Field Marshal's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by LongLiberal View Post
    I think maybe it's only rather 'unsanitary' people who don't mind eating more or less and sometimes literally, in the same room that they sh1t and clean up in. Luckily I don't live in a bedsit.

Yes thousands of students have lived in bedsits, but many I know, did not necessarily by choice. They may be "cheap and cheerful" but its becoming degrading to people the state of some the 'bedsits' they are expected to live in on a permanent basis. I'm not aware of any studies or figures into the health consequences but it cant be healthy.

The government should get rid or at least demand that Landlords renovate bedsits. With the reduction in rent allowance, some of the conditions that more and more people are forced to live in, should only be used as temporary emergency accommodation for the homeless.
    Neither you or anybody else in favour of the proposal to force landlords to provide separate sanitary accommodation have addressed the simple fact that such proposals are costly to implement ,will reduce the gross amount of rental accommodation provided, and, therefore increase the cost of renting.

All your arguments are therefore without merit.

"The medium is the message"

Quote Originally Posted by The Field Marshal View Post
    Absurd ranting.
    Most bedsits are are not grotty in my experience.

You obviously mix with the skanger class.

Another spelling nazi

More ranting from an associate of the skanger class

Yet more off topic ranting.
    Nobody here is defending clearly substandard accommodation.

The issue here is that bedsits that share sanitary accommodation are perfectly acceptable and forcing landlords to provide separate facilities is going to increase rents everywhere.

You have been told that provided such accommodation is properly maintained there is no problem.

Issues concerning grotty bedsits etc have nothing to do with the topic.

Cnuts like you are fukcin everything that is wrong with this country !
    Rambo83 likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by seabhcan View Post
    How do they define the difference between a bedsit, and renting a room in a shared house/flat? It would seem like something that would be easy to get around given the difficulty of definition.

Will all rented rooms have to be ensuite now? Or are they banning cooking areas in bedrooms?
    The entire proposal is ludicrous as all works will have to comply with the extremeley onerous and spatially demanding Building Regulations.
    In many bedsits in older buildings it simply will not be possible to implement any such regulations.
    Where it is possible to do so already cramped bedsits will be made even smaller.

This is the absurdity of ignorant civil servants making proposals in areas they have absolutely no expertise or experience in.

Cnuts like you are fukcin everything that is wrong with this country !
    Is that all you can do is curse?

Looks like it since you fail utterly to address one single point I made or make any sort of argument.

Did you ever attend school I wonder?

Neither you or anybody else in favour of the proposal to force landlords to provide separate sanitary accommodation have addressed the simple fact that such proposals are costly to implement ,will reduce the gross amount of rental accommodation provided, and, therefore increase the cost of renting.

All your arguments are therefore without merit.

According to you, there none sh1thole bedsits, they're all lovely and anyone who has seen one or lived in one, is obviously just a member of the "scanger" class. You havent a fukcing clue what your on about.

Not all landlords are rich, but if you are prepared to rent out a property, then you should be prepared to make sure that it has decent sanitary standards.

Obviously a scummy cnut like you dont mind sh1tting in your sink, but most people do mind.

According to you, there none sh1thole bedsits, they're all lovely and anyone who has seen one or lived in one, is obviously just a member of the "scanger" class. You havent a fukcing clue what your on about.
    Thats not what I said.
    You imbecile.

I now know that you did not go to school.

Read what I wrote not what you wanted me to write.

Not all landlords are rich, but if you are prepared to rent out a property, then you should be prepared to make sure that it has decent sanitary standards.
    Thats a point I have already made but you being unable to read properly have not seen it.

Obviously a scummy cnut like you dont mind sh1tting in your sink, but most people do mind.
    Here you go again vomiting and ranting in your usual manner.

All other contributors to this thread can see that you fail to address the kernal points that these proposals if implemented are counterproductive and will nothing at all to improve the vastly differing modes of rented accommodation.

Now away to bed with you its way past your bedtime.

These are the facts. Thousands live in bedsits or "studios" particularly in the big cities. As a, poster said some can cost 500 a month. I know several people, who are single and who work hard, each week, but due to mad rates of rent they can only afford a bedsit. The posts been posted that Bedsits are some how nice and cossy is rubbish. Yes it may be grand for a seasonal student getting pissed each night, & then heading home for weekend. But not for people who live in one of these full time. Sleeping beside your cooker & fridge, is in no way good for your health, and this 2012! not 1912!

The fact is that although we are in an economic mess, we have as much empty housing units as Saudi Arabia has oil! Yet thousands of these empty housing units owned by the state (the people!) via NAMA remains empty! And thousands are stuck to live in these shacks, and pay landlords crazy amounts of money each month. And to add into the madness, the state pays Rent Allowance in the millions to house people in these shacks, and also good standard flats. Our money is payed via R.A. to Landlords to house people while the state owns thousands of empty housing units! Madness!

But why? Why give all this R.A. taxpayers money to landlords considering the economic climate?

To keep the value of property up? To keep the price of rent up? How many TD's & their friends are Landlords? It would be interesting to see what TD's are Landlords.

RE; The Neo-Nazi twat using the term "skangers class". Grow up & cop on to yourself!
    reg11 likes this.

People who avail of rented bedsits are normally students in their tens of thousands and other usually single people seeking low priced temporary cheap accommodation.

The price of housing etc is in no way affected by the behaviour of this cohort of people

Very very few of these above categories are interested in purchasing a house so I fail to see your point.

I must say I enjoyed my bedsit days. It was so romantic....guy comes to visit you, he's now in your bedroom--considered very daring at the time...

I used to divide the sleeping / eating area with a bookshelf or chinese screen or large house plant....poster of Dylan or Jim Morrison on the wall, books, albums, old second hand antique china cups or teapot bought in Francis St, big white Habitat lamp left on the floor, sand and polish floorboards, throw a bit of cheap white paint on walls and shelves to add light.... In those days bedsits were all you could afford but you made an effort to make them pleasant to live in...

Bedsits need only be squalid if their occupants are squalid....you do have to have clean and minimalist habits...

But a house near me now is let. On my visits to beg the tenants to turn down the noise / stop fighting / stop singing drunkenly in the garden, etc. I have noticed how they have turned the house into a pigsty and health hazard, despite the fact that it was a spacious decorated house with polished floors, new modern kitchen, downstairs loo and shower, utility room etc.

On the other hand I lived in London years ago in a house let in bedsits. They were tiny, but the tenants kept them beautifully, sparkling dishes, snow white dish towels. The shared bathroom along the hall was always clean.

Squalor is about people....not about the type of accommodation...
    jetttxyz likes this.

Politics.ie Regular southwestkerry's Avatar

for my two pennys worth I spend some time in a bedsit a few years back. The landlord was a bit off a mean bean the place was very run down. Cant say it was worth the rent I paid 60 old punts a week this been Tralee. On the other hand he had plenty places rented out and if he was compelled to smarten the place up I would be for it that been just that smarten the places up a bit, no great need to shut them down.
    Advances in any field are built upon people with the small or personal view. Give Israel Your support, it needs it.

Quote Originally Posted by Rambo83 View Post
    These are the facts. Thousands live in bedsits or "studios" particularly in the big cities. As a, poster said some can cost 500 a month. I know several people, who are single and who work hard, each week, but due to mad rates of rent they can only afford a bedsit. The posts been posted that Bedsits are some how nice and cossy is rubbish. Yes it may be grand for a seasonal student getting pissed each night, & then heading home for weekend. But not for people who live in one of these full time. Sleeping beside your cooker & fridge, is in no way good for your health, and this 2012! not 1912!
    The standard of bedsitting accommodation varies enormously as do the rents.

This is well known yet you persist in lumping it all together as substandard or overpriced.

This is basically a deliberate distortion of the facts on the ground.

The fact is that although we are in an economic mess, we have as much empty housing units as Saudi Arabia has oil! Yet thousands of these empty housing units owned by the state (the people!) via NAMA remains empty! And thousands are stuck to live in these shacks, and pay landlords crazy amounts of money each month. And to add into the madness, the state pays Rent Allowance in the millions to house people in these shacks, and also good standard flats. Our money is payed via R.A. to Landlords to house people while the state owns thousands of empty housing units! Madness!

But why? Why give all this R.A. taxpayers money to landlords considering the economic climate?

To keep the value of property up? To keep the price of rent up? How many TD's & their friends are Landlords? It would be interesting to see what TD's are Landlords.
    Its clear now that you are on an ANTI LANDLORD RANT.

This is why you started this thread and you are not prepared to argue the merits or demerits of your OP whether bedsits should have their own sanitary facilities.etc.

RE; The Neo-Nazi twat using the term "skangers class". Grow up & cop on to yourself!
    Did I hit a nerve or what?

There is a skanger class in Dublin and other urban areas principally Limerick.

That you are unaware of that indicates :

a] You are a skanger yourself
    b] You are not a skanger but are totally uninformed concerning social changes in Ireland
    c] You are not a skanger, are informed about social changes in Ireland , but are lying about these in order to make an ideological point to promote hatred of landlords.

If [c] is the correct evaluation it places you in the intellectual skanger class which is the worst one of all.

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast