Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Employing black people as toilet tenants is 'demeaning'

Employing black people as toilet tenants is 'demeaning'

AN anti-racism body has hit out at pub and nightclub owners for the "demeaning" practice of employing black people as toilet tenants.
    The tenants, who have become a feature of pubs, nightclubs and hotels around the country, distribute paper towels to customers and sell items such as aftershave and perfumes.

The National Consultative Committee against Racism in Ireland (NCCRI) said it was concerned about the message it was sending out.

"I would certainly feel that the whole process is demeaning, and I would be concerned about what sort of rates of pay are being offered, if no Irish people want to do the jobs," its director Phillip Watt said.

Most of the toilet tenants are paid a nominal fee by the owner of the premises and make the majority of their income from tips.

Mr Watt said he believed many people were embarrassed into giving money to the toilet tenants.

"To me, it's highly reminiscent of apartheid in South Africa and the USA before civil rights. I think nightclub owners might think of doing this in a more sensitive way and maybe redeploy the people in areas which are less demeaning," he said.

- Michael Brennan

Here

The substantive point would appear to be bogus: these are jobs Irish people supposedly "don't want". Obviously they must be poorly paid and Nigerians are willing to take them up. What's the problem? I remember (long ago) Irish people filled these positions, like many others that Irish people aren't apparently willing to do. The argument to let failed asylum seekers stay (amongst others) is that they are here "to fill jobs Irish people don't want". Yet the NCCRI don't think they should be employed in these positions because it sounds out "the wrong message". What is that? And if black people aren't to work there, who will fill these positions? What other jobs shouldn't black people not be expected to do? Who should be "demeaned" in their place? If they aren't willing to work these jobs, why bother giving failed Black asylum seekers "leave to remain" here, these are some of the only jobs they are qualified to do. Sorry, it's true.
    [color=#FF0000]"The minarets are our lances, the domes our helmets, the believers our army."[/color]
    -Turkish Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan in 1997, on Mosque construction in Europe

Politics.ie Royalty toxic avenger's Avatar

Re: Employing black people as toilet tenants is 'demeaning'

Why do you have the Death's Head of the SS as your avatar? Particularly with the name Zyklon B?

I remember one of these Bog Butlers (I'm gonna copyright that title)in a Donegal nite club as a teen. Thing is, he was an absolute image of Albert Einstein but spoke like Daniel O Donnell. I'd say they make a tidy sum in tips these guys. Drunks and their money are easily parted.
    Just 1 gram of cocaine destroys 4m2 of tropical rainforest. Give it up ya selfish b'stards.

Quote Originally Posted by toxic avenger
    Why do you have the Death's Head of the SS as your avatar? Particularly with the name Zyklon B?
    You Sir ...Should know better than to ask such a simple question.

What do you mean, Irish people did these jobs "long ago"? Toilet Guys only appeared about 4 or 5 years ago, a symptom of the crass vulgar up-itself w@nker society Ireland has become.

Everyone I know hates the idea of Toilet Guys. Not the fellas themselves, they're just trying to earn a few bob, but the entire concept of Toilet Guys. Most people I know have a policy of simply not going to pubs which foist Toilet Guys on the long-suffering Irish people.

It's pure gombeen peasant mucksavage barbarianism. It's Ireland's equivalent of the African peasant warlord who comes to power and raids the national treasury to buy himself a fleet of Lambourghinis. Pure bolloxology.

For shame, Ireland. How low you have fallen under the toxic spell of the Gangster Ahern.
    Je suis un loo-lah

Is there someone putting a gun to the heads of black men and forcing them to work as toilet attendants? If this is the case the Gardai should be immediately informed.

No, bog butlers have always been around, I remember an Offaly man was such in the Jackson Court Hotel (going back, oh 10-12 years). Never considered it demeaning, actually.

I think it's ironic with so many of them scrounging on the dole that the that are gainfully employed are considered "demeaned". Says more about the NCCRi, I think.
    [color=#FF0000]"The minarets are our lances, the domes our helmets, the believers our army."[/color]
    -Turkish Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdogan in 1997, on Mosque construction in Europe

Politics.ie Royalty toxic avenger's Avatar

Seriously, why the SS Death's Head avatar? And the name?

The NCCRI strikes again. How are they funded again?

Morons? Do we pay for this? Can we just shut the whole thing down and fire those involved?
    When buying and selling are controlled by legislation, the first things to be bought and sold are legislators

Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast