Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Overgrow the government

Politics.ie Newbie cannabisireland.net's Avatar

Overgrow the government

On September 19th there will be a protest outside the Canadian Embassy in Dublin to show support for Canadian Marc Emery. Marc is a well-known activist, Vancouver retail store owner, and editor of Cannabis Culture Magazine. During his activst career he has helped to end a ban on stores being opened on Sunday, the sale of cannabis and other adult magazines which were outlawed as well many other things, but he is most known for his cannabis activism work. He has helped fund and promote many of the global marijuana marches since they began and has through various means promoted the culture and community

Marc was raided by Canadian police and the US DEA on July 29th, 2005, and arrested for selling marijuana seeds over the Internet. The US Drug Enforcement Administration admitted on the day of Marc Emery's arrest that his investigation and extradition were politically motivated, designed to target the Marijuana Legalization organization that Emery spearheaded and ran for over a decade in Canada. In fact the sale of seeds was not even mentioned in their press release. You can see a copy of the press release http://gallery.marihemp.com/marc-eme...ystatement.jpg

On September 10th 2005, over 40 demonstrations were held around the world to protest Marc's arrest for extradition to the United States. Locations included Moscow, Prague, Wellington, Sydney, Mexico City, Paris, and London. Fours years on and its time for activsts globally to hit the streets again

Global protests are taking place on September 19th globally to show support for Marc and to put pressure on those who wish to see him extradited, he is due to be sentenced on September 28th 2009. He is facing 5 years for his cannabis activism and the cannabis community worldwide are going to protest at this unjust sentence.

The details for the rally are:
    September 19th at 2pm in front of The Canadian Embassy at 7-8 Wilton Terrace, Dublin 2

For more on Marc Emery simply Google him or check out "Marc Emery vs The USA" on You Tube

The event is being organised by Legalise Cannabis Ireland please visit there site at Latest News

Please come along if you can

The last get together

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wz3R3vegp2U"]YouTube - Anti-Prohibition March, Dublin 2009 (Part 1)[/ame]

As pro-weed as I am, that video does not look like the most productive people in society.

I'll be attending the rally for sure!

Politics.ie Regular Reality bites's Avatar

Good luck, you should take a leaf out of the california model and work to legalize medical marijuana as a first step
    'I am not one of those who in expressing opinions confine themselves to facts' -Mark Twain

Yeah, 'cos what we need iz, the ever-growin' massess of unemployed, gettin' hooked on marijuana. Feckin great idea.

remind me in case I forget

Quote Originally Posted by Mr.De-Regulation View Post
    As pro-weed as I am, that video does not look like the most productive people in society.
    Not a suit to be seen....

Would ye not run down to Copeland's so at least one ye can look good for a photo op?
    Every one sees what you appear to be, few really know what you are, and those few dare not oppose themselves to the opinion of the many, who have the majesty of the state to defend them.

- [SIZE=2]Niccolò Machiavelli[/SIZE]

Quote Originally Posted by Cannabis Ireland
    CannabisIreland.net is maintained by a nonpartisan loosely knit collective and is not an umbrella group or splinter group of Legalise Cannabis Ireland (LCI) or any other organisation.
    Translation: Bunch of ignorable hippies, who can't even agree with others who support the same ideal.
    Keep smoking in Marlay Park and wandering down O'Connell Street in the tie-dyes, lads. All you'll achieve is your own personal files in Special Branch's filing cabinets.
    Either create a properly organised (none of this loose anarchist collective crap) campaign based on evidence and lobbying that involves all who support your ideal, instead of boasting of your splitter tendencies, or else resign yourself to achieving nothing other than your own further criminalisation.
    In short, this is not the way to achieve your aims.
    Please sign the petition to establish a national day of celebration in honour of the vision of the United Irishmen!

Quote Originally Posted by JCSkinner View Post
    Translation: Bunch of ignorable hippies, who can't even agree with others who support the same ideal.
    Keep smoking in Marlay Park and wandering down O'Connell Street in the tie-dyes, lads. All you'll achieve is your own personal files in Special Branch's filing cabinets.
    Either create a properly organised (none of this loose anarchist collective crap) campaign based on evidence and lobbying that involves all who support your ideal, instead of boasting of your splitter tendencies, or else resign yourself to achieving nothing other than your own further criminalisation.
    In short, this is not the way to achieve your aims.

all this anti-pot anger from someone called J skinner..

Quote Originally Posted by PAD10H View Post
    all this anti-pot anger from someone called J skinner..
    Moron.
    I'm firmly pro-legalisation of cannabis and anti-prohibition in general, as you'd know if you'd bothered to read any of the other cannabis related threads on this site.
    Please sign the petition to establish a national day of celebration in honour of the vision of the United Irishmen!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast