Page 2 of 22 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
Like Tree60Likes

Thread: Hooliganism at GAA games

Politics.ie Regular former wesleyan's Avatar

I wouldn't be suprised if these two teams went at it !

Redirect Notice
    The Irish are not a serious people. Colm McCarthy to Miriam O'Callaghan.

Am I right in thinking that most of the aggro is in Gaelic Football and that Hurling - Trouble with Rasharkin recently and the authorities cracked down on it hard - and Camogie are relatively trouble free ?
    "We hold that no power, not even the British Parliament, has the right to deprive us of our heritage of British citizenship".

There does seems to be an increase lately in violence at GAA matches - at least from the coverage I've seen and heard tho I am not a regular fan. Used to be GAA supporters prided themselves on the family atmosphere and from going to matches 20-30 years ago I don't recall any violence on pitch or off. Scuffling used to be for parish teams but senior matches were generally well governed.

Is it symptomatic of something I wonder? Maybe people copying what they see in other sports on the telly?

Politics.ie Regular Clanrickard's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Boggle View Post
    Probably the dumbest thread in the world. You use an incident of alleged hooliganism at a single match and then go on to claim that this makes rugby supporters better?

If you want to make a case about hooliganism in GAA then at least make a decent OP highlighting a few examples and demonstrate that no such thing ever happens in rugby if you are going to compare it to that sport.
    It is not dumb at all. I don't recall rugby supporters beating the head off each other but I can think of umpteen GAA matches where supporters got involved. The "Ladies" football match up in Tyrone, the Louth/Meath Leinster final 2 years ago, the Wicklow brawl 2 years ago etc
    MaireadKelly1 likes this.
    "The Egyptians could run to Egypt, the Syrians into Syria. The only place we could run was into the sea, and before we did that we might as well fight.” -Golda Meir

Quote Originally Posted by louis bernard View Post
    Give me an instance where the sort of hooliganism I have high lighted took place at a Rugby game.
    Thats your job. You compared it to rugby so make your case as to why rugby fans are better behaved.

Frankly, I am quite proud of the GAA and i like the way fans mingle and give each other stick with no trouble. The odd time you get some knackers who go off on one but they are not necessarily GAA fans - just knacks out for a fight.

Politics.ie Regular ballot stuffer's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by louis bernard View Post
    There was a dreadful demonstration of hooliganism involving dozens of people at a GAA match in Ulster yesterday. People were injured and all this was witnessed by small children. It was a very frightening episode. Why is it that scenes such as this would just not happen at a rugby match? Is it something in the psyche of some GAA followers that condones violence? Of course not all GAA followers behave like this but there seems to be an uncivilised element in the GAA at club level that would be alien to rugby supporters.
    I've played club rugby and I can say that disorder like this is not unheard of albeit on a smaller scale. I remember many years ago one particular game where half the forwards were trading blows and on ran what must have been one of the players mothers with a golf umbrella!
    The problem with socialism is that eventually you run out of other people's money.

There is no place for this kind of violence at GAA games .....leave the "english disease" where it started.
    PO'Neill likes this.

Politics.ie Regular Clanrickard's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Cruimh View Post
    Am I right in thinking that most of the aggro is in Gaelic Football and that Hurling and Camogie are relatively trouble free ?
    I think that would be a fair view from the outside but I do recall the ref having a Garda escort after the Munster under 21 final of three years ago between Clare and Tipp after Tipp were awarded a last minute free. I am typing this from memory so I may have some details wrong but the fracas did happen
    Cruimh likes this.
    "The Egyptians could run to Egypt, the Syrians into Syria. The only place we could run was into the sea, and before we did that we might as well fight.” -Golda Meir

Politics.ie Regular louis bernard's Avatar

Another instance

Probe as adults 'brawl' at under-12s GAA game
    Wednesday August 13 2008
    THE Wicklow GAA County Board is to investigate claims that an under-12s football match had to be suspended when a heated row broke out amongst adult spectators.
    Wicklow County Board administrator Michael Murphy yesterday said the board will be examining the match report by referee Eugene Doherty into Monday's under-12s football match between Carnew Emmets and the Rathnew GAA club in Wicklow.
    It was claimed that the game had to be suspended 10 minutes before the end of the match when a player was knocked down on the pitch and supporters of both teams reacted by storming onto the pitch and fighting amongst themselves.
    Gardai last night confirmed that they received a 999 call at about 8:30pm claiming that "a major incident" was taking place on the pitch. But when they got there, there was no incident or complaints.

Rugby crowd probably worried about messin up their hair - and that's just the lads!

Quote Originally Posted by Clanrickard View Post
    It is not dumb at all. I don't recall rugby supporters beating the head off each other but I can think of umpteen GAA matches where supporters got involved. The "Ladies" football match up in Tyrone, the Louth/Meath Leinster final 2 years ago, the Wicklow brawl 2 years ago etc
    eskrimador likes this.

Page 2 of 22 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast