Page 3 of 18 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Never mind Brady, Martin's resignation is the one that really matters.

In the recording of Sean Brady's homily this morning in among the usual Uriah Heep type commonplace remarks I'm sure I heard him say that 'We must stop the drip drip of revelations'. The commentators on PK didn't seem to pick it up. If I didn't mishear I feel that he remark might sum up Brady's anf the hierarchies primary concern,

Quote Originally Posted by Aindriu View Post
    There you have hit the nail on the head. Since its inception, the RCC has been a bad institution. Like all formal religions it is based on heresay with no scientific evidence to substantiate its claims.

It is an agent of social control and was effective for 2000 years at doing just that. It managed to keep a population in Ireland cowed and subservient and living in terror of being excommunicated or sent to eternal damnation. Priests were looked up to as almost god-like creatures who were the fonts of all knowledge and could do no wrong.

Well no more! The people are finally throwing off the yoke of enslavement and demanding answers. In Germany the RCC is imploding just like here. France will follow soon for the same reasons.
    Perhaps in the process the people will turn against the people who ran and continue to run the apparatus which enabled the church. Watch out Bertie et al. The noise that you hear are the tumbrils at the door.

ctr

Quote Originally Posted by aggressivesecularist View Post
    But then I'm not very fluent in homily any more.
    Try taking a course in Bullsh1 t...they are closely related.

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    I think you won't be satisfied until all churches are converted into temples of satanism or brothels, and Catholics are forced to "de-indoctrinise" in re-education camps.
    Temples of satanism or brothels. You know, that seems to sum up the church nicely.

Quote Originally Posted by Congalltee View Post
    Why are people talking about Brady's resignation?
    He should be investigated by the Civic Guards, for
    1. Administering an oath to prevent a crime being reported. Offences against the State Act.
    2. Failing to report a serious offence to the gardai.
    3. Conspiracy to pervert the course of Justice.

Anyone with sufficient information can initiate an investigation by making a complaint in any garda station.(eg the one against willie o'dea). The best evidence is usually the suspect's own statement..
    Just on these potential crimes Vincent Browne wrote an article on them

Brady's defence for not acting is risible - The Irish Times - Wed, Mar 17, 2010

It is just not believable that the purpose of the oath taken by two boys in 1975 was other than to cover up abuse, writes VINCENT BROWNE

YESTERDAY MORNING the Catholic Communications Office issued a statement “to clarify media reporting on Cardinal Seán Brady”. The statement said that in late March 1975, Seán Brady was asked by his bishop, Francis McKiernan, to conduct a canonical inquiry into an allegation of child sexual abuse made by a boy in Dundalk and concerning Brendan Smyth.

Browne's a trained barrister and he's quoting the law so one can assume, perhaps comfortably, that he's right and that the law has been broken and there should be criminal charges.

Morality definietly seems to be sown in the ruing caste. The law of the land obviously doesn't apply to people like Brady does it?

I would love to hear more about Sean Brady and Francis McKiernans relationship/frieindship in the 50's when McKiernan was teaching Brady, he was his Irish teacher. This being a boarding school situation, and having been a boarder myself, I suggest that this requires a little investigation.

Brady went fron Secondary school to Maynooth, on to Rome and returns as a Latin teacher only to be sought out by McKiernan to carry out the investigation into Brendan Smyth.

In 1997 on the occasion of McKiernan's Silver Jubilee, it is Brady now a Cardinal who delivers the eulogy. It is worth a read in the light of recent revelations.

14 Dec - Bishop McKiernan's Silver Jubilee of Episcopal Ordination

Brady praises McKiernan for his services in the full knowledge that he reported Smyth to him and that he, McKiernan, did nothing save prevent him from hearing confessions.

This and then the long list of apologists being rolled out to defend "poor Brady", the victim in their eyes. Dooley, a Fr.Rogers who appeared on Prime Time early this week, a lady called Mary on the Pat Kenny show yesterday.

It is worth repeating it..... they just don't get it.

Listening to this evening news headlines I think that we need Dr Martin now more than ever.

Foreign, for my mental as well as material well-being

Quote Originally Posted by Fear Rua View Post
    Listening to this evening news headlines I think that we need Dr Martin now more than ever.
    If Dr. Martin is as decent a person as he is claimed to be, then he will no longer have anything to do with this lot or their paedophile-enabling club.

Quote Originally Posted by CiaranMc View Post
    ... If Diarmuid Martin was to resign, though, I think that would be momentous - we'd finally have a senior member of the Catholic church in Ireland saying 'enough is enough'.

Listening to him on the news tonight I suspect he's close to resigning, but who knows? ...
    It's looking more and more likely. He's been in the thick of the fight, had that same terrible job, for seven years now. He should be rested back at the Vatican.

Have a look at his notes for that talk he gave to the Knights of Columbanus last Monday - Archdiocese of Dublin - 10/5/2010 The future of the Church in Ireland

He said " On a purely personal level, as Diarmuid Martin, I have never since becoming Archbishop of Dublin felt so disheartened and discouraged about the level of willingness to really begin what is going to be a painful path of renewal and of what is involved in that renewal."

He also spoke of "strong forces which would prefer that the truth did not emerge." I'd read that as a reference to financial interests, both inside the Church and outside but allied to it.

Politics.ie Regular The Field Marshal's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Fear Rua View Post

Archbishop Martin ,from the lowest to the highest level, is a serious source of disunity and division within the Irish catholic church .

Page 3 of 18 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast