Page 8 of 14 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Team Expelled from Leinster Football League over Assault and "Xenophobic Insults"

Quote Originally Posted by meriwether2 View Post
    No, I have nothing to say about the report saying the referee did not see the incident, becasue I dont care about the incident.
    You're on the wrong thread then.
    Wasn't it you who suggested we should all rely on the referee's report?

I dont particularly care about a creamer headbutting a Latvian on a field in Dublin.
    Fascinating. What's your evidence for a headbutt occurring, and what may I ask is a 'creamer'?

What I am interested in is your assertion that this Latvian team are hypocritical in accusing others of xenophobia, when they themselves are xenophobic, in that they refuse to allow non-latvians to play for their team.
    The proof is the lack of Latvians on their team.
    This is, after all, the level of proof required in this age of the equality authority. A traveller refused entrance to a bar for being drunk will win a case for discrimination if they can demonstrate no other travellers were in that bar at the time.
    If you're happy to accept that Landon are guilty of filthy racism and xenophobic attacks despite the fact that the referee did not witness any assault, why the reticence to accept that an all-Latvian team is operating a discriminatory membership?
    Please sign the petition to establish a national day of celebration in honour of the vision of the United Irishmen!

Quote Originally Posted by The_SR View Post
    The Gah lads just can't get their heads around a functioning disciplinary system.

Actions. Consequences. The GAA should look at it.
    Joe Moran tagged me as an "anti irish bigot" for this post.....

No doubt evey single GAA journalist and correspondant and the incoming GAA President who believes the system is not working is a "bigot" too.

You really couldn't make it up.

Quote Originally Posted by The_SR View Post
    Why are you wasting your time? He is a northern bigot who is trying to make some clumsy point about integration via football.

No-one whose opinion matters has a problem with migrant groups forming their own sporting and social clubs, sure haven't the Irish been doing that for hundreds of years overseas.

I'm personally delighted that the FAI have a zero threshold on racial abuse in the game and are clearly implementing the "Show Racism the Red Card" campaign, unlike other sports who have signed up for it.
    I love how you knock him by saying that he is a bigot and use his location in the north as an insult. Using location/place of birth as an insult is bigoted as well you know. Or is it okay to be bigoted over short distances?

Still Aithníonn ciaróg ciaróg eile

Quote Originally Posted by Duth Ealla View Post
    I love how you knock him by saying that he is a bigot and use his location in the north as an insult. Using location/place of birth as an insult is bigoted as well you know. Or is it okay to be bigoted over short distances?

Still Aithníonn ciaróg ciaróg eile
    Read his comments on the sectarianism in Windsor Park or Scottish football for context.

The proof is the lack of Latvians on their team.
    Thats not proof.

This is, after all, the level of proof required in this age of the equality authority. A traveller refused entrance to a bar for being drunk will win a case for discrimination if they can demonstrate no other travellers were in that bar at the time.
    Indeed. Now, where is our metaphorical footballer who has been refused entry to the Latvians team?

If you're happy to accept that Landon are guilty of filthy racism and xenophobic attacks despite the fact that the referee did not witness any assault
    I dont believe I said I was. If I did, I amn't.

why the reticence to accept that an all-Latvian team is operating a discriminatory membership?
    Because there's no proof, as of now. You've been asked for the proof. Where is it?

Meri, you never told me what a 'creamer' is.
    As for the Latvians, I just rang them back and asked to join their team. They hung up again. So I'm at least one footballer who has been refused entry to D-Pils.
    Please sign the petition to establish a national day of celebration in honour of the vision of the United Irishmen!

Quote Originally Posted by JCSkinner View Post
    As for the Latvians, I just rang them back and asked to join their team. They hung up again. So I'm at least one footballer who has been refused entry to D-Pils.

Creamer - Cream Cracker - Knacker

Thought you knew everything about everything ?

What kind of a tool would call them and ask to join their team... seriously ?

Quote Originally Posted by the impossibilist View Post
    What kind of a tool would call them and ask to join their team... seriously ?

Or worse, makes up a story that they did....

Quote Originally Posted by JCSkinner View Post

This is hilarious.

You asserted that the Latvians have no leg to stand on re accusations of xenophobia, because they themselves operate a xenophobic team selection.

You made this assertion without evidence. This is because your 'evidence' now is a phonecall you made. 'Just rang them back' I read.

So, at the time, your accusation was baseless, and now is supported by a hilariously ridiculous anecdote.

I can see that standing up in a court of law.

Ill tell you when I see my evidence that the Latvians operate a xenophobic team selection policy.

This is hilarious.

You asserted that the Latvians have no leg to stand on re accusations of xenophobia, because they themselves operate a xenophobic team selection.

You made this assertion without evidence. This is because your 'evidence' now is a phonecall you made. 'Just rang them back' I read.

So, at the time, your accusation was baseless, and now is supported by a hilariously ridiculous anecdote.

I can see that standing up in a court of law.
    I recorded the conversation, such as it was. I'd be happy to submit it to a court if required.
    The fact is that this team is entirely Latvian. I called them asking to join their team and they hung up on me. They have no interest in anyone playing for them who isn't Latvian, but are happy to level accusations of racism against others.
    Accusations that they have peddled to the Russophone media here, but that are not substantiated by the referee of the game.
    You seem happy to take those accusations as gospel and malign the good name of a team that has played in this league for many years and does tremendous work in a deprived area of Dublin.
    In fact, you're happy to level disgusting terms of prejudiced abuse at them.
    But you're not prepared to countenance that a team made up of entirely one nationality playing in a country where those nationals form a tiny fraction of the population, who hang up when people of other nationalities ask to try out for their team, might be operating a xenophobic selection policy.
    Not very consistent of you, is it?
    (Unless one operates from the assumption that only Irish people can be racists.)

Page 8 of 14 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast