Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Who's to Blame?

Who's to Blame?

I was watching ‘Frontline’, considering the debates and I got to thinking about the Ireland we actually inhabit. I thought about the Lehman’s crash, Anglo Irish, AIB, BoI, FF, FG, Labour, Greens, County Councils, Gormley, Ryan, Dempsey, O’Dea, coughlan (doesn’t warrant a capital), the floods, the freeze and politicians of every persuasion and level.

I further got to think about P.ie, those of us who post and frankly, my own posts specifically.

Now, I have been critical of everything FF and Green in virtually every post I have made. I have also been critical, though with less frequency, of the opposition parties individually and collectively.

However, I have reached the point where I’m beginning to suspect that I, ultimately, am the only one responsible for the sh1te we are in.

Now, before I go further, I am going to accept full responsibility for the fact that billions are going to be spent on rebuilding roads and water mains. I am going to accept full responsibility for the fact that both activities will take place singly, in isolation and in the order I have just indicated. And also for the fact that the new roads will, no doubt, have to be dug up again and patched to allow the laying of water mains. Then re-dug and re-patched after the water mains have been re-laid to repair leaks and to be lowered deeper to protect against two weeks of frost and freezing temperatures.

I am 100% responsible because I have used my vote. I placed my line of ‘X’s against the names of those I thought might have provided a modicum of planning, management and leadership. What’s worse, I did so in local, National and European elections with the same unrealistic expectations. I confess openly. When voting, I neglected to state what it is exactly I expect of those who represent me. I didn’t give my views that I expect leadership, trust, honesty and coordinated layers of management. I didn’t explain that I would hold our Taoiseach and his/her Board of Directors (ministers) responsible for directing the affairs of Ireland, solving our problems and ensuring that middle-management (Councils and Corporations) were empowered, disciplined, facilitated and directed in enforcing a co-ordinated plan.

The fault is mine. All conceivable and inconceivable excuses and blame can be laid at my door. I apologise.

Please dont be so hard on your self, Consultant.

You only made the same mistake we all have.

That we have placed trust in incomptent gombeen wasters who for the most part would be unemployable in Mc Donalds. Just make sure never to reward mediocrity with a vote every again.

Oh and please join the neat queue that will be forming in about four months time and pick up an assault rifle of your choice when the sheeple that inhabit this place finally get some nads and start thinning the herd around lenster house.

(Just kidding, wiping out Fainna Failure by democratioc means is of course the only legal course of action anyone should take, and I would never incite anyone to go and dig up their grand da's .303 and start practicing marksmanship.)
    Political Compass: Economic Left/Right: -6.75
    Social Libertarian/Authoritarian: -3.03

Dont want you to feel lonely. I will share the blame with you. Now I know you are a neutral with a total bias against FF but if we want to really know who to blame we must collectively as a people take a good look in the mirror. My estimation would be that half a million people if honest would share the blame with you. The best kept secret in this country is the truth

In the meantime, it amazes me how much Joe Duffy and others can focus on and have something done about while all of our Institutions (Ministers, Councils, quangos) just shift blame.

Did you hear the builder tonight who blamed building specs for frozen new water meters? Who do the specifiers report to? Who is responsible? Has to be me or us, obviously. No other womble has his/her hand up.

this is ireland no one is to blame it just happened,its fate

Quote Originally Posted by consultant View Post

However, I have reached the point where I’m beginning to suspect that I, ultimately, am the only one responsible for the sh1te we are in.

you were duped

your vote didnt count
    your vote made absolutely no difference
    you are not to blame

democracy in this putrid state means nothing

nothing , until we have a real choice
    a caucus system like in the states where we can choose the candidates
    pick the best candidates, then support the best of each party

not gombeens pushed forward by central office
    hes a clowen but the name is good
    "If we VOTE YES there will be no more austere budgets. Fact " Hammer, mayday 12'

Quote Originally Posted by consultant View Post

Did you hear the builder tonight who blamed building specs for frozen new water meters? Who do the specifiers report to? Who is responsible? Has to be me or us, obviously. No other womble has his/her hand up.
    it's the thierry henry defence, i cheated but those in charge should have caught me, they didn't (we'll they did) so it's not my fault.

no honour, no decency, no patriotism, just pure unadulterated greed. such and such has a villa in marbella so i must get one, such and such has a helicopter i must get one. and on and on.

all the while young families are consigned to the scrap heap
    The mods have now certified me as being a sweet and reasonable human being and Supreme Leader of the P.ie muppet alliance.

Quote Originally Posted by eoghanacht View Post
    it's the thierry henry defence, i cheated but those in charge should have caught me, they didn't (we'll they did) so it's not my fault.

no honour, no decency, no patriotism, just pure unadulterated greed. such and such has a villa in marbella so i must get one, such and such has a helicopter i must get one. and on and on.

all the while young families are consigned to the scrap heap
    Yes, you are right. The lack of responsibility and ownership is endemic. The government don't enforce it and we don't demand it either.

Irelands favourite pastime. Looking for someone to blame.

Why did we build too much? Because we weren't building enough.
    no pasaran!

Ex member (closed per user request)

Quote Originally Posted by staunch ff View Post
    Don’t want you to feel lonely. I will share the blame with you. Now I know you are a neutral with a total bias against FF but if we want to really know who to blame we must collectively as a people take a good look in the mirror. My estimation would be that half a million people if honest would share the blame with you. The best kept secret in this country is the truth
    A lot of Germans also made the same mistake and voted for the NSDAP before 1933. They also destroyed Germany. Thankfully the game is up, and FF are now in the same category as the NSDAP, and we will rebuild Ireland without them. FF will become Neo FF, and stay an eccentric has been party.

My greatest wish for this country is that my grandchildren will ask me someday, “Granda who were "Fianna Fail", we read a bit about them in our history book at school today, they were under the same heading as Cromwell, the Famine, and the Black and Tans” - "Well we don’t like to talk about them - its quite embarrassing"

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast