Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: Why I will never support the English soccer team.

Foreign, for my mental as well as material well-being

_. P .., .S.
    . .:............. ....
    ....:.................._ ....,
    ............ .............., .:..
    ....... . . _:........ :..
    _...... . .<........ ....
    ,...... ....... ..._.
    _..... ..:...) .....
    :.... ..:.... .....
    .... _:..... .....
    ...... .....U..._.
    ..... _:..... (
    O..... ......
    :... ) .......
    ....._ . ...E:..),
    .:.... ).... . _.....
    ..... ,...... .:....
    ) ..... ...:.._ .....
    ....... ..:..... ...+,
    . :...... )..:...,. ....
    .:....... ..+......., _:...
    ............?. .............. .....
    . .......:............,. :...
    . :..............) ...
    .. I. .. ,D.

I too had a lasting, in-built prejudice that made me slightly uncomfortable until I searched and searched and finally found a ridiculous reason to justify keeping it. Now I dont question my irrational prejudice any more. It's great.

Yeah, have to agree with those who say that the Irish are at least as bad as the Brits for endlessly crowing about past sporting 'achievements', however modest they might be. It is a bit tedious hearing about the heroes of '66 on BBC every other day, but at least they did win the damn thing. Houghton's goal or Packie's save might have been great moments in an Irish context, but they're not going to go down in sporting history anywhere other than Ireland.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Boxing View Post
    Well lads i have been a life long supporter of Ireland and England international teams. First of all i am Irish and support the Irish international team 100%. The reason i also support the English national team like so many other people is because of the club i support. I have followed Liverpool and any Liverpool player playing for England for as long as i can remember and even these days i watch the Spanish side because it has so many Liverpool players playing in it. I know a lot of people who support premier league clubs that shout abuse at there very own players when playing for England. Its this kind of narrow mindedness has the world the way it is today.
    i think your mixing up rivalry and nationlism...if you look at the first post you'll see this isn't about what happened before 1916 etc...this is about the english way of celebrating the win's.....english man utd supporters would hurl abuse at steven gerrard of frank lampard week in week out...but not for there national team...is this narrow mindedness on there part...your missing the point of this thread completley!

Quote Originally Posted by kells-man_really View Post
    i think your mixing up rivalry and nationlism...if you look at the first post you'll see this isn't about what happened before 1916 etc...this is about the english way of celebrating the win's.....english man utd supporters would hurl abuse at steven gerrard of frank lampard week in week out...but not for there national team...is this narrow mindedness on there part...your missing the point of this thread completley!
    In fairness, aren't they entitled to harp on about '66 on their own TV stations and in their own press when the target audience is their own people? The fact that Irish people get annoyed while reading The Sun or watching ITV - well, it might be worthwhile if they took a look at themselves, and ask, is it really any of your business?

Quote Originally Posted by kells-man_really View Post
    I will never support the English soccer team. He also gave his reasons why he wouldn't support them. I gave my reasons why i support the English national team. Who gives a f**k what way the English celebrate, we are as bad most of the time.

feck soccer...ireland has achieved nothing.

in rugby, in recent times, we have 1 grand slam, and 4 heineken cups!

and our cricket team is doing better (as amateurs amongst professional teams) than our soccer team...despite spending quazillions on wages and the FAI industry.

our golf is very respectable too.

the irish/chinese team came 5th in the Volvic Ocean Race.

our swimmers, athletes and boxers punch above their weight (if you forgive the pun!) given the investment they receive and the training facilities available to them.
    Gary O'Toole got silver in Euro Championships when the longest pool in ireland was 35m long (i'm not mentioning Michelle "Escobar" Smith). he had to swim with an elastic rope around his waist to build endurance for a 50m pool FFS!!!!
    Sonia really achieved a huge amount despite not winning a gold medal in the Olympics (tho the chinese who won came from no-where (training camp drinking turtle blood aparently), ran like umpa lumpas on speed on their short little legs for 10,000m and vanished never to be seen again!!!).

irish soccer? the very occasional result (we are blighted with drawing our way nil-nil through euro and world cup campaigns).
    "To robbery, slaughter, plunder, they give the lying name of empire; they make a desert and call it peace." Galgacus (from Tacitus)

Quote Originally Posted by Gimpanzee View Post
    In fairness, aren't they entitled to harp on about '66 on their own TV stations and in their own press when the target audience is their own people? The fact that Irish people get annoyed while reading The Sun or watching ITV - well, it might be worthwhile if they took a look at themselves, and ask, is it really any of your business?
    look at my first post!

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Boxing View Post
    I will never support the English soccer team. He also gave his reasons why he wouldn't support them. I gave my reasons why i support the English national team. Who gives a f**k what way the English celebrate, we are as bad most of the time.
    Come down off your high horse....your tryin to make out that rivalry is Narowminded...it's quite healthy what would sport be without it....?

Ireland went to the EU championships with 11 boxers 2 weeks ago. One boxer pulled out with a virus the other 10 brought home 10 medals, 4 gold, 3 silver and 3 bronze. What an achievement and this will be shouted from the roof tops for years to come and why not. Everyone is entitled to brag.

Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast