So we celebrate our Irishness by going to the pub

No wonder we are a shower of gombeens

Could we not celebrate it by

1. Going to a St Patricks Day Parade
    2. Listening to or partaking in music & dance
    3. Going to Croke Park for a sporting festival
    4. Spending time with our kids

No on the booze !!!
    I don't like Cowen but that isn't his fault.

Oh,, we do all the above too.

NYB

Let's not be in denial Ireland is known as a party country where everyone loves to drink and get drunk!

its what we are ,we can deny it all we want but most people would have or had an alcoholic in their family, call it what you like a curse whatever as a nation we drink a lot,i myself can take it or leave it but i know lots of people who can't, it is at every level of irish society . we are probably getting worse,check out today's papers what are the big supermarket chains offering for st,patrick week, you guessed it cheap drink. do you know the biggest selling items in cross-border shopping ALCOHOL, we are a nation of lushs cowen only stated the truth,(fuk,i'm aggreeing with brian cowen, help!)

Was their not a few lines on the Sopranos a few years back when Chris was dreaming about death, Paula paying attenchen to the description says that Purgatory your talking about and then the man himself Tony says naaa thats not purgatory your talking about but an Irish pub on Patrick's day.
    Advances in any field are built upon people with the small or personal view.

Quote Originally Posted by hammer View Post
    So we celebrate our Irishness by going to the pub

No wonder we are a shower of gombeens

Could we not celebrate it by

1. Going to a St Patricks Day Parade
    2. Listening to or partaking in music & dance
    3. Going to Croke Park for a sporting festival
    4. Spending time with our kids

No on the booze !!!

People DO go to 1,2,3 and 4, idiot. Why the crap?

Politics.ie Regular Upper Chamber's Avatar
    Living amongst the common people, 'The soil, the soil!'

Irish stereotypes

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCbuRA_D3KU"]YouTube- Danny Boy[/ame]

At least Cowen is speaking from experience.

Happy St. Patrick's Day, La Feile Pairic, to all

Politics.ie Regular TommyO'Brien's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by johnfás View Post
    The Sunday Business Post reports today an interview with Brian Cowen on US Channel Fox Business in which he was asked if he had a message for Americans preparing for St Patrick's Day. What did our esteemed Taoiseach suggest? Enjoy the day with your families? Wishing everyone a great day? Of course not...

Brian Cowen couldn't possibly be trying to put forward an image of the centrality of booze to our "national" day could he? Of course not.

Is this what we're planning to sell Ireland as, a nation of boozers once again?
    God but that man is some ejjit sometimes.

I am coming to hate St Patrick's Day and avoiding going out during it. I got fed up walking around drunks, fighting puke on streets, finding fights breaking out, and running into drunks dressed as leprechauns. It seems that we can rate our holidays in Ireland into getting p*ssed, getting very p*ssed, and getting totally p*ssed.
    All views expressed are my own.

Quote Originally Posted by TommyO'Brien View Post
    God but that man is some ejjit sometimes.

I am coming to hate St Patrick's Day and avoiding going out during it. I got fed up walking around drunks, fighting puke on streets, finding fights breaking out, and running into drunks dressed as leprechauns. It seems that we can rate our holidays in Ireland into getting p*ssed, getting very p*ssed, and getting totally p*ssed.

Ah, but you are an Irish-hater. A racist irish-hater. like most on here.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast