Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Owner electrifies shopfront to deter public urinating

Quote Originally Posted by He3 View Post
    Can that contraption by adapted to electrocute the likes of FAS and CIE and the political parties when they p1ss on taxpayers? Could we bolt it onto the inside of the Leinster House railings.
    That's what electric cattle prods are for.
    The enemy of my enemy is the enemy of my enemy. There are lies, damn lies and Fine Gael confusions. "I don't understand." Alan "it's only 79 punts" Shatter

There was an episode on the Mythbusters TV show (on which urban legends are debunked or bunked (sic?)) about this type of thing. The urban legend was that by pissing on the third rail of a subway system (which is electified) you could get a shock - the show couldn't demonstrate that a charge would pass up a stream of urine to shock you, if I remember correctly they thought this was because the stream of urine is not actually a continuous flow. Interesting in the context of this.

wv

Quote Originally Posted by weathervane View Post
    There was an episode on the Mythbusters TV show (on which urban legends are debunked or bunked (sic?)) about this type of thing. The urban legend was that by pissing on the third rail of a subway system (which is electified) you could get a shock - the show couldn't demonstrate that a charge would pass up a stream of urine to shock you, if I remember correctly they thought this was because the stream of urine is not actually a continuous flow. Interesting in the context of this.

wv
    Try urinating against an electric fence. I guarantee that an unpleasant experience will ensue. It's not fatal (though you may wish it was) nor damaging.

An excellent learning experience.
    The enemy of my enemy is the enemy of my enemy. There are lies, damn lies and Fine Gael confusions. "I don't understand." Alan "it's only 79 punts" Shatter

Politics.ie Member CookieMonster's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Verhofstadt View Post
    I'm sure there will be some gentlemen out there traveling to Galway for this specific thrill.
    They'll be upset, seeing as Ennis is in County Clare, not Galway.

Quote Originally Posted by Tommy Tayto View Post
    AN UNSUSPECTING reveller literally got the shock of his life when he urinated against the window of a traditional music shop at the weekend.

He was the first victim of a controversial 'electric shock' treatment devised by the owner of Custy's near O'Connell Street in Ennis, Co Clare, for people using his shop front as a toilet.

CCTV footage showed the reveller being thrown back after he attempted to relieve himself on the shop front off the busy shopping street.

Shop's shock tactics fail to halt revellers in mid-flow - National News, Frontpage - Independent.ie

An interesting tactic here. Public urination in Ireland is a disgrace, and akin to something you would see in some third world shanty town. It really is a sickening habit, and this is exactly the way to deal with it. I applaud this man.
    Whilst I can understand the frustration of the shop owner and have little sympathy for the 'victim', the real problem here lies in the complete lack of public toilet facilities in the towns and cities of Ireland.

I cannot think of any public toilets in Dublin City Centre except for that weird yoke at O'Connel bridge (is it even still there?) and whilst its very easy for people to tut about public urination, what are people supposed to do - if you need to go, you need to go.

A blow to the back or a minor car crash can cause the human bladder to burst if it is full (as it act like a balloon, when empty it sits, deflated) something that will seriously mess up your life. But thats not a concern to the public representatives who are well paid to tackle civil issues like this.
    If I could mass-sterilise the planet, I would. Seriously.

on Aldebaran, safe on the green desert sand

THE CHAIRMAN of the Joint Policing Committee in Ennis yesterday proposed the appointment of two “urine wardens” to tackle the problem of public urination in the town at weekends.he appointment of urine wardens would be on a trial basis and they would patrol the town’s streets at weekends on the look-out for revellers urinating in public. Cllr Paul O’Shea (Lab) said: “The wardens would then notify the gardaí and on-the-spot fines would be issued. I’m very serious about this.” Yesterday, Mayor Frankie Neylon (Ind) said he would support Mr O’Shea if he brought a motion on the issue. “I would encourage it on a trial basis, but if our traffic wardens are getting spat at during the day in carrying out their duty, I believe any urine warden would be in a lot of danger at 3 o’clock in the morning. I can see difficulties with it.”

Urine wardens proposal put forward
    I watched with glee, while your kings and queens, fought for ten decades for the gods they made.

Hello, Hello, Hello!

Urine Trouble now, my son........
    Bazinga!

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234