Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: A Nation of Boozers Once Again?

Sure, won't all the private sector workers be in work, working for free that day, or so you might think from liars on the internet.

Politics.ie Regular TommyO'Brien's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Upper Chamber View Post
    I'd forgotten how good the Muppets were.
    "Irish citizens . . . on ratification of the Treaty could be forced to become Euro soldiers." Sinn Féin claim on Maastricht in 'Democracy or Dependency' p.6. in 1992.

I've read recently that language shift contributes to alcoholism and other social problems. I wonder how profound an impact this has had on Irish society.

Quote Originally Posted by johnfás View Post
    The Sunday Business Post reports today an interview with Brian Cowen on US Channel Fox Business in which he was asked if he had a message for Americans preparing for St Patrick's Day. What did our esteemed Taoiseach suggest? Enjoy the day with your families? Wishing everyone a great day? Of course not...

Brian Cowen couldn't possibly be trying to put forward an image of the centrality of booze to our "national" day could he? Of course not.

Is this what we're planning to sell Ireland as, a nation of boozers once again?
    We've never stopped, we are still a nation of boozers. Smoking ban + recession has reduced pub boozers but any thats missing from pub boozes at home.

Until a time when their is something to do in Ireland apart from boozing, we'll forever be a nation of boozers.

How many times did he lick his lips.......................123
    He is beginning to look like Shrek.
    He`s a fundamental plank.
    Did he say the IFSC was well regulated ?
    It suddenly became a hard landing................what a twat

He really is out of his depth.

Quote Originally Posted by southwestkerry View Post
    Was their not a few lines on the Sopranos a few years back when Chris was dreaming about death, Paula paying attenchen to the description says that Purgatory your talking about and then the man himself Tony says naaa thats not purgatory your talking about but an Irish pub on Patrick's day.
    Yup; every day was St. Patrick's day, and it always ends with some guys coming in and killing you in same way that you died in real-life - and, Chris adds - "it really hurts".

Quote Originally Posted by hammer View Post
    So we celebrate our Irishness by going to the pub

No wonder we are a shower of gombeens

Could we not celebrate it by

1. Going to a St Patricks Day Parade
    2. Listening to or partaking in music & dance
    3. Going to Croke Park for a sporting festival
    4. Spending time with our kids

No on the booze !!!
    Or, like myself, you could just completely ignore the day and be glad of a lie in.

I havent 'celebrated' 'Saint' Patricks day in years. Why? Because its rubbish, but, if it brings in tourism and fosters a sense of national pride, well, more power to it I suppose?
    No matter what you think of yourself, the moment you try to justify the murder of an innocent with idealism, no matter what that ideal might be, you take your place on the side of evil and all your claims to virtue are as naught.

I'd love to be in Madrid on St. Patrick's Day, or any day. Go out at midnight, eat. Go to a bar, another bar, another bar, loads of soakage in the tapas, go to bed at 7 am. No drunks apart from the non Madrilenos, what's wrong with that?

We are sent home at 2.30am whether we like it or not. We do not have any food available after say 9pm in a bar apart from chilli peanuts or something.

That's why the likes of Abrakebabra and the late night chippers are full of soaked up drinkers who would rather be back in the pub.

I think we do what we do, and sometimes we do it badly, but overall, the craic outweighs the bad behaviour, just.

Politics.ie Regular Oppenheimer's Avatar

Or just go on a nice long walk and smile at the luck you have being able to get such spiritual satisfaction in a place that is renowned for having a high natural beauty.
    We are "they"

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast